We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service and beyond beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and beyond beautiful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just left the Hyatt after our second stay and it just keeps getting better with each visit. The staff are so welcoming and go above board to make you feel at home. When asked if we were missing anything from home, I mentioned a make up mirror PRESTO in under an hour I had a deluxe make up mirror and two complimentary beverage coupons for the Grotto bar. The swan court has the best breakfast on the island and the resort is gorgeous. Mahalo Hyatt staff for making us feel special, we will return for a third visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrbk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our staff went above and beyond to welcome you. I’m glad we were able to provide you with the makeup mirror to make you feel at home. The breakfast in Swan Court certainly is exceptional. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,962
    1,735
    811
    367
    187
See reviews for
1,673
2,919
81
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Aside from our great room with an ocean view, there's a lot to enjoy at this Hyatt: the beautiful grounds; the magnificent orchid feature in the lobby, the interesting wildlife: cranes, penguins, flamingos & more. We especially enjoyed the art integrated throughout.

Their "Drums of the Pacific" luau provides a fabulous evening of Mai Tai's, Polynesian foods & authentic Polynesian dancing that culminates with the fantastic fire dance.

This hotel offers another interesting & unique program onsite: "Tour of the Stars" a rooftop astronomy program. [Seating is limited to 15 so reservations are advised. You don't have toay at the hotel to see this program]

The resident astronomer helps everyone interpret the sky & understand more about the Polynesians who used the stars to navigate the seas to Hawaii. Using the reflector telescope more than 9 stories up is a unique experience.

Staying at the Hyatt Regency Maui provides vacationers with lots to do when in Maui, without even leaving the resort!

Room Tip: We like the ocean view rooms best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha munchy1!

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed all of the different amenities & activities offered on-site. One of my favorites is the Astronomy tour. It really sets our resort apart from the rest. We're glad you had the opportunity to experience the Drums of the Pacific Luau. The Mai Tai's paired with the delicious food make it an unforgettable show. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guests again!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband & I spent 5 nights at the Hyatt Regency during our honeymoon and were so sad to leave. The service at this hotel is top-notch from the front desk, valet, bars, restaurants, etc. We truly felt that the staff went out of their way to make our experience the best it could be. The grounds are very well kept and include so many unexpected extras such as flamingos, penguins, talking parakeets, shops (including a Macy's and convenience store). You certainly don't need to leave the grounds at all during your stay if you don't want to. The restaurants we ate at had delicious food and great customer service. We had dinner at Japengo (sushi/seafood) and the food was amazing. Large portions too. The pool bar/restaurant Umalu also had delicious food and large portions. One evening, we went to the Drums of the Pacific Lu'au and highly recommend, even if you don't end up staying at this hotel! The music and dancing was incredible. Splurge on the VIP seats as it's worth the extra money to be up close to the stage and get on line for food first.
We also went on the roof one evening for the astronomy tour and are so happy we did. Eddie, the Dir of Astronomy at the hotel is so nice and extremely knowledgeable. We were very impressed with the massive telescopes the hotel has. He showed us a number of constellations, including some, like the Southern Cross, which are not visible on the mainland (at least this time of year). We also saw Saturn with the rings around it from one of the telescopes. So cool... The tour lasts 1 hour.
One downside to the resort which we didn't realize until we arrived is that you can't really swim in the ocean here. There is too much coral. So to swim in the ocean, you need to walk over to the next door resort (Marriott) for swimming. We did that a couple of days as we wanted to get in the ocean, not just the pool. Another tip is to walk 30 minutes down to the Westin's beach as the snorkeling there is amazing. There is a big rock and coral reef there. We saw hundreds of fish, including a huge sea turtle.
The room was nice. Maybe a little outdated decor, but totally fine. The layout of our room was a little odd, but we were in a corner room which may explain that.
Overall, definitely recommend this hotel. We truly had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha MTrav!

Thank you for going into such detail with regards to your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to have had the opportunity to welcome you & your husband for such a special honeymoon! Our employees will be recognized for the excellent level of service you experienced while you were our guest. The flamingos, penguins and other exotic birds gain a lot of attention from our guests. Drums of the Pacific is a great way to experience Hawaiian culture.

It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many anniversary celebrations!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon before going to stay in Wailea for the other 4 nights. I wish we would have stayed at the Hyatt the entire time! The staff were friendly and courteous, and the grounds were beautiful! There is not much of a beach to actually go to in front of the Hyatt, but there are beaches just a quick walk up the pathway.

We were very jet lagged when we got to the Hyatt after traveling from the east coast, and we were happily surprised to find that they had a beautiful open air breakfast place that opened at 6am. There is also a trail at the back of the resort that connects it to all of the other hotels, as well as Whaler's Village. This was very convenient!

The Valet parking at the Hyatt was wonderful, and it was always super easy to get our car quickly. We went into Lahaina a few times (even once after we had moved to Wailea), and it was such a cute area to walk around, shop, and eat.

Would definitely recommend this hotel (and area) to anyone visiting Maui!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Carolyn B!

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent Honeymoon at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the delicious breakfast served in our Swan Court. Our Valet attendants will be recognized for their courteous & prompt service provided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for Anniversary celebrations!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I just finished staying 5 nights at this Hyatt. The hotel has a major construction project underway and the only view we had was of cranes and porta potties and dirt. Sarah, their manager, seemed arrogant and unpleasant when we requested to be moved away from their construction. We paid about $1,500 for 5 miserable days due to the noise and nasty view from our balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank larkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattHotelGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha Larkeg!
Sounds like you booked our “obstructed view” room which is set at a discounted rate from our daily rate given the view it overlooks and includes 2 for 1 breakfast. I can assure you that we’ve taken deep thought into this room type name and have worked with our partners to ensure there is accurate description of the adjacent land under construction. Please accept our team’s apologies for your feelings of disappointment from this rooms offered. While we do offer other room types at our property that not affected by the project occurring next door, I understand these might not have been available at the time of your booking.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback – We’d love to hear more about how you enjoyed our other facilities such as the activities, spa and food and beverage outlets. Our Assistant Director of Rooms, Nick, is available at: nick.francis@hyatt.com if you have a moment to share your other experiences! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Maui about 4 years ago, and the rooms have been renovated since then. They look very modern and are a huge upgrade from the old ones. We had a "obstructed view king", so we looked out at the construction site and from the balcony we could see the ocean. The construction didn't start until about 7:30 or 8am each day, and wasn't loud at all; it never woke us up or bothered us. The valet was very friendly and quick with the car. There are lots of restaurant options, the pool is huge, there are penguins in the lobby... could you ask for anything more? Our only complaint is that there isn't a huge beach area for Hyatt guests. The bar on site, Umalu, is open until midnight - which is the latest any hotel bar is open in the Kaanapali area - the drinks are strong and the people are friendly. When you check-in, you get "towel cards" along with your room keys - you have to turn in the towel card to get your towel and you also get a fashionable wristband to wear all day while you're at the pool. It seems strange that you have to have a towel card and a wristband, but you can collect 7 different colors during your weeklong stay!

Overall, this is a great property and we will definitely be returning to the Hyatt Maui!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. It is great to hear that you found the resort to well maintained. We have a beautiful resort with a great selection of activities and entertainment for our guests to enjoy. I am glad you found the service at Umalu to be great. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for a few days as part of a holiday package. The staff were accommodating and helpful. We were 'upgraded' to a King Size bed and the suite was a nice size with a comfortable bath/dressing area. Probably the smallest aspect of the suite was the toilet/bath/shower room.
The breakfast by the lake was peaceful, although, if you weren't watchful the finches and small birds would eat the breakfast off your plate....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a delightful stay at our resort. It sounds like you found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. We have a great staff that prides themselves on offering authentic hospitality. I am glad you found your suite to be spacious and comfortable. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to our resort in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing