We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$575
$435
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$416
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$722
$692
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$364
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,065)
Filter reviews
7,065 results
Traveler rating
3,413
2,015
960
444
233
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,413
2,015
960
444
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan courtatrium towerour honeymoonbreakfast buffetswim up barexotic birdsself parkingresort feewalk in closetpool areawhalers villagelahaina towerkaanapali beachpartial ocean viewmaui resortocean frontkids pool
Filter
Updating list...
4,465 - 4,470 of 7,065 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The POSITIVE:
Regency Club Staff was excellent, breakfast, snacks, evening snacks, and desserts...all excellent. Clean, comfortable rooms. Cleaning staff seems to work hard to keep fresh towels and clean room. Fantastic pool and the waterslide was awesome...had a great time with my wife and kids in the pool.

The NEGATIVE:
Reservation and Room: Booked this vacation almost a year ago as a Platinum member. Was given a room with Partial Ocean view. The ocean was only visible from the balcony and only if you stood on the left side and sort of leaned over. First thing I did after dropping my suitcase was go out on the balcony and to my dismay , I was staring at two workers on suspended scaffolds painting the side of the building. Bogus advertising! Figured they would be done in a day or so but after third day...NOT, so asked for an Oceanview and it was granted for an upcharge! As a Platinum member you automatically get a 2pm late checkout. Most hotels offer a hospitality suite where you can shower and change if you have a late flight returning to the mainland. Hyatt Maui does NOT offer this and even charged me an additional $75 for three hours. They didn't offer to see if they needed the room or anything, just a straight out $75 charge.
Parking: Previous reviews cited the incredibly small spaces and it is true. You can barely fit your car in those spaces...had to let family out first or else risk dinging doors. Interesting that Valet spaces were the normal size. Must be a concerted effort by management to maximize parking fee income or encourage folks to use more expensive Valet service.
Construction: Yes, everywhere and no mention on the hotel website. Building a tower next door, painting the exterior of the main hotel in various places and pool tile was being replaced. Some hammering, nice fresh grout clouding the water in some places, etc.
Food: Outrageously expensive.....example at pool, 2 smoothies, two small tacos, basket of fries, two "foo foo" drinks, nachos. Cost was almost $80! My first clue about prices, is they don't even list them on the menus posted on the outside of any restaurant. You have to actually ask for a menu inside the restaurant.
Staff: All staff were generally nice but could tell they have been instructed to maximize profit by offering NO upgrades.
Pool: Awesome minus the construction. Did have to insist they stop letting people reserve chairs at 0630. They have a sign that staff will remove items after chairs have been vacant for 60 minutes but no one enforces the rule. Human behavior is an interesting thing....I watched some idiot create his own island at 0630 in the morning by moving all the chairs away from him and the four lounges he laid towels on under one of the large straw umbrellas. After 3 hours of him not being there, I tossed his shoes onto other chairs. Towels are laid out on 60 percent of the chairs by 0700 and there is not a soul in the pool.
Restaurants: Again food was outrageous expensive but that is halfway expected, you are in Hawaii! The part that was upsetting is several times the entire restaurants would be closed for private functions. Seriously, money must talk no matter how inconvenient you make it for the other 799 guests who flew to Hawaii and wanted to enjoy all the amenities of your resort.
Overall Hotel Condition: Very dated....no I don't need a 400 square foot bathroom...but this resort is seriously dated. I wouldn't return for free (points) much less pay $400-$500 a night for a room. This resort is only deserving of 3 stars simply because it is in Maui and on the beach.
Recommendation: We were spoiled by the Hyatt in Kauai! Everything about it was awesome when we stayed there two years ago. Stay there if you want a good value for your hard earned points and/or cash!
All my business companions are Hilton Club members........now I kind of see why.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the partial ocean view (there is not one unless on the balcony and standing in one corner and leaning over......stay in the central tower with ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattHotelGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Aloha Frank,

I'm saddened to see so many negatives notes over the course of your stay. Although you highlight some of your main disappointments, we'd love to hear more about your stay are any suggestions you might have on how we can encourage other Platinum members, such as yourself to feel more welcome. Our Assistant Director of Rooms, Nick Francis can be reached at nick.francis@hyatt.com and is eager to hear from you.
Mahalo for the time to leave us a review. I'm hoping we can make your next stay with us incredible!
Warmest Alohas, Kressa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is definitely more of a family resort. The pool is boisterous and busy. The lobby and grounds are filled with animals that are great for young kids to be entertained with. From tropical birds to penguins and koi. The negatives are that there is no real beach to speak of, you can sit on the lawn but to sit on the beach you have to walk a ways down towards black rock if you want an area that kids can get in the ocean and enjoy. Also the pool is crowded with little shade and the pool side service is very limited if thats something you are looking for. On the other hand the rooms are clean and quiet with nice views. The gym is great with plenty of equipment. The hotel is located in an area that has a nice walking path so you can get out and try other dining options. Also a very nice and rare option is there is a convenience store inside the hotel that you can buy drinks. snacks, sunscreen etc for a more reasonable price. Also there are laundry facilities on the main floor so you can wash you beach and gym clothes before heading home. As always the Hawaiian hospitality is warm, welcoming, and extremely helpful. If you can stay at this resort for a reasonable price I would stay again.

Room Tip: You will spend very little time if your room. The non-ocean view rooms have a nice view of the hills behind the hotel so save your money and spend it on an adventure!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice hotel but certainly not worth a five star rating - a four would pull this up. Rooms clean and comfortable, quite a good size and cleaned and refreshed every day. Renovations going on around the pool area with the spa being upgraded which was very noisy. Breakfast was quite okay with a reasonable variety of food but sometimes there was a long line up to be seated. I also didn't like the fact that birds were flying in and out of this open plan restaurant. Something to be aware of is that this hotel group like to put in extra charges where they can. A 'resort fee' of $15 per room per day is charged for guests to use 'hotel facilities' which was one small bottle of water on arrival, a local newspaper every day, free wifi and use of the pool (which was lovely). We were also charged $14 a day to park our rented car in an outdoor car park. These fees are ridiculous and a complete rip off! The location of the hotel is about 45 minutes from the airport so a rental car is necessary as public transport is not very good. Lahaina is a very busy part of the island with a lot of traffic and not very good signage for some beaches and points of interest but the hotel staff were very helpful with providing information where needed.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview or partial oceanview room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased you found your room to be very clean and comfortable. We do have a resort fee at our property. This fee covers the use of several different amenities throughout the resort. I am pleased you found the hotel staff to be very helpful. Your feedback is very important as we use this to continue and improve the service offered to our valued guests. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui. I hope we can welcome you back to our resort the next time your travel brings you to Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon, and couldn't have picked a better spot! From when we first arrived we were greeted with a lei greeting and due to our Platinum level with Hyatt were upgraded to an Ocean Front room, with amazing views! Also the Regency club here is great, lots of fresh options for breakfast and appetizers later in the evening. The only downfall of this resort is the lack of great beach; walk down Kaanapali near the Sheraton for a great beach to spend the day and lots of great snorkeling at Black Rock.

Room Tip: Ocean Front room if possible in the main Building
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I am thrilled you chose to spend your honeymoon at our resort! It is great to hear from the moment you arrived you were greeted by our amazing staff with a lei. I am glad you found your ocean front room to be outstanding. It sounds like you really enjoyed the Regency Club and found the offerings to be great. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. I hope we can welcome you back to our resort in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I will take some time writing this review as I read so many before going to get ideas and tips for our trip and they really helped. We had stayed here over 20 years ago and it has updated and changed some since we were last here which is to be expected.

The hotel has beautiful landscaping and birds, fish, swans etc...everywhere. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are nice and updated. Yes, there is some construction but it doesn't bother other parts of the hotel and they are only there during the times guest SHOULD be out at pool or beach etc.....it was not a problem at all for us. The added rooms does make me wonder where those extra guest will be going for pool and breakfast as the pool is already full and there are lines for the AMAZING buffet at Swan Court already....Not sure how that will work. I had read and I agree that you need to be down to eat at Swan Court before 8 or you will wait in a line..we were always there early and didn't have to wait .They do move people in and out quickly but it is nice to take your time and enjoy your breakfast and watch the birds and swans....such a wonderful place to start the day.
Here are my trip tips:
1) RENT A CAR! They are very reasonable at the airport. Order online from home.
2) Thru the hotel:
A-Set up to do the "Sunset trip to Haleakala " with the Maui Downhill (there are a few tour companies so pick the Maui Downhill one....AMAZING....ask the front desk for "heavy blankets for the sunset tour" and they will loan you some...you WILL need them as at the top is 30 degrees and you will be up there a few hours. ...then take an amazing ride down on a bicycle...all downhill and really easy and nice ride. They only allow you to bike part of the way down. (pick up the blankets and return them to the front desk...they were really nice to loan them to us)
B-Sign up for the "Tour of the Stars" which is up on the roof of the hotel each night. You can do 8pm or 9pm. They have 2 massive telescopes up there and the astronomy guy will show you Saturn and the moon, Southern Cross, constellations, etc.....what a great thing this was! Fee is 20.00 or 25.00 per person. You will learn soooo much and it is worth the effort to go up.
C-You can sign up for the "Road to Hana"....we did this years ago....the road is very long and twist so if you get car sick DON'T go on this. This is really more hype and can be skipped, but fun...people that go say they did it once and glad but wouldn't go again...I agree....not really time or money well spent.
D-If you want to snorkel and haven't before and want some help and a day trip. Book with the Pacific Whale Foundation. It is a day trip from about 7am-2pm or so.For this you will have to drive and meet the boat down in Lahaina about 15 min away. They will give you a breakfast and also a nice grilled lunch. The boat goes out to the west side of Lanai to snorkel. They provide all the gear and will give a little crash course on how to snorkel and they watch everyone to make sure all are safe so it is a very good environment for anyone unsure or with kids wanting to learn....I would NOT take small children under 6 or so. The actual snorkel time is about 1 1/2 hours in the water.
3) Snorkel! Drive about 4-5 minutes up the street to Maui Dive Shop and rent really nice snorkel gear for 25.95 a week! They are directly across from Safeway. They will give you maps and info on the area. If you want to snorkel any time of day go to Honolua Bay which is about 20 minutes away. You will see eel, turtles and many fish etc. The "beach" is large rocks so rent chairs or take towels to sit on. Pack a lunch so you can stay and snorkel longer....you will want to stay!
4) Go to Safeway which is about 4-5 minutes away and get waters, snacks, sunblock etc...anything you need.
5) Know that the sun is much stronger than on the mainland and you will use far more sunblock than you think you will need...buy more!
6)When you check in they will give you a "towel card". You take the towel card to the towel booth and he will give you a towel...YOU CAN ASK FOR MORE THAN 1 TOWEL WITH YOUR CARD! You must turn in the towel cards when you check out or you will be charged.
7)There is food/drink service at the pool.....Two things to say...the pool service is HORRIBLE and VERY SLOW! The food is "okay". When they finally bring out what you ordered they won't take your dishes or empty glasses unless you ask...otherwise they leave it all laying around and then blowing off the little tables and all over the ground....so ASK them to take any trash you have!
8) YES, as all the other reviews say...the pool is CROWDED with chairs and not near enough shade areas or umbrellas....they are also working on the edges of the pool and they have done a great job keeping it "out of sight" but you can still hear the work going on. There is music everyday by the pool. We went over to the kids pool to use the slide and it needed to have all the leaves cleared out. The whole pool area needs some management help. They do have a very small beach where you can rent an umbrella with 2 lounge chairs for 40.00 per day....you pay right at beach side and the guy there is wonderful.
9)The guys out front are soooo nice and helpful with luggage and cars and such.
10)The front desk staff is wonderful and helpful too!
11)Walk (20min) or drive to Whalers Village to eat and shop. Eat at "Leilani's on the Beach" and the "Hula Grill".
12) Go to down town Lahaina on "Front Street" for lots of boutiques and shopping and to eat. Try "Lahaina Fish Co" or "Hard Rock" (for teens)
13) So there is some "orange" bottle you can buy there at the hotel somewhere and then they will refill free during your stay...? I read that and saw people with the bottles...don't know where they bought them or what they are filled with...probably worth checking into.
14) If you like sushi eat at the Japengo at the Hyatt....AMAZING fish and sushi and great service...worth the price!
15) Improvements for hotel: Give a "welcome packet" at check in with all the details that guest are finding out about thru here on trip advisor! Like the orange bottles that can be refilled or the fish feeding schedule for little ones to watch and enjoy and the tour of the starts which is wonderful. The hotel has many things to offer that are word of mouth and you might miss out on. CLEAN up the pool...the staff needs training on how to work the pool area....if they see empty containers....TAKE THEM.....if they are bringing a fresh drink to a guest...take away the old one....very simple really....trash sitting around is bad....I called twice from pool and didn't get it solved. I just wanted to get a trash bag and walk around and clean it up myself!
16) I would stay here again and again....LOVE IT!
I hope this helps you and you have a great vacation. I listed some restaurant names so you can look them up and read reviews before heading out on your trip....do your homework and it will make your vacation easier! Check Tripadvisor.com for reviews on all these things I have mentioned for more help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I am pleased that you had an excellent return to our resort. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of a variety of activities and amenities we have to offer at the resort. I am glad you enjoyed the Tour of the Stars. I will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the pool service with our management team. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We use our guests comments to continue and improve our overall guest satisfaction. Thank you for your recommendation. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews