We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, amazing staff and great cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location, amazing staff and great cocktails”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights here in May.
After a rocky start to the trip, our flight being cancelled out of Sydney, we were surprised to get straight into our room and 8am ( we were scheduled to arrive the day before).
The room was top floor with amazing ocean views. We paid for these, but they were still above my expectation.
The room was big, with a king size bed and balcony.
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was good. The service couldn't be faulted.
My only let down was the beach (or lack of). As an Australian, we have a particular view of what a beach should be, and unfortuneately, limited sand and rocks are not it! But on the upside, the pool is amazing and huge. Just get in early if you want a good spot. Possibly a bit more shade wouldn't go astray. It can get HOT!
Try Umalu for snacks and cocktails. The bar staff are great and do well to keep you there talking and drinking and generally having a great time.
There is some building work happening on one side of the resort, so if you book and you think it will be an issue for you, I suggest you let the resort know upfront. But I guarantee you won't be spending much time in the room anyway.
Whalers Village is a 15 minute walk or a few minutes on the trolley. The walk is great, but not in the heat of the day.
P.S There's penguins in the foyer, which have set a new benchmark for future accommodations we might book!

Room Tip: Let the resort know if you think the building works next door will be an issue, so they can put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you found your room to be so spacious and that the spectacular ocean view exceeded your expectations. Breakfast in the Swan Court is a wonderful way to start each day and I am glad that were able to take advantage of a rate that included this. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our large pool, as well as all the snacks and cocktails which are available in Umalu restaurant. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,013
    1,754
    820
    370
    189
See reviews for
1,707
2,953
83
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A very gorgeous property. We had a convention to attend and had special rates, which allowed us to upgrade to an oceanfront regency club room. The only way to go, For the extra cost we were in the best central building, unobstructed ocean view, breakfast in the lounge ( great selection, danish, cereal, eggs hot and cold etc.), Fruits and drinks throughout the day and evening snacks. served by the most friendly and delightful staff. Thank you.
Room cleaning is impeccable, pleanty of chairs by the pool, you can also rent cabanas for 60 $ or beach chairs and umbrellas for 45$.
Nice lunch and dinner menu at umalu, attentive pool service.
The kids club was a huge hit with our daughter as well as the pool and slides and the little grotto that allowed her to imagine to be a mermaid.
Whalers village is in walking distance with some nice dining options, as well, Roy's is just a brisk walk away.

We enjoyed our stay and would return to the Hyatt.

Room Tip: If it is on special, Regency Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Oceanfront Regency Club room and found the Club access to be so convenient. I am glad that you enjoyed our poolside Umalu restaurant, as well as the pool chair, cabana and umbrella options at the pool. We often hear enthusiastic feedback regarding our expansive pool and waterslides and it is wonderful to hear that your daughter enjoyed this, as well. I hope that we can welcome you back to Hyatt again soon.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolinas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very good location and beautiful grounds, lobby, pools, etc. Ashley, who checked my wife and me and our two granddaughters in was a super employee. She was very helpful and had a great attitude. Room was very clean, wonderful location. Would have been nice to have two sinks since there were 3 women and me! Biggest problem was the TINY parking places. Had to really squeeze in the rental car and would not have parked my own car here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boater_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha Boater_Rob!

Thank you for taking the time to share comments with regards to your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the layout of our hotel and the many amenities offered. Ashley will be recognized for the excellent service she provided. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back on your next Hawaiian getaway with your grandchildren!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights and had an awesome time here. when we checked in, we were upgraded to an ocean view room! we tried out the japanese restaurant for dinner and it was really good. the property is immaculate and well maintained. we had dinner at the sonz and something, forgot what its called, and that was good too. the bananas foster with portugese brioche french toast you have to try! although, our server that one time we had breakfast was kind of rude because i asked how much the breakfast buffet was at the hostess stand to decide if we were going to do that or order from the ala carte menu, she laughed and whispered something to the server next to her about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianeh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had such an excellent stay at our hotel. I’m happy that you were able to try several of our delightful restaurants, including Japengo and Sonz at Swan Court. The Bananas Foster is one of my favorite dishes, as well. I’m glad that you enjoyed your ocean view room and found the property to be so well-kept. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt again.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Guess it's to be expected when you are captive in a resort such as this but watch out for the 'resort fees' charged at check out for each day of your stay. They also charge to reserve and use beach lounges which is cheeky given you're paying beach hotel rates.

Great property and facilities as far as resorts go - just the small things that let you down.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'obstructed view' room - which wasn't a problem as you don't spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1970Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattHotelGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we continue to strive to improve the overall experience of our Resort and certainly do understand your concerns regarding extra fee's. While we use these fee's to help continue many of the Resort activities like fitness classes, water aerobics, wildlife tours, Lei Makling, etc, we understand that these things may already be expected.

We will take this feedback seriously and continue to evaluate all operations to enhance the overall experience.

Mahalo - Kressa, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were treated very well here. Steven at the front desk was very helpful and allowed us to check out early without a penalty. Even though we booked through an online company which stated they would charge us. He brought the mgr up and they insisted on not charging us. Over the top service as always and so very much appreciated. Thanks again. The Graybeals

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legmaker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Aloha Legmaker78!

Thank you for taking a moment to share comments about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. Steven will be recognized for the fantastic service you experienced. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Hawaii!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Hyatt in Maui is the best hotel I've ever stayed at. It had all of the amenities anyone could wish for and the service was top notch. David at Umalu took wonderful care of my family and friends and always had a smile on his face while doing so. Nate Hardesty and Chris Arndt went out of their way to make our vacation the best one ever and I am so grateful for them. They went above and beyond the call of duty in order to accomodate our large group of people. All of the staff was extrememly friendly and helpful and the food was excellent in all of the outlets. Thanks to everyone at Maui Hyatt for making this an incredible experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for such a thoughtful review. It is a pleasure to read that you and your party had an excellent stay at our resort. I will be sure David, Nate, and Chris are acknowledged for their top notch service. I am thrilled you found the food options to be terrific. Your recommendation is our great compliment. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Maui in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing