We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellant stay from beginning to end. Stayed in a oceanfront room on the 5th floor of the Kauai wing. Quite a hike from the parking garage but not a problem. Every staff member we encountered were very friendly. Enjoyed the nightly entertainment and food from the Tiki Grill. We liked that they dont charge a resort fee and instead charge separately for parking and wifi. That way you only pay for those things that you use. It was nice being such a short walk to Whalers Village. Enjoyed the departure ceremony very much! Very enjoyable and relaxing stay. We will definitely return someday, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tojoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    1,333
    437
    193
    122
See reviews for
1,026
2,044
94
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was on Maui for just over a week and stayed here my last night. Previous nights were spent at a vacation rental condo in Kihei. There, I spent $100/night and had a fully equipped kitchen, access to coin operated washer/dryer, and all the accommodations you get with a condo. At the The Ka'anapali Beach Hotel I spent $230/night and it is definitely a hotel: no kitchen, but you do get a small fridge. It was very clean and comfortable and staff was very nice. At $230, this was the least expensive hotel I could find on the beach in Ka'anapali. You're right next to the Sheraton, Whaler's, Whaler's Village -- this is the best beach, as the further south you go, the smaller the beach goes. The beach right out front is perfect and you have very easy access to Black Rock for snorkeling in one of the best areas on the island. Bring a waterproof camera and get pictures of the turtles. I also particularly liked the hula show, free nightly and the Tiki Bar.

I really liked this place for convenience, price, and location location location. I would definitely check it out for next time, but I would also look into options at the Whaler as well -- Had I planned better, I might have gotten something in the line of $175-$200/night and these are vacation rental condos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as you can go and interior facing -- I didn't spend any time in mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a beautiful time at this hotel. Close to everything. Dale at the bar is the best! Makes you feel welcome and keeps the drinks flowing! If you are looking for new and modern this is not your place but the friendliness makes up for it. The grounds smell like flowers. This place is great to chill out and can walk to great snorkeling, dining and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel with our 3 yr old and 1 yr old this past August. It was perfect for our young family of four! When we first arrived they gave us a room that had a pool view, though we had booked a partial ocean. My husband asked if we could switch rooms and they happily and easily let us do so...we ended up in a room with an AMAZING view of the ocean/hotel grounds/pool on the fourth floor. We stayed at the hotel for six nights and certainly the highlight of our stay was the whale-shaped pool for our kids. The entire tail end of the pool is 2-ft deep and perfect for young kids. We also loved the nightly hula show (free!) and live Hawaiian music. The hotel grounds were well maintained and perfect for our kids to run around and chase the birds. Also, you can't beat the amazing location next to Black Rock and the Whaler Shopping Villiage. The hotel also gave each kid a sand bucket, shovel and sunglasses. All the small touches make this hotel fantastic! The rooms are not fancy but kept very clean. I do wish they had a microwave in the room but at least there is a small fridge. We will definitely come back here! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissaloscutoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is very HAWAIIAN---the food, the entertainment, the entire atmosphere. The staff is just wonderful. They catered to every need and treated us like family. The entertainment was excellent and free. The Tiki Terrace had a wonderful breakfast every morning, a fantastic brunch on Sunday, and dinner every night that was as good as we had on Front Street. The grounds and beaches were the best. The concierge services were great---they arranged for all of our tours and activities and made it very convenient for us. Eventhough the hotel may be a little dated, management is undating each wing. We were in the Maui section and were very pleased with our accomodations. Furniture and linens were very nice. We just loved the homey peaceful atmosphere. We will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated rooms with oceanview or oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4donnaprivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in a pool view room that overlooked the gardens and ocean . It was a short walk to shopping and the beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were comfortable . We ate off sight every day mostly because of sightseeing.We also rented a car to get around so we were not on the property that much .The car allowed us to to really see a lot of the island during the day's we didn't go to the beach on the resort.Must do Hana , unbelievable sights start in morning it's a good drive. We would stay here again had a great time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roadhog381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a great time at this charming hotel. Yes, it does need a facelift, but really, who cares? You're in a prime location and you're not going to spend a lot of time in your room! The beds are very comfortable and the staff is friendly. My wife wanted to stay here due to the location and the free activities they provide (hula and lei making lessons in addition to others. make sure you sign up beforehand).
The beach is amazing and "black rock" is right there for snorkeling (giant sea turtle swam by while we were there). You're a 5 min walk to Whaler's Village where there's 3 restaurants (LeiLani's...great fish tacos!) and many stores for shopping (high end as well as touristy t-shirt type stores. You really should have a car on Maui, so if you do, Lahaina (Front Street, famous Banyon Tree) is just a 2 mile drive away. (You're about a 50 min drive to Mama's Fish House fyi). You're going to pay an overnight car fee at any hotel it seems, so I don't know why some people complain...the $9.95 fee here is very reasonable.
For breakfast, the $20 per person buffet at the hotel seems expensive, so we drove 5 mins to Lahaina to Aloha Mixed Plate (excellent view, tasty breakfast, and reasonable prices...opens at 8am).
On Tue, Wed and Thurs, a local named Naki (Funaki) is at the hotel near the pool/bar area carving amazing Tikis. We ended up buying one from him and are so glad we did. He will even engrave the back for you.
Upon leaving, a couple of staff members sing an aloha song and give you a nice beaded lei as a thank you.
Had a great time...would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Molokai building seemed like a quiet building to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing