We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to the Islands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st time to the Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Oct. 20th-27th. Great week. Weather was great. The hotel in my opinion was the best on the beach. There is a walk way all the way to Black Rock where you can go snorkel, (the beach is a public beach at black rock.) You can walk through the other hotels grounds and swimming areas. None of them were as nice as the Hyatt. The pool here is huge, plenty of room and lounge chairs. Get your towel early and get the best spot for the sun or shade. The grounds are very clean. The workers are up early cleaning and getting the hotel ready for the day. The rooms are a little dated, but still nice. They have a area with penguins, swans, flamingo. The hotel is under construction. They are building a new condo next door. our room was over by the construction but facing away from it. ( room 606 ) We did not hear a thing. Every once in a while you would hear a bang or a jack hammer for a bit, but we did not spend the day in the room, to much to do. Also the grotto Bar is closed for construction right now. No big deal, they have a temp bar by the grotto , it opens at 11 am. They have a happy hour over at Umalu by the pool, from 11 am to noon. If you have a car, rent snorkel gear and drive up to Honolua Bay. Its is about a 20 to 30 min drive north. You can see the bay from above as you get there. Drive down to the parking area with port a potty right after you go around a sharp corner. Cool walk through the jungle out to the bay. All kinds of roosters on the path to the beach. ( read the signs on the path and beach). Lahaina is 5 minutes by car. Stop at the Safeway for food and drinks for your room. While in town eat at Cool Cats for a great burger, the best in town. For our 15th Anniversary we went to dinner at Gerards in Lahaina. (French) Best meal we have had in a while. The Old Lahaina Luau in town was great. (Check reviews on Luau) When we go back to Maui we will be staying at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello Bryan,

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback on the not only the amenities of our hotel but great spots in the area as well. Thank you for choosing to spend your 15th Anniversary with us and we hope you will join us again for your next special occasion.

Maholo,

Julie B--Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,873
    1,690
    790
    355
    182
See reviews for
1,605
2,847
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

They should not sell the rooms facing the construction area (their own construction). Be careful and run. So many other options in town. Check the picture below. It is so frustrating to travel a long way to find this.

Room Tip: A good room is available in some other hotel but not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SAF2011-br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMauiGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your time to talk about our obstructed view room type. While these rooms are overlooking the adjacent land under construction and offered as a discount, they still offer the same great amenities as our other rooms. I apologize that you found this room satisfactoy. We'd love to hear any more feedback you have about the room and property stay with us if you have the time! Please email us at nick.francis@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our family of 9 visited here for 6 days in mid September. We arrived late after an airline debacle (choose raft over go! airlines!) but loved our greeting and check in! It wasn't until the morning though that we could appreciate the hotel and the grounds. Spectacular is how most of the family described it (except for the 2 yr old - she just said "hi birdies"). Our ocean view rooms were nicely appointed with everything we needed. Semi walk in closets were really nice.

There is an Expedia desk in the hotel which by the end of our time there knew most of our family by first name. They were extremely attentive and really went the extra mile. We ran into an issue while on our bus tour to Hana. After trying to work it out with the bus driver, I gave a call to the Hyatt Expedia desk who immediately took care of it. Highly recommend the Hyatt's Tour of the Star and Submarine tour (for the non snorkelers). I see others who had trouble with the desk but I did not have any and quite the opposite found it simple and easy. I did try shopping around (via my phone) but found their prices to be the about the same.

Did I mention the pool? Gi-nor-mous! Seriously a very large pool which even has a grotto with a bar. We found ourselves here since there's little to no beach area right in front of the Hyatt. There are may other places you can easily drive to (or cab/walk) which has some great beaches. While this was a bit disappointing at first, we did have rental cars and found it forced us to explore the island a bit more then we would have otherwise.

Breakfast lines form quick in the morning but they are pretty good at turning over tables. Peak times, we waited for about 15 mins but we were a table of 9 - so that's pretty good in my book. View is great too!

We did not eat at any of the restaurants on the hotel property so can not comment on that. There is a Macy's on site in case you need a new -anything-.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica K, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Aloha Sushil N and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed our guestrooms, resort grounds, and gi-nor-mous pool! I'm thrilled you and your family got to experience so many activities and happy our Expedia Concierge were able to facilitate! Hope to welcome you all back to the resort soon..."a hui hou!" ('til we meet again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Maui is one of the most unique and beautiful places that I have ever been.
It can be worth paying 2x as much as other tropical destinations.
The hotel pool was the best I have ever experienced: waterfalls, under a cave there is a pool bar, hugh deep end, amazing!! yes, there are a lot of children, but that didn't bother us.
The beach is average compared to some.
The price was over $400 per night at that does not include food/drink.
If you have extra money to spend, go to Maui, if you are looking for any great beach/pool/sunshine, I would opt for an all inclusive in mexico or punta cana for half the price.
The thing is....you will never see/experience another place like this!

Room Tip: pay more for an upgraded/view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This facility is under construction. They are currently chipping and painting on the south end and there is a facility very actively under construction on the north end. Consequently, the south end is very noisy with the chippers going all day. The north end is both noisy and dirty all day with lots of back-up alarms going from about 7AM to 6-ish PM. The only rooms that are not directly impacted are those on the "inside" of the arc of buildings - the "ocean front" rooms.

Granted, you are probably not actually in the room during the day, but what is the point of staying at an expensive facility under these conditions?

I completely understand the need for maintenance and construction, really, I do. I just do not need it to be part of my vacation. and neither do you.

Stay somewhere else for the next few years until the construction is complete.

It is also interesting to note that we were part of a Holiday Vacations tour and they seemed to be surprised that the facility was under construction. Bad planning on their part. At $8K for an 8-night vacation, I did not expect to hear back-up alarms that last three mornings of my vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the ocean are probably less impacted by the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLK1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMauiGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Aloha! I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment! I understand that this might not have been a room you expected to receive as part of a Holiday Vacation tour and thank you for taking the time to review us. I'd love to hear more about your overall experience of the staff, resort and other amenities we have to offer.... if you get a chance to give us some other feedback, please email us at nick.francis@hyatt.com. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 6 nights here in late September/ early October.

Starting with the grounds - amazing!! You won't be disappointed with anything.

Our room was in the Napili Tower on the third floor with what was called a "partial ocean view room". The view was very nice with what i would call a great view of the grounds and the ocean. The room was actually very roomy and we never felt crowded. I thought it was very clean and the maid service did a great job every day cleaning up. My only complaint on the room would be the super soft beds which hurt both mine and my wife's backs. We also had to request firmer pillows which were immediately brought up to the room.

The pool was one of the largest and nicest I've ever been in and the water slide was awesome! I must have ridden it at least a 100 times. Plus, if you have a little one, the kid area of the pool is perfect.

We had dinner in Swans one night and it was nice and we also had the breakfast buffet each morning and i thought the food was pretty good every day.

One last comment. The $14 a day self-parking fee seemed high after already paying a daily $25 "resort fee".

All said, would I go back... in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: There is construction next to the Napili Tower so if you're on the "island view" side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryFromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We really appreciate you taking a moment to provide us with such thoughtful feedback. It is such a delight to hear that you had an amazing stay at our resort. I am pleased you found the grounds to be beautifully appointed. It sounds like you really enjoyed the pool and waterslide. This is a major hit with our guests! Your recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our resort the next time you visit Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Let me start out by saying that I would have given the Hyatt a 5 star review except for the construction. However any great property is going to keep improving there property during the off season and we were informed at booking that the construction was going on. Our room faced/over looked the construction sight and we were not disturbed by noise or any other inconvienence. We still had a pretty good view of the ocean and beautiful grounds. We have stayed in every hotel along Kaanapali and when we tried the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 9 years ago we have been coming back here every year and the property just get's better and better. The staff are friendly and accomodating. The reastuarants and pool are wonderful. The beach is pretty rocky but all you have to do is go a little further down and it's fine. Thank you for a beautiful relaxing vacation

Room Tip: We have stayed in all (3) towers. The Atrium and Lahaina Towers have the best views and the Lahaina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing