We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Having read many of the previous reviews, I appreciate letting me know about the construction on the other side of the resort. I asked for a room far away from it and was given a lovely one with a beautiful view of the mountains and ocean. The only "noise" we heard was from the almost nightly Luau but this was a pleasant distraction and it ended by eight p.m. The hotel is much more beautiful than the pictures show. The grounds are stunning and the open and airy design reflective of the Maui experience. Service was attentive and excellent from check in, through car valet, through pool staff through restaurant workers. My only criticism is the cost of food. It is truly staggering. I would allow yourself several meals to "treat yourself" especially to the breakfast buffet and the incredible Luau. However, most of the time you would do better eating in Lahaina, especially at Aloha Mixed Plate which I will review next. The food, atmosphere and service are awesome and the cost low!

All in all, we loved the Hyatt Regency and will return! P.S. The so-called "pressured time share" were nothing of the sort. We sat through the presentation with a very low key gentleman, gathered our gift and were on our way. We also chose to sit through this. No one "forced" us.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the construction. There are three towers. Request the one furthest from the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Greetings Gary Z,

Thank you for going out of your way to share your experience at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. We are so thrilled that we were able to provide you with an amazing room and view for your vacation. I am so happy to hear as well about the great service you received from check in to check out. I will definitely send your feedback on the food and beverage prices to management for review. We hope you return soon on your next trip to Maui!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,578 - 3,584 of 6,523 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt at the end of dec '13 for 6 days.
We arrived by coach (bus)which was too large to get to the entrance of the hotel. Our bags were dumped in a puddle of water and my husband had to go looking for a porter with a trolley to help us get all our luggage to reception to check in.Not a great start!!
The kids got given Hyatt passports with activities to complete which was a nice touch. We then got shown to our room .Might as well have been in Honolulu !! This resort is so big with so many Separate buildings and as luck would have it, our room was as far away from the main area and pool as you could get. And it was the size of a shoebox! Where did they think we should unpack? No cupboard space whatsoever and 2 adults with a couple of kids ! And the toilet and bath/shower was so small if you were overweight there was NO WAY you could close the door! When we opened the door to the balcony (4th floor)we were greeted by a orange roof of some description below us and a brown mountain Infront - so much for an ocean view and lovely sunsets !!
My travel agent had told Amy the manager that my father was a platinum Hyatt member - we were told in an email that we would be looked after, we Never even heard from her and were told that we couldn't take advantage of the club because the card was not ours. Must be the only Hyatt with this rule as we have stayed in many Hyatts all over the world and have always been treated so nicely and been given access to the club. Total disgrace and we will never stay here again!
On the plus side, the pool areas are amazing - both for adults and kids , with the exception of the little stones that they have stupidly put all around the kids pool area - all you saw all day were people hobbling!
The restaurant Japengo was the nicest food we ate all week. Clean restaurant, beautiful fresh food , not the French fries and greasy food served around the pool.
Whalers Village is a 10 minute walk along the boardwalk, it has lovely shops and an ABC store for groceries and anything else you may need. There is a food court as well. There are also restaurants all along the boardwalk so you have a great deal of choice when eating out.
We did a few outside activities during the week we were there, Atlantis submarine which was enjoyable but 'staged'.
Whale watching which was great fun and zip lining - the kids loved it.
There is plenty to do at the hotel , fish and penguin feeding in the morning & a kids club which my youngest son enjoyed.
Overall, not the best week of our otherwise amazing 3 weeks in Hawaii .
The manager of the Hyatt need not reply - the damage is done!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkyfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The HR Maui is one of our favorite hotels in Hawaii. We've been to all the islands but love Maui the best. We spent 2 weeks at this property in early December and once again had a great experience. It was noisier than usual around the pool because of the construction but that noise was preferable to a property that has screaming kids all day long. (No noisy teenagers were here either) There was never a problem getting a beach chair, or towels or drinks around the pool. My wife drinks a lot of water so we got that from the carafes set up at the end of the pool bar. The bartender would give my wife ice and fresh lemon each time she filled her glass.

I don't understand the complaints about lack of beach. Good grief , there is beach all along the 1 mile stretch to Whaler's village. Walk a few steps and find what type of area you want. The sunsets were magnificent all along that beach area. Lots of wedding couples getting their pictures done with the setting sun in the background.

We knew about the new time share building so asked for a quiet room when checking in. Jeff must be the most efficient , professional , kind employee they have. His kindness to us set the tone for our vacation. We got a room with a partial ocean view that also had a view of the mountains. We could see the sugar train that was off in the distance. We could barely hear the Luau music so that wasn't a problem. He gave us a late checkout for departing day and free parking in the self park lot. Thank you Jeff! You know we'll be back next year!!

We were never spoken to by any time share people. We just didn't go into the part of the hotel where they were set up. There was a welcome message on our phone about a free something or other but we thought it was probably a time share thing so we didn't go get it. Not sure how this new time share thing will change the resort. Only time can tell that.

We loved the well equipped gym. We used it every morning at 5am and it started to get surprisingly busy about 6 am. At about 5:10 every morning they change the plain water and the infused water in the gym, even if the carafes are still full from not being used during the night.(open 24/7). Never saw a towel on the floor. They do a great job keeping it clean & well stocked with towels. Great place to watch the sunrise too as the machines face onto the ocean.

We had breakfast buffet included in our rate so we took full advantage of the offerings. Thank you Joy& Liz & all the lovely ladies who seated us & treated us with real aloha every morning. Thanks for the chocolates you gave us on our last morning there also. We appreciate you & you made us feel so welcome.

About the buffet; we are healthy eaters, most of the time, so we stuck to the fresh oatmeal, topped it with granola. Lots of platters of fresh fruit, beautiful cheese tray choices. There were plain eggs as well which tasted very fresh. There were a lot of carb choices, their coconut & macadamia bread is to die for. Yoghurt lovers had that available too. Just before we left, they closed the regular restaurant where breakfast buffet was served for renovation. The buffets were not as extensive after that as the omelette stations were eliminated.

The stores on the property are nice. Great beach wear in the Macy's(my wife says). Wife bought some dresses at Jam's World.

The stargazing program they have on the roof is so interesting. How many people get to have a 800X magnification picture of the moon on their IPhone? The guy who works for NASA who gives the 1 hour lesson is easy to understand and helpful.

The cleaning staff did a super job on our room. We asked that they try to clean the room in the morning. They were able to do that for us all but 1 morning. Great job housekeeping!!

The pool is gorgeous and was cleaned every morning around 6:30 am. Towels were already available at that time.

Ate at all the restaurants. Wife wasn't thrilled about the baby cats roaming around Umalu but we solved that by sitting at the bar tables that were higher up. Guests were feeding the cats. Reminded me of some of the ferrel cats that roam on Kauai.

Meal at Japengo was excellent and the service by the main waiter was fine but the other waiter was just not well trained. He kept reaching across the table in front of one of us to serve or take plates away when it was just as efficient to get them from the other side. No clean silverware between courses. Worse service of any night of our stay.

Food in Sonz was very good but not outstanding for the price. Service was excellent. View priceless!

We got the feeling that everyone was doing their best to make our vacation great. They had to deal with the construction and repairs and all the problems that brings with guests who didn't know about it ahead of time. Thank you Hyatt. We liked you even better than the Andaz Maui we stayed at after we left you.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room until construction is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mombo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hello Mombo45,

Thank you so much for going our of your way to write this detailed experience at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We are absolutely thrilled by all the great amenities this hotel offered you and how much you enjoyed your vacation with us. We will be sure to recognize Jeff for his amazing customer service as well as all the other team members that are the living the dream at the Hyatt Regency! Thank you again for the kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back or to the Andaz Maui!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in Maui before and during Christmas 2013. We divided our stay between two hotels – The Grand Wailea Resort (A Waldorf Astoria Hotel) and Hyatt. Our first 4 nights at the Grand Wailea Resort were great (nice resort, a lot of things to do.) The remaining 5 nights at the Hyatt were just OK. We regretted leaving the Grand Wailea. At Hyatt, we booked a room with two double beds for our family of 4 with a partial ocean view. We even confirmed the double bed room and tower location choice with one of the Hyatt Maui managers via email two months before our stay, but ended up with a king bed and a sofa bed, in a different tower overlooking the construction site. It did not matter what we paid for, nor what their own staff confirmed in writing. We were kept 45 minutes waiting at the check-in front desk due to this issue for no good reason. No apologies or follow up offered from the Hyatt personnel.
The hotel grounds are nice, but nothing extraordinary special. The rooms are dated, the pools are crowded, the kids pool is dirty, there is no beach in front of the hotel, the construction site is noisy, the personnel indifferent… We have stayed at much better 4 star resorts. Regardless of the construction site issue, this hotel did not impress us. We will return to Maui one day, but not to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1Putnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMauiGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha and thank you for the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the indifference you experienced in regards to your inconveniences and assure you that we care about every guest on property. While we don't guarantee a room type, when you hear from our staff that you are confirmed in one room type and receive another, it can be frustrating! I hope that your overall visit to Maui was an enjoyable holiday experience and wish you a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We travelled to Maui for 4 nights before going to Honolulu. It was the perfect way to relax into our holiday. We arrived in our Mustang convertible (a great way to discover Maui) and we were instantly in love with our surrounds. The Hyatt Regency is a beautiful resort with pristine gardens, wildlife (including penguins!!!), amazing pool areas, friendly staff and great bars and restaurants. We loved eating at the bar at Japengos. It was also really nice to walk to Whalers Village nearby or drive a short distance to Laihaina Harbour. The only negative was our room was situated across from the current construction of their new building, with the noise starting at 7.30am every morning.

Room Tip: Book a room with an ocean view, it makes the stay more serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V_Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Greetings V_Damo,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience in Maui at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. We are so happy to hear about the great time you had in Maui and thank you for all the compliments about our resort. We hope you will join us again on your next vacation to Maui! Have a wonderful weekend.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am a beach snob. We were here the week before Christmas 2013. The hotel is very dated and we can see why renovations were on-going. I wonder if Hyatt Corporate forgot this piece of paradise. There was nothing luxurious about this property. Nice and novel because of the live parrots and penguins on the property but did we feel like we stayed at a Hyatt property? Nope. It is worth 3-stars but only because of the staff who are all friendly and accommodating.

The sandy beach at this Hyatt's location was/is a big disappointment. There is hardly any beach. Although the excuse is that it was washed away from past hurricanes then explain the northern part of the beach near Whaler's Village. If you want a great sandy and swimmable beach, you're better off going further north towards Whaler's Village and staying on that end if you want sandy beaches.

There was construction going on - much needed but it was upgrading or maintenance. Hyatt is building its Timeshare - Hyatt Grand Vacations. Did I mention the Hotel was/is very-very dated?

Insofar as dining, nothing spectacular and definitely another disappointment and trust me, paying $26 each for a breakfast buffet was not appetizing and hard to justify the cost. If you can, go off site for your meals - there are a whole lot better for your money. When we travel, we tend to try and support individual local eateries but only found other franchises to support: e.g. Slappy Cakes (breakfast/brunch).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Auntlala_bigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Walk into paradise at the Hyatt in Maui and be greeted by angels. A perfect way to anchor yourself in Maui. From the check in desk to the pool crew you won't meet a nicer staff. Don't miss Marlene and London at the Halona Kai coffee bar! They were wonderful! Asked our daily adventures and offered suggestions.
The resort is the prettiest on the Beachwalk, pool is steps from a dip in the ocean and stunning with waterfalls, slide and grotto. Our room was big and overlooked the resort. Construction? No problem.
If you are considering Maui, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mumball L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Mumball L,

I'm so happy to hear that you had such a great time! Please do come back and see us again soon!

Thanks,

Danny
Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
4,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $316 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing