We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Breathtaking, grand resort - tropical paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kotzebue, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, grand resort - tropical paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel has a mall in it! Well, almost. There are about 10 or so shops, including Macy's. The lobby and main building has high ceilings, a mix of indoor and outdoor rooms, and the vibe was very grand and overwhelming, especially at night. Kind of magical almost. The landscaping was gorgeous, the pool is fantastic, the staff are super, super friendly.

However. The room was pretty BLAH. There were multiple stains on the carpet and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Although it's a non-smoking hotel, I couldn't enjoy my ocean front view because of smokers from other balconies or the parking lot. There was also construction going on outside and there was noise starting at 7am.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort with us. I’m pleased that you found the property to be well appointed and the staff to be super friendly. It’s disappointing to read that your room did not meet expectations. I have forwarded your comments regarding the carpet and the bed to our housekeeping manager. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I hope to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,559
    1,496
    679
    306
    155
See reviews for
1,410
2,501
71
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located at the southern end of the Ka'anapali beachwalk. Beautifully manicured hotel gardens and attractive pool and surrounding pool area. Cetainly the best south of Black Rock. The beach in front of the hotel is narrow and the water although clear is very rocky in places so select your sunbathing/swimming area carefully. Facilities are all what you would expect from a Hyatt Hotel. Great location for exploring the west side of Maui and also the very convenient for visiting Lahaina to the south.

Room Tip: Construction work is currently taking place directly outside the Napali Tower so ensure you get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al6783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. I’m excited to hear that you found our lush and tropical landscaping to be beautifully appointed. We have a great resort with a spectacular location. I’m pleased you found the facilities to be top notch. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My daughter and I experienced 10 days in Paradise at this beautiful Resort. Located perfectly on the beachfront, we were spoilt with postcard-like views, beautiful gardens and resort pool - the best I've ever seen. We loved the exotic animals that shared the resort lobby and gardens: the penguins, parrots, fish and flamingos were our favourites. The staff were friendly, helpful and respectful; the food choices were excellent: highly recommend Japengo Restaurant. The atmosphere was always friendly and we felt very safe to wander through the resort, beach and beyond. Don't miss breakfast! delicious choices of food with an open water's edge lake, swans floating by, a Macau Parrot sitting on a perch and delightful staff all make this a memorable holiday. We will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It is terrific to read about you and your daughters experience at our resort. Your comments regarding that staff and their service are greatly appreciated. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant Japengo. They have delicious cuisine and an amazing staff. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Maui!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a mixed bag:

Good:
Staff was friendly, polite, helpful
Pool was nice- had a big slide and a kiddie section and a pool bar/grotto
Grounds were well manicured and there were exotic birds including penguins
Check in was a snap
Restaurants on site seemed good
Staff passes out free water at check in and when valeting


Bad:
Renovations- surprisingly quiet, but some rooms have a view of a dirt pit
Rooms showing age
Pool area can get crowded

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Islanderkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your feedback regarding your recent stay is greatly appreciated. It sounds like you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I’m glad you found the grounds to be well kept. Our resort is beautifully landscaped with lush gardens and exotic animals and birds. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a holiday, the setting was pure magic, beachfront, and such
as beautiful lake front restaurants,white swans swimming around you,also black swans,the
most beautiful gardens I have ever seen in any Hotel! The service was exceptional! as were
the meals, we then stayed at Hyatt Regency Waikiki, for eight days; which we enjoyed very
much also, but does not have the wonderful natural beauty and ambiance that exists at
the Hyatt Regency Maui;

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room; its worth the little Extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have a memorable experience at our resort. It sounds like you really enjoyed the lush and tropical landscaping. We take great pride in our property and want to leave a lasting impression for our guests. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our kids to Maui and stayed at the Hyatt Regency maui Resort and Spa.They loved it! we had a wonderful breakfast with the swans swimming close to us. The lobby with the parrots , Penguins and Fish was fantastic! The pool was the best part and our kids could not get enough of it. The only disappointing part was you could see the wear on the hotel, like the doors in the breakfast area needed stain and some of the other wood features looked in need of some work. But overall I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. The service was excellent!

Room Tip: We had a room that opened up to the pool area on the main floor and this was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgood456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your recommendation is our biggest compliment! I’m pleased that you and your family had an excellent time at our resort. It sounds like your kids really enjoyed the pool. We have lots of entertainment and activities for both adults and kids. I will share you feedback regarding the wear on the restaurant doors. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Omg it is just beautiful. The rooms are spacious & very clean. You don't want to leave the hotel. The staff is friendly & very helpful. The pool is amazing & the restaurant s are fantastic. We even did the luau there . He food & show were both great. Would highly recommend .don't forget to check out the penguins in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsydarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
"OMG" is right! We like to think we have an amazing hotel too. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing