We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than we expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited this resort for 5 nights from a referral from a friend (they own a timeshare here) and boy were we in for a surprise. I totally was thinking it was a hotel room, we were just on Oahu for 5 nights before staying in a hotel, all I can say is WOW! I could actually live here full time it's that fabulous. There were three of us in a 1 bedroom in the north villa wing (the newer section of the resort) with kitchen and huge bathroom with separate shower, toilet and soaking tub. this was the perfect end to our vacation. originally we were to stay in a studio but got upgraded to the 1 bedroom. What a treat.We were there on a timeshare package to check out the place, our salesperson was great, but did show us both new and older buildings to see the difference. Only difference i can tell is that the wood on the north is dark woods and the other was a painted wood. the grounds were immaculate, the beach was awesome to snorkel at, the pools were plentiful all over the resort, BBQ grills if you wanted to cook at the villa instead of going out. My son and I learned to Snuba, our instructor Ryan was patient and took his time to make sure we were comfortable before going down into the water. We walked to the other resorts to check out their restaurants and found that we LOVED Dukes that we came back three times! but did eat at Pulehu our last night, OMG I was in heaven the food was great, expensive but worth the money to spend on our last night. We ate most days breakfast and lunch in our room, so going to dinner was a treat. What can I tell you about the staff, they were all attentive, kind and friendly. one thing I did like was that the hotel had sort of a craft show on Friday's to feature local artists and also during the week as well. We ended up purchasing a few items from a few vendors, our family is big supporters of local small businesses. Thank you for a fabulous stay, however we did not purchase a time share at this time so you never know in the future we may.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,864
    1,258
    407
    183
    114
See reviews for
945
1,944
90
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

No room service, no WiFi, nothing open late, no one at front desk

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsta050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for two weeks for our honeymoon at the start of July & we were very happy that we chose this hotel. The location is perfect, you literally walk out of the hotel & you are on the beach! The Whaler's Village is a short walk away where you can find restaurants & shops, although in our opinion the restaurants in Lahaina town were much better value for money. This is also where the bus stop is so it was ideal for getting out & about.

Onto the rooms - we stayed in the Molokai wing & had requested a garden view, we were on the ground level facing away from what I considered the garden, so I wasn't overly impressed with this as our view consisted of a bit of grass & a tree or two & a fence! But the room itself was fine so we let it be. It was very spacious, with the largest bed I have ever seen in my life! There was also a sofa which I assume turned into a bed as well but this wasn't required. The shower/toilet room was the only area that let the room down as it was small & the grouting could do with a good clean, but other than that the room was great. There was a large wardrobe & plenty of storage space, & a coffee machine that was restocked daily. Tea was also available.

Tiki Bar - Nice cocktails but not very good value for money, even in happy hour. If you went to Lahaina town you could do much better.

Tiki Grill - We ate here twice & thought this was quite good value for money, the burgers were huge & the pizza was pretty good. If you're on a budget & don't mind a low key meal rather than a fancy night out then this was ideal. The hotel puts on free music & dancing every evening so you could sit & watch this whilst eating.

The Restaurant - This was pricier than the grill for obvious reasons but the food was very good. We only ate here once in the evening as we preferred going into town but if you just wanted to stick to the resort then this wasn't bad value. We had paid for breakfast every day here & there was a good variety - a small selection of fresh fruit, meats & cheese, cereals, pastries, muffins, croissants, pancakes, bacon (which was delicious!), sausage, scrambled egg (which we found to be too creamy some days), & a fish dish & either rice or potatoes that was changed each day.

Sunday Brunch - On one of our days we upgraded our breakfast vouchers to the Sunday brunch, & we're so glad we did! We were given proper Champagne & our glasses were constantly being topped up by the staff. We had booked a table for 10.30am & didn't go until it finished at 1pm! There is a separate room which was rather large & three sides of it were just filled with food. On offer was fresh omelettes made with your choice of fillings (I'd highly recommend this one), meats, loads of seafood, sushi, stir frys, noodles, rice, BBQ meats, sausages, & the pudding tables...oh wow! So many different cakes but by this point I was stuffed so I just had a belgian waffle & a strawberry dipped in the chocolate fountain. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Maui I will definitely be coming back to this.

The Staff - We found everyone to be pleasant & when we asked questions regarding the buses etc we found the staff very helpful. The cleaning staff were great they came round with fresh towels every day.

All in all this is a great hotel, yeah it could do with some maintenance & I do hope the hotel makes a start on that soon rather than running it into the ground as it would be such a shame to see this place deteriorate, but if you want value for money rather than forking out a fortune for some of the "fancier" hotels nearby then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "garden view" room, & although I don't think it was much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pernicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights starting July 9th. This place is a great value that cannot be beat. This is a great location, staff is exceptional and helpful. $9 / day for self parking, $11 / day for valet, and there is a charge for internet. I used my Clear Internet service on the island and it worked great. 5 minutes from Lahaina and the best place on the island and best breakfast and lunch is at Plantation House Restaurant, not to be confused with Plantation Inn. This restaurant is only 5 minutes north of the hotel along with great beaches and snorkeling. You can't go wrong here. The Gazebo Restaurant on Napali is great for breakfast as well, only 5 minutes north.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Beautiful location , clean and tidy everywhere well maintained and a gorgeous beach... we came here for our wedding and honey moon and found it faultless... staff cannot do more for you and are so polite and make you feel like an individual remembering names and always smiling... sits in between some of the grander hotels but has the best gardens by far!! cannot praise thgis place enough ive loved every day!!

Room Tip: we had a partial ocean view room which was lovely but i think any of the rooms would be nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sambec16712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just enjoyed our seventh visit to the Kaanapali Beach Hotel, and are pleased to say we still find delightful little surprises every time we visit our KBH ohana.

The big surprise this trip was that we were booked on the first floor, even though we had booked a "partial ocean view room". I was skeptical when we were given Room# 153 in the Kauai wing, but once we checked out the room, we fell in love.

Yes - if you stand on the lanai, you can, in fact, see a sliver of ocean through the trees. However, the big attraction was the room itself... More spacious that the upper floor Maui wing rooms we've had in the past, with a sunken "living room" space to boot. The other benefit to the room was that it backed up to a "private" little parking lot that was right behind our room, separate from the parking garage. Our car was always just a few steps away!

One other feature that was new to us, and which is great for visitors taking redeye flights home... The hotel offers, on a space-available basis, to allow you to keep your room until 6 pm on check-out day for a 90-dollar fee. We took advantage of this deal, and it was great to be able to take a late shower and to relax in the room until it was time to leave for the airport... A great bargain for us!

You've read the other reviews about the hotel being dated and dumpy. I suppose that's true to a critical eye, but when you're in love, it's easy to overlook the flaws. And after 22 years, my wife and I are hopelessly in love with the Kaanapali Beach Hotel! The employees, the atmosphere, the plumeria blossoms on the lawn... The nightly hula shows... The shady trees and the smiling faces... all keep us coming back! Aloha!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for... If you book a "bargain" room, you'll see a lot of the thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed at The Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 5 times and found it to be a good place to stay. The garden/courtyard is just feet from one of the worlds best beaches. There is fantastic snorkling at Black Rock which is a bout 100 yards away from the hotel. We miss the mixed plate res. that was attached to the hotel. Whalers Village is a few minutes walk from the hotel along a paved beach path. You can't go wrong staying here if your not looking for oppulance, but just need a safe, clean and well located hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing