We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at this resort for three nights. The construction going on is terrible so if you can get an ocean front room in the main 'tower' than do it. Resort has some of the friendliest staff, a nice happy hour at the pool bar, and a nice beach/pool area. The beds are very low to the ground though and are not comfortable at all. Overall just 'average' hotel room and hotel but makesure when you book to get the free breakfast- its very expensive if you do not get it included.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,426)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,588 - 3,594 of 6,426 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. Check in was fast. Customer service throughout the resort was great. The food was pretty good as well. My only disappointment is in how dated the rooms are. I'm talking dingy floors, peeling wallpaper, popcorn ceiling, scuffed furniture dated. We were actually moved to another room due to construction noise (we have a 2 yr old) and it was no different.

Ithink that I will try another hotel next time.



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place is great! The wide open airy atmosphere of this place says HAWAII! I loved the birds in the lobby (parrots and penguins!), the wildlife around the breakfast restaurant (flamingos, swans) and the sea turtles on the beach. There was a Starbucks i the lobby for early morning coffee and the hotel positioned tables to sip your coffee with a spectacular view of the ocean and the pool and the island of Lanai. Our room was fantastic! A great view and very roomy. The concierge staff was VERY helpful and guided us to a wonderful luau. We will stay here again when in Maui for sure.
One concern: They're building and selling time shares so that staff is pretty persistent. NOt rude but persistent. Also many "perks" are connected to the time shares. Just sayin"

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Aloha curtbradford,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere our resort offers guests. The wildlife in Swan Court makes your breakfast experience unforgettable. Our employees will be recognized for the excellent service provided to you during your visit. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next Hawaiian getaway.

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A great way to spend an anniversary. Our room was very nice and ocean view. The pool was great, cocktail service in my pool chair. The restaurants were really good but pricey. We liked Japengo a lot. Breakfast was so so. Not much bar atmosphere but for an anniversary it was great. We loved the bar in the atrium.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CoCo0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Aloha CoCo0927,

Thank you for sharing details of your recent Anniversary trip to our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your guest room and the amenities provided. Japengo offers our guests such delicious meals & I am glad you were able to enjoy the delicacies on their menu. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many more Anniversary celebrations!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Maui Hyatt quite a few years ago and expected the same quality we have been accustomed to in a Hyatt hotel. That was not the case with this visit. The grounds were still beautiful and well-maintained. However, the rooms and interior of the hotel were pretty tired. We had to change rooms, once because of wet carpet and almost a second because we had no air conditioning in the second room. It was fixed, and we did not have to move again. Yes, there was construction going on outside the hotel and at the end of our hallway. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and this made up for the inferior rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent the week for an incentive trip. The grounds and scenery are beautiful, my Fiancee and I enjoyed looking at all the different birds (and penguins!) throughout the hotel. The pool area is great and I thought the staff did a great job keeping lounge chairs available to everyone throughout the day. Location wise, my only knock would be that the beach directly in front of the resort isn't great. Whaler's Village has great shopping and restaurants and was an easy walk, there's a free trolley as well from the resort that runs every 20 minutes or so. An easy walk past Whaler's Village gets you to the really good part of the beach. It's worth renting a car as the Taxi's are not cheap.

We had an oceanfront room with a king size bed for the week. The room was spacious with and looked to have updated within the past couple of years. My only complaint would be the bathroom was on the small side. The food and drink was the standard resort quality, prices of course are on the high side as you would expect. There are a ton of great restaurants on the island with better prices off the resort.

My only knock on the whole place is the fact that they are building a new tower next to the property as part of Hyatt's time share program. Our room was in the adjacent tower however we never had any noise issues. I would imagine that the rooms pointed directly over the construction site would not be pleasant however. In the future I would also be consciousness that at some point during a stay a time share was going to be peddled to me with the promise of free activities...

Room Tip: Anything facing the ocean!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Good Afternoon Jonathan P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a helpful set of feedback for us. Obviously we're delighted everything worked out, but it's disappointing to hear you weren't entirely thrilled with the beach. That said, it's great that our location was close enough to something more to your liking. I'm happy to hear that your room was accommodating and had a great view. Sorry you found the bathroom to be a bit less so. I'm also delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our restaurants a bit before wandering off-property. I'll bring up some of your constructive criticisms with management so we can improve for future guests.

All-in-all, your kind words are our greatest form of support and we'd be delighted to have you back at any time. Hopefully that's not too long from now!

Best regards,

Evan V - A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Maui Hyatt and enjoyed our stay.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would rate them highly, compared to other hotels we have stayed in.
The resort has beautiful grounds, immaculately maintained. It is right on the beach with spectacular views. There is a picturesque walkway right along the front to the main beach. It also takes you to Whaler's Village, where we loved Leilani's restaurant. Breakfast was included every day in the lovely setting at Swan Court. The breakfast selection was ample.
Our room on the fifth floor had a great outlook over the beach and was clean and comfortable. We were in the tower near the construction, but really heard very little as we were facing away from the work.
I do agree that although the resort is impressive, the rooms do now need a makeover to bring them into the current times, particularly for a 5star rating.
Would still recommend it to anyone though!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $314 - $743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing