We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYTHING costs extra!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice resort. Beautiful lobby, beds comfy, hotel clean. They have penguins, parrots and fish in the lobby - and someone trying to sell timeshare every time you turn around. No beach to speak of. Room was small but comfortable. They make you wear ridiculous armbands at the pool and threaten extra charges if you don't return a towel. Many areas of the pool under construction. I have stayed at many places on Maui for a lot less that I liked a lot more. If you are looking for a luxury stay, go to the Four Seasons at Wailea. Beautiful and they don't nickel and dime you to death.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,658 - 3,664 of 6,611 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

The location of the Hyatt is outstanding. Its directly across from the beach and walking distance to shops and dinning. The pool is great and the swim up bar in the grotto is a nice haven.
However, I wouldn't recommend this hotel right now because of the ongoing construction. They are building a second tower to the west. Construction starts at 7 am and begins with jack hammering and the loud beeping from the backup horn of the heavy machinery that goes on all day. Don’t expect to sleep in or take a nap, as the noise is very intense.
To be fair, I was given the option to upgrade to a view suite for an extra fifty dollars a night, but I declined. I didn’t think I should have to pay an extra four hundred bucks just to get a liveable room and my travel budget was tight. The construction WASN'T MENTIONED until I checked-in, at which time the upgrade option was “encouraged”. Keep in mind there is a twenty dollar a day “resort fee” and parking is an additional twenty dollars a day on top of your stay price. It'll cost you three hundred dollars for an eight day stay without the upgrade, and with the option of escaping the construction it would add-on over seven hundred for an eight day vacation.
Just down the road from the Hyatt is the Sheraton and I would recommend staying there instead. They do not have a resort fee and you are far enough down the beach to escape the construction. Friends that stayed there loved it and they were not gouged with all the upgrade and add-on fees that the Hyatt seemed more than happy surprising you with.

Room Tip: We did not indulge in the breakfast or the spa as it was ridiculously over priced. Take my advice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here 8 nights in January 2014. Very happy with hotel, staff & location. Very good gym. Terrific pool. Only real gripe is prices at the on location restaurants, particularly Sonz. Way too pricey for what you get.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure were too begin. This resort amazed us in everyway. The employees we encountered were super friendly and showed that that truly cared about their jobs. David, Bernie Glenn and Bryan at the Umalu Bar were great. Stephen who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The Regency Club folks were especially kind and hospitable. The one gentlemen up there remembered us from two years ago and the ladies gave us hand knitted flip flop luggage identifier on our last day. The waitress and Hostess from Son'z Swan Court were super friendly at the Breakfast buffet. Truly all the employees we encountered were fantastic.

The grounds are gorgeous and the pool is amazing. You have to try paddle boarding at the resort. It is inexpensive and so much fun. Virgil is a great instructor. The food and drinks at all the Restaurants are delicious.

This will be our go to hotel when in Maui. They won a lifetime customer. Do not look anywhere else in Maui. Hyatt is the place to be.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Jerseyboyinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for the nice review. That is great to hear how our staff treated you so well during your stay. I would even be amazed if someone remembered me from two years ago and then got a nice luggage identifier when I left. We hope you have the change to come see us again.

John S-Guest Services Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days. I was not sure if I should write a review for this hotel because there is not much to say. We have stayed here numerous times and also had our company conference here. The grounds are still beautiful and the location is great. The rooms seem very used and not very clean. The mirror over the desk was not very clean. I wrote on the film the first day we were there and it was never cleaned. The shower curtain liner was not very presentable. The pool is nice but very crowded. We were in the tower by the construction side but faced the ocean and we were not bothered by the noise. Had to walk by the timeshare people everyday. They were all very nice and never bothered us. I hope this hotel can spruce up there rooms otherwise we will be looking for other accommodations on this beach.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Danndiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Attended a business conference at this locations with 200 associates and their families. Hotel have everything to keep families busy and conference rooms of all sizes to accommodate the business meetings. Its about a 45-60 minute ride from the airport depending on traffic... get a rental car instead of the cab ride, $100 one way!

Room Tip: room faced the old volcano and saw rainbow on it when it rained!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blanchardbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Depending on weather, the Hyatt has a great nightly astronomy session on its rooftop. You need reservations, Most nights the session is at 8 or 9 (with weekends have 10PM romantic strawberries and champagne session). They have a copuple of large telescopes with computer controls, binoculars, and a nice entertaining and informing spiel about stars including the Hawaiian names for them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $317 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing