We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ohana Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been to Maui several times, but this is our first stay at the KBH. We have 2 kids (13 and 6) and it is a very family friendly resort. The Passport program for the kids was great...it really got them involved in all the fun activities offered. The beach is beautiful and the staff is very warm and helpful. We loved having access to Whalers Village just down the path a bit for quick lunches or dinners. We had the Buffet Breakfast plan included in our price, so we ate there every morning. The food was very good - no variance in what they offered. After a few days I ordered off the menu, and we were able to use our buffet voucher for that. We had an ocean front room, which was wonderful - especially during whale season. We spent a lot of time out on the lanai. My daughter and I went on the Trilogy whale watching cruise right from the beach there...and the boat ride was fun, but honestly we saw just as many whales from the beach as we did on the boat! Loved the KBH and will return!

Room Tip: Ocean front - Kaui building is higher with an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,126 - 2,132 of 4,212 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii. We stayed at Kaanapali Beach Hotel the first week of March'13 and it was a very excellent experience. Are the rooms five star of course not, but they were clean, and really who goes to Maui to spend time in your room They have an awesome staff, beautiful grounds. We had partial ocean view room and we could see whale sprouts early morning. The whale watchers start right in front of hotel. Loved the beach right in front and walking along the walkway in the evenings. Went snorkeling for the first time and was just awesome.The whale watch watching tour starts right in front of hotel and we saw some whales right after leaving shore. The food court in Whalers village is right next door along with many shops. The hotel does not have WiFi in rooms but again really your in Maui to get away from everyday life and if you want WiFi you can find it down at whalers Village. We will definitely be returning to Kaanapali Beach Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakota75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is my favorite hotel on Maui because I can walk right out of my room to go snorkeling. Black Rock is beautiful and full of life – usually sea turtles – and it's a challenge to jump off. In February, you can hear the humpback whales underwater and watch them from shore. The breakfasts are scrumptious. The pool isn't as fancy as the pools at the Sheraton or Hyatt, but it doesn't matter because the beach access is much better at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Your second stay gets you an upgrade, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We LOVE the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. They have an awesome staff, beautiful grounds, and The Trilogy picks you up right on the beach for snorkelling or whale watching, which we do right from our balcony! Black rock has great snorkelling and turtles abound. The Tiki Bar is a great place to meet new friends and Tommy, Dale, and the girls will take good care of you. The Tiki Grill is reasonable and has great food. The Tiki Terrace opens at 5 and is delicious as well. They have a nightly show on the grounds. A lot of activities for the kids and Mom and Dad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been here a few times with my family. Mostly it is always consistent, but each time it loses a bit of shine. The staff is always warm and welcoming. The beach access is great.
Live performances by Hawaiian artists; dancing and music every night create a great ambience.
Caters well to children.
Food suitable for vegetarians.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii. We stayed at this place in first week of March'13 and it was a very good experience.

Pros:
The beach is right there by the garden which I think is a big plus apart from swimming pool. There were plenty people relaxing under the shadows of great old trees which is a good experience in middle of a hot afternoon. The rooms may feel bit old style but are clean and neat. I had partial ocean view room and we could see whale sprouts early morning. The whale watchers start right in front of hotel.
The food court in Whalers village is right next door with a few common options including vegetarian food. There is public transportation available however renting a car (convertible!) is essential if you want to cover the whole island. There are multiple beaches and parks along the road to Lahaina and to Ocean's center.

The staff is very friendly. When we mentioned the hotel outside, everyone on Maui cited that 'it is the best 'Hawaiian' hotel in town' which lives up to the remarks. I would recommend getting a package with breakfast included which works out great for early risers.
There is a musical performance every night which goes on till late night.

Cons:
The hotel does not have WiFi in rooms and Ethernet connection is charged extra. Parking is also not free however is cheap.

Room Tip: go for ocean front rooms if available even if partial. Higher floors have better air inflow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoYatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After giving this hotel a fabulous review in 2010, we were SO looking forward to our 3 day return visit March 11-13, 2013. We could NOT have been more disappointed. We booked a 'garden view' room, which we were led to believe would be a better room than the less expensive 'aloha view' room. When we entered our room after we checked in, we couldn't believe that there could be a worse room on the entire island of Maui! The view from our room was a chain link fence, and any natural light that might have entered the room was blocked by a tree and by the Sheraton hotel next door. It was a complete dungeon. When we went back to the front desk to see if there had been a mistake in our room assignment, we were told that there was no mistake - but for an extra $25 per night there was a room available on the first floor of another building opening onto the interior grounds and sunshine - what most people would call a "garden view"! We even spoke to the manager, and her attitude was basically "too bad, so sad - pay up if you want to be treated better".

So, rather than pay for a dungeon for three days, we took the other room. However, ALL of our meals, drinks, and other purchases during our stay were made at OTHER nearby stores and hotels. We were charged $10 per day for parking and $1.50 per day for a room safe - which we did NOT use. It was interesting to note that the entire demeanor of the property was different than our first stay there. During check-in, we overheard an employee at the activities desk - talking on the telephone - complaining about a customer. Very few of the hotel employees that we met greeted us - and other hotel customers - with the same enthusiastic "Aloha" that we received during our past visit. The location is wonderful, and the grounds are still beautiful, but that's about all we can say that is positive about the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. The hotel is old and tired. The ethics and truth-in-advertising are non-existent. Sadly, we will NEVER be staying there again.

Room Tip: Be very careful - you might not get what you expect or ask for unless you pay more at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
21.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $195 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing