We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best luau on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best luau on Maui”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to finish the Hyatt Luau is an amazing experience. The entertainers are professional and fun for the whole family, and the food is extraordinary. All you can eat and all the entertainment you will want in a night. Not to mention the setting right on the beach at sunset. You can't beat it. I had my family in town and took them there several weeks ago. They're still talking about it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank surfwitben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha surfwitben!

Thank you for taking a moment to share about your Luau experience our hotel offers. It's quite an amazing experience for guests to enjoy. From the Hawaiian welcome, the great views during the Luau, to the fire knife finale, it can be unforgettable. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,918
    1,718
    799
    362
    184
See reviews for
1,646
2,879
79
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Views are a given on maui. And there are dozens of beachside resorts in kaanapali. I'd look elsewhere. This place needs a major facelift. Bed linens are like paper. Food bad in all restaurants ex japengo. and the place is noisy. Imagine paying for an ocean facing room and fining out the pool is open 24 hours! Too noisy to sleep with doors open to hear the sure.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Get ready as this will be long and detailed :) First of all...fly into the small airport on the West side of the island called Kapalua. This airport is tiny and really fast to get in and out of. No waiting or hassles! Have the Hyatt call you a cab ahead of time. The airport is 7 miles away and a $20.00 bill gets you to the resort. Second of all......find Momi (hope I spelled it correct) or Shane as Momi helped us check in and was OUTSTANDING with guiding us to the best location for a room. Shane helped us check out and could not do enough for us! He even made a call to the Hyatt on Kauai to obtain a great room for us.
The Hyatt Regency in Maui is very easy to get around. The resort is somewhat compact but huge! Our room was ocean front away from the construction going on next door with the Marriott ( We were in the center building). The rooms were very clean and modern, the beds were so so comfortable. The pool is gorgeous but showing some age around the edges. What I liked about the pool was the one end was 9 ft. deep with only a ladder to get in. If you don't care for children splashing you to death......this is the end of the pool to hang out. The other end had activities like a basket ball hoop in the pool with a swim up bar. They do have another area for kids to swim in...as well as a really great huge slide!!
The food is VERY expensive so follow these tips: don't eat at the little outdoor restaurant as you will find a simple hamburg to be $22.00. Don't even go into the "eatery" area by the outdoor bar or restaurant. Inside the hotel near the Macy's store is a "convenient" store with gifts, snacks and food! The food consisted of all types of wraps, sandwiches, croissants with chicken salad and so on. The price was $6.99 - $7.99 for the same thing out on the patio for $22.00. Also....follow the sidewalk between hotel and the ocean (turn right when you reach the ocean on the sidewalk) and walk about 3/4 of a mile to Whalers Village. There are various restaurants there for the same high prices. Walk further into Whalers Village in go to the lower level. You will find a Subway, Nikki's Italian Food and some other sub place. Nikki's was OUTSTANDING and very affordable! We actually at there two times because it was SO good! Meatball subs one time and Pizza by the slice another. Two people can eat there for under $20.00. Next in Whalers Village, find the ABC store! What a great place....everything from gifts to booze.
Make sure you visit the town of Lahaina. We walked to Whalers, caught the city bus number 25 for $2.00 and got of on the third stop by the Banyan Tree. You then can walk up front street and shop for anything. At the end of Front Street at the Hard Rock Cafe turn right and catch the bus top to head back to Whalers for another $2.00. You can either walk back to the hotel or catch the trolly bus back to your hotel if your feet are killing you.

A word about the beach: nice beach but not deep at all. I was surprised! We did spend most of our time at the beach though. Keep in mind...if you want two chairs and umbrella it will set you back $40.00 per day. The umbrella is worth it as the sun is strong. The guy renting chairs is named Benjamin and will go out of his way for you! Great guy!!!

I hope this helps all of you. I will leave reviews for the next Hyatt on Kauai.
Oh....make sure to visit the Penguins at this Hyatt!!! They have a breeding program.
Also the Swan Court Restaurant is great! We were on the breakfast plan and the service and buffet was outstanding.

Room Tip: Get a room in the center building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sherri9360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed and thoughtful review. I am glad you found the service from the moment you arrived until you departed to be spectacular. I will be sure to let everyone mentioned in your review know you found them to be kind and helpful. I am excited you were able to experience our oceanfront rooms. Our resort offers some of the most amazing views on the island. It sounds like you really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Swan Court. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa for your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived for a quick 4 night stay. We traveled from OGG using the shuttle company which was recommended online. Only cost $120 round trip for two people, it's a great deal if you do not want the hassle of a rental car.

We arrived with a reservation for a resort double room through a wedding booking with a rate of $220/night. I had signed up online for the EStandby Upgrade, and clicked pretty much every option. We were pleasantly surprised to see we were upgraded to a corner Regency Club King bed room, with Ocean Front view for only an additional $200/night. Sold!!!

There is a massive construction project going on next to the Napili tower, so try to avoid a room in that tower if you can. They are selling those rooms online as an "obstructed view" room at a discount.

Our room was ready early (1pm) so we went right upstairs. Our room, 2126, was very nice with a great King Bed, two balconies and an amazing view. The bathroom was incredibly small, but who spends much time in there in Hawaii anyway, so we did not mind. Our room was clean, and neat. Only funny thing was that if you opened the balcony sliders and there was wind, it created this crazy windtunnel to our room front door and it was fairly loud. Just a minor design flaw I guess. Our room also had a bar with two fridges we stocked up with waters and pop.

The pool grounds are awesome, food and drinks are good, but VERY pricey. Probably about 30% higher that the other surrounding hotels. We ended up eating mostly at other hotels and at Whaler's village, which was about a 10 minute walk up the beach path. Saved some pretty good $$$.

There were plenty of chairs around, and the pool itself had one side for adults and another side for the kiddies including water slides.

For reference, our lunch at the pool restaurant when we arrived was 2 Mai Tais, a pork sandwich, a burger and a shared basket of fries which was about $70 out the door with tip.

The pool does have a happy hour time for drinks, dropping the Mai Tai from $12 to $8 from 1100-1200, and in the late afternoon too.

The Regency Club was well worth the price. We ate breakfast there which was included every morning and had a great collection of pastries, meats, cheeses, island fruit, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, espresso, bagels, toast, etc. Along with one hot entree, which was french toast one day, an egg dish another. There is also a fridge with sodas and bottled water which we grabbed a bunch to stock up for the day. They have appetizers from 5pm-7pm with some drinks about half price anywhere else in the hotel. However, you cannot bring the alcohol outside the Club.

SIDE NOTE TO HOTEL: Any Regency Club at other hotels typically offers complimentary cocktails during that time frame in the evening. To nickel and dime the customers to pay for drinks, while it is discounted, seems like a petty thing and sours it a little. Why not just have the drinks be free but maybe only 2 per person per room? Just my two cents....

The beach is fairly small in front of the hotel, but a 5 minute walk in each direction and you'll find plenty of space.

Overall, it is a beautiful hotel in a good spot. Be prepared to spend money on everything. Everything there is slightly higher than the surrounding hotels, but the incredible staff and service is why you do. Showing up at this hotel to save money is a big mistake. Just bill everything to the room and deal with it later. You can walk to surrounding hotels to mix things up as well.

I would recommend this hotel to others. I would also go back, but there were some other hotels on the strip there which peaked our interest, so we may try one of those as well.

Overall, for 4 nights in a Regency Club King ocean front bedroom, a couple of lunches, drinks at the pool each day, snorkel rental, etc was $2100 out the door. We never ate dinner there, and breakfast was included in our room fee up in the Regency Club.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Regency Club ocean front room. Avoid the Napili tower due to construction. Eat dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justinssvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It was quite expensive but so was everywhere in Maui. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were modern and very spacious. The beach wasn't great for swimming but if you walk along a bit there is a good swimming spot and much less crowded than the pool! We had a relaxing time and loved that we could walk to the whalers village for some different food choices and some shopping! We also greatly appreciated being upgraded and having our resort fee forfeited for the inconvenience of the maintenance going on, which really wasn't much of an issue to us as who wants to spend much time in a hotel room when you are in such a beautiful island!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liddy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is great to hear that you had an outstanding stay at our resort. I am pleased you enjoyed the grounds and found the resort to be beautifully appointed. Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Maui in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been to Maui a few times, and I would have to say that the Hyatt Regency Resort was my favorite place to stay so far. Its perfect for families, couples, or a group of friends. While I was there I used their workout facility, took a yoga class, dined at a few of their restaurants, went paddle boarding, laid out by the pool and reserved a cabana for the day. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and island-like, and the grounds of the resort were just beautiful. I am excited to bring back a family one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlaudermilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha Jlaudermilk!

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent getaway to our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed our relaxing activities such as yoga and paddle boarding. Since our hotel offers many options for guest enjoyment, we provide a great hotel for both families and friends. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Hawaii. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just finished our 7 night stay at the Hyatt. We were a late arrival do to flight times. Our room was ready and very clean. However, we were not told of the major construction that was going on outside of our part of the hotel. Very noisy and not just during business hours! Besides the construction there was also 2 large conventions going on at the same time as a wedding. We found it very difficult to find open seating at the poolside despite the efforts of the pool staff. The convention guests would leave towels and personal belongings in the chairs while they had attend their meetings. No rest at night time because of construction that had last until around 9pm then the DJ from the wedding was blasting tunes until around Midnight.
Beware of the local vendors that sell there goods in the lobby near the retail stores!!! You can find the same "authentic hand crafted goods" on Front Street for a fraction of the price. I find it hard to imagine why the Hyatt would allow their guests to get ripped off like that. Unless, they are receiving commission from the sales? Last but not least, we did know about the daily resort fee but did not know about the additional daily parking fee. At check out we had to pay another $300 for these fees. Why not bundle all of this together and give your guest a one time price and be done with it? Would we recommend this hotel? Yes, but due your homework first and ask about all of the above and avoid conventions! Beautiful hotel and very nice staff. Housekeepers do a fantastic job!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid construction and conventions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing