We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time here- the hotel is very Hawaiian unlike other resorts. Their beach is gorgeous- waters are great for snorkeling and swimming- saw plenty of turtles and colorful fish. Get to the beach early in the morning if you can to beat the crowd of people jumping off the "black rock" . Their breakfast spread is decent- lotsa fruits but not too much of a variety for vegetarians otherwise. They also have evening shows with Hula dancers and music.

Just a word of caution-when you're booking a room ask to be put up in the remodeled part of the hotel. The first day we were put up in a room which was rather old and dingy. We requested to be moved over to the new/remodeled buildings and we were accommodated very quickly!
I am definitely coming back to Maui and will definitely come back to Kanapaali beach hotel!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the remodeled section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikr i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 4,334 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in Maui to be close to the beach and airport. Pool was nice but dirty, close to the beach. Free hula show was nice and entertaining. Discount coupons given at check in for dinner which was good as well.
Not impressed with the very uncomfortable bed as well as the peeling paint in the bathroom door and the stains on the walls. Kind of gross. We stayed at a less expensive hotel during our first 3 days here in Maui and it was a lot nicer for a lower price. Not sure I would stay here again but did like the area so maybe a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherylld89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the second time for us at this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is fantastic; on sandy beach with a coral beach area with turtles and many fish. The problems arise when you realize the WIFI does not work all the time; only when it is rebooted.
The buffet does not include standards items like omelettes. The rooms are very outdated and the cleaning staff does not do a very good job cleaning. My carpet is not vaccumed and sheets were damp and sometimes the pillow cases had red stains that looked like blood stains. February is not a good month to go to Maui because there is just too many people causing big traffic jams in the area around the hotels in the Kaanapali beach area. It would have been better to stay at a hotel in Kihei to avoid this problem. However, we did see many whales and swimming on the beach was outstanding as we saw many turtles and fish while snorkling. I was surprised to see many people swimming very close to the turtles. State laws states that people must stay at least 15 feet away from turtles. Turtles can be very dangerous; their beaks can take off fingers and their fins can break off limbs and crack bones.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel in Kihei like the Westin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nihonjin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

There are literally dozens of resorts/hotels at Ka'anapali. No doubt may of them excellent.
This surely is one of them. Starting with the room: Exceptionally spacious and stylishly decorated
(a safe in the room and newer TV would have been appreciated, but these are quibbles).
The buildings are form a "U" shape. (The top of the U (obviously) facing the water). We were on the 5th floor of the "Maul" building, at the bottom of the "U" and directly facing the large somewhat treed courtyard area (the trees obscure much of the view to the ocean), containing the pool, with the ocean beyond. The patio doors are offset, and meet at an angle and when wide open make you feel the whole room the lanai (balcony). But for my comment on choosing a room, all rooms have an ocean view.
The long sandy beach is great, as is the swimming. Seldom do you get good snorkelling right off the beach, but that is the case here, at some small cliffs about 200 yards along from the hotel. Beautiful fish, but the stars of the show when we were there were 2 giant (really giant!) turtles we swam along with.
We never ate at the hotel, so can't comment on the food (we always ate at nearby Lahaina, which has many great restaurants). The hotel has no fitness center. The "Magic" dinner show was excellent.
Incidentally, one real rip-off is the company ("Trilogy") which rents out snorkelling equipment at the hotel near the beach. They charge $8 for a mask for 2 hours! We rented mask, snorkel and fins from "Snorkel Bob's" - on the road into Lahaina - (there are several other companies) for under $2.00 a day for the whole outfit.
Lahaina is just a short drive away, and there is the upscale Whaler's Village with shops and restaurants just a short 5-minute walk along the beach

Room Tip: There is an older building at the top right end of the "U" near the beach. It is the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a nice quiet hotel with excellent access to everything around Lahaina. Accommodations comfortable, well-maintained pool area, clean beach, and clean rooms.
The only thing that does not make this a 5 is the restaurant. The food and service is average or below. If that was upgraded, we would stay on this property to eat.
Since Lahaina has so many food options, I would still stay here for the other great things about the property.

Room Tip: higher floors so you can enjoy beautiful view of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a great surprise. The hotel takes you back to old Hawaii. It is very relaxing and beautiful. The beach and sunsets are truly unbelievable. They provide everything a family or couple needs to have a relaxing vacation. The location is only minutes away from shopping but really who needs to be shopping when you have this place. Stay there relax and let the rest of the world just pass you by. You wont regret staying there. Lastly, if your traveling in the winter its a must because the whales come in so close.

Room Tip: Fantastic views of the ocean and the way Hawaii use to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in an Oceon Front room to celebrate our wedding anniversay and there was a bottle of wine awaiting us in our room on arrival. Really worth spending the extra if you love to sit on your balcony and watch the waves, see the sunrise and watch the whales in the sea. We were on the third floor which meant we could keep our balcony doors open at night and listen to the waves all night. Perfect location on the beach, gorgeous white sand and right next to the snorkelling area at Black Rock, very calm waters and the most amazing fish and turtles there every day. Once or twice we were even sitting on the beach, saw a dark shadow in the water, grabbed the goggles and went swimming with the turtles!! Absolutely amazing sunsets. Go to Boss Frogs in Lahaina for real deals on snorkel rentals (we got 2 sets for the week for $9). The beachfront rentals are about $20 for 2 hours! Also had an amazing 2 hour whaling trip for under $40 and a sunset cruise from Boss Frogs. You wil not see more amazing sunsets!
Perfect holiday, perfect location. If you are looking for new, luxury hotel do not stay here, it is by far the oldest looking and feeling hotel on the strip, but it is still clean, staff are friendly, the most Hawaiian and you cannot beat the location for the snorkelling. 5 minute walk on the boardwalk outside the hotel gets you Whalers Village to all the resaurants, gift shops that you could want. Hope to return again one day to this tiny piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.6 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $209 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing