We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just returned from Kaanapali, Maui and had the pleasure of staying at The Hyatt Regency. Everything about this hotel is breathtaking, the grounds, pools, ambiance and staff/service was phenomenal. However, I will say the room we stayed in, ocean front, was a bit anticlimactic. Don't get me wrong, the view is spectacular, you can hear the ocean/waves but the room was small and they don't have queen size beds, only doubles. Kind of disappointing being that it was quite expensive. But all in all, it is a fantastic hotel and if I ever get the chance again, I would definitely stay there again. Maybe, I'll go for the ocean view instead, save a couple of bucks.

Room Tip: The ocean front has fantastic views but I would choose ocean view next time for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa during your recent vacation. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you had a wonderful stay and you liked very much the resort as well as the ocean view offered from your room. Despite the bed type concern, also it is nice to here that you had the best stay ever due to its amazing location, excellent service and all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally including the grounds, landscaping, and pool area. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,965
    1,738
    811
    367
    187
See reviews for
1,676
2,921
82
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Hyatt Maui as an add on to our Waikiki holiday with My Hawaii. We hadn't planned on visiting Maui but were offered a great deal for only a few hundred dollars more that we couldn't resist! I am so glad we went, it made our holiday!

We had an Ocean View Room that was truly breath taking! Waking up to the sound of the ocean was just magical! The hotel has everything you need, we didn't need to leave! 2 pools, activities and a evening Luau dinner and show that I highly recommend (we had a ticket offer as part of our package).

The staff were extremely friendly and would stop to say hi. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived! Hyatt Maui was island bliss, I'm so glad we added it to our trip!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary_and_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa during your Waikiki holiday. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you had a wonderful stay and you liked very much the resort as well as the ocean view offered from your room. Also, it is nice to hear that you had the best stay ever and you were provided with all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally during your stay. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We enjoyed our 6 nights at the resort. The service was wonderful everyone is very friendly and helpful. and will help set up tours. The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The location is beautiful, takes your breath away. The grounds are a beautifully kept, tropical oasis, with pools and water falls. The beaches are a few steps away, simply beautiful. You can see Lanai and Molokai from the property. You don't want to leave. However, if you do want to see more of the island it's easy access to the highway to travel around the island. Close to historical Lahaina town. We so enjoyed seeing the island. Yes there are the extra charges, resort and parking fees, however, all the hotels in Hawaii include these charges. Even the condos charge parking fees.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 18th floor overlooking the golf course and mountains. Though when we sat out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hyatt Regency is located on the upper NW side of Maui in Hawaiian Islands. We have stayed there a few times and highly recommend it. Service is superb, the gardens are spectacular and the restaurants are elegant and have imaginative cuisine---e.g. Japengo,

The one slight disappointment is that the beach area around the hotel is not really swimmable--you can wade and stand, but the surface is full of sharp rocks. About half a mile away , there are beaches that are more hospitable, but that means driving in the car.

No matter. The swimming pool is a delight--a full 9 feet deep at the deep end, plus with two rock-formation waterfalls, plus a kiddie pool. And for adults, a pool bar you can wade or swim to--the Grotto Bar.

We were blown away by the care they take of their guests and the property. Although it also caters to the business and wedding events because it is also a convention spot and a wedding destination, they take very good care of all of their guests. See the pictures of the gardens. with the swans.

The hotel also features unique artifacts--the theme is Asian/Buddhist. They have exquisite murals, statues and sculptures spread around the grounds and in the lobby area.

The Atrium style of construction means you have lots of light in the common areas.

The hotel offers all of the amenities you can dream of to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more of a panoramic view of the ocean. Lower floors may have tree view obstruction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shyam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa during your Waikiki holiday. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you had a wonderful stay and you liked very much the resort as well as the spectacular views offered from your room. Also, it is nice to hear that you had the best stay ever and you were provided with all the amenities that the hotel had to offer locally during your stay to make the stay memorable and enjoyable. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights for a conference. The property was well laid out and there were many beautiful spots. The swan terrace is awesome for breakfast, although the lines were ridiculously long one morning. Japengo also has wonderful views for dinner.

The pool area was great but a little too crowded, not nearly enough space when the hotel is near capacity. My recommendation on parking is to pay the little extra (about $4 more) for valet as its a lot less hassle. The new Hyatt residences are being built on the north side of the property so there's a lot of noise if you have rooms in the Napilli tower, not facing the ocean.

The only other issue was the front desk was consistently understaffed - really unacceptable for a high-end hotel like a Hyatt. The wait was 10-15 minutes each of the 3 times we waited to talk to one of the staff.

Since we had a late night flight we used the spa facilities to shower and change before leaving early evening. $20 per person was the least expensive option we could find to extend our stay.

There were lots of shopping options onsite including one of the best markets in any resort I have been to. Unfortunately you couldn't charge these purchases to your room.

Overall a great location and good hotel, with only a few minor inconveniences.

Room Tip: Lahaina and Atrium towers are quieter due to construction north of Napilli tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwgrncrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt in March of 2014 and loved it! We booked a room with a partial ocean view and the rooms need some updating but are clean.The staff there are very friendly and the customer service was wonderful. When my daughter and I arrived they were going to give us a room with one bed and a pull out sofa bed and I wasn't happy with that because we were staying for 10 nights and didn't want my daughter sleeping on a sofa bed. They didn't have anything else that night but moved all our luggage the next day to a better room and gave us some free drink coupons and waived half of our resort fee. That's what I call customer service. The pool area and grounds are beautiful! Loved sitting at the bar by the pool the bartenders are awesome and the food was really good! Loved the paved walk to Whalers Village where there is great shopping. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photogtravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Commenced our Hawaiin holiday at Hyatt Regency Maui. Service was really good. Location was excellent and only a short drive to the beautiful seaside town of Lahaina. Rented a Mustang convertible and had a great time. Rented the car from Alamo at the airport. No isssues. The hotel was fantastic - really beautiful location right on the water. The gardens and pool area were superb. Highly recommend this hotel. The buffet breakfast was not that flash - but that is the only criticism of our stay.

Room Tip: East side is away from new construction area and has views to Lahaina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. It is always nice to hear positive feedbacks from our guest and are grateful to know you had a wonderful stay and you liked very much the resort as well as the upscale amenities that the hotel had to offer locally during your stay to make the stay memorable and enjoyable and the top-notch service offered by the staff. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in Maui.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing