We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website does not do it justice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My boyfriend and l stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Maui for 3 nights at the end of Jan and we thought it was amazing. As soon as we walked in we were stunned by how beautiful the hotel is. The staff were so friendly and helpful and smiled every time you passed them. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The exterior of the hotel that backs the beach is breathtaking - the website does not do justice to how stunning the pool/beach area is, let alone the rest of the resort. There is even a water slide (a big kids one AND a little kids one). We were so impressed from the beginning to the end of our stay and would definitely visit again if we have the chance. The only negative of our stay was that the hotel is quite isolated from the town and all shops so if you don't have a car (we didnt) it makes it hard and expensive going to and from the restaurants. However, it is a relaxing atmosphere so this isolation may be a positive to some!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Aloha Lucy C!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui! We're glad you had such a memorable stay with us. Our employees will be recognized for providing excellent customer service. It's great to hear how relaxing your stay was. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Hawaii. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,207 - 4,213 of 6,523 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at The Hyatt for our one week honeymoon (got married on Oahu).
Since we were honeymooners Jeff from the reception gave us a bunch of free stuff (never wrong..) and a roomupgrade for a few bucks extra :) He also invited us to a culinery class for all the honeymooners.
The room was pretty, big, clean and had a great view!
The hotell had penguins and flamingoes!! That was one of the reasons why we chose it..
It had 3 restaurants, a cafe, lots of shops, georgeous pools and landscaping, a luau place, a golf course and much more..
The breakfast was SUPERB! There was a line every day, but when we first got to sit down at Swan Cort (one of the restaurants) and eat excellent breakfast, it was worth it!
We also tried breakfast at Umalu, also great!! Remember to buy a "bottomless soda", so worth it!
I have to say that this place is more for tourists that wants a hotel vacation.. It's way too expencive if you're hardly there, like us.. But since it was our honeymoon, we wanted a really fancy hotel..
The Hyatt was about a 30 minute drive from the airport, and a short drive to Lahaina (the city). You HAVE TO rent a car if you're staying on Maui! You will need it to get around! That is if you're not staying at the resort for the entire trip ;)
A funny thing.. The hotel has a beachline.. No one uses the beach.. So if you're like us (rather swim in the ocean than the pools..) you will have the beach almost to yourself ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajorSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I am honored that you chose to spend your special occasion at our resort! I’m glad that Jeff was able to take care of you during check in. It sounds like you really enjoyed the breakfast at both Swan Court and Umalu. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I’m thrilled we were able to make for a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very spacious room with decent amenities. Staff were good, parking was an irritant and not well coordinated. Well run. I didn't find the restaurants to be flexible, but the room itself was very nice, comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I really felt like I was in paradise when I stepped foot into this hotel. You can hear the tropical birds chirping, they have swans swimming in their man made ponds, lots of tropical trees and plants and the view of the ocean.

Although we were upgraded to a suite, I thought our room was pretty small. The balcony was pretty small but we still had an ocean view. I can't complain.

The food at this Hyatt Regency Club was not that great. They seemed to serve the same things daily and the breads did not seem fresh. But having the Regency Club was very convenient because we would get water and milk for the family.

I was disappointed the beach wasn't as extensive. The first day I was intimidated by the waves so I didn't let my kids go in the water. By the second day we were frolicking in the water and we were fine. The water was not as warm as I had hoped but I think it was bearable for December.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our resort. I’m glad that you felt like you were in paradise from the moment you arrived. I will share your comments regarding the Regency Club offerings with our management team. I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is a pity this property employs such a shady tactic because I liked staying there. The hotel is a bit old but well run. But there is this game the play with price. Let's start with the base price I was quoted and book via Tripadvisor and then Hotwire: USD 205. When you get there they explain a "Resort Fee" will be added to your bill: USD 26 (incl. tax.) Next is they ask you if you have a car. Given this hotel is 40m from the airport and a good four miles from the next decent restaurant, odds are you will have a car. Bingo, "Self Parking Fee": add USD 14. Allright, you are happy to be in your room. You unpack and head to the beach. Luckily, a lot of sun. But, hey, barely any shaded area (unless you sit in the restaurant or bar area: food bill.) So you ask for an umbrella on the beach. Did I hear "resort fee". Yes, but this does not mean you'll get your beach chair and umbrella. This'll set you back: USD 80. At the end of the day we didn't pay USD 205 but USD 325 or almost 60% more. This is off course before any food (incl. breakfast which will beef up your bill by another 30-80 for two.) Bottom line, we liked staying there but didn't like to be taken advantage of. Left a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brotherdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I’m disappointed to hear that your stay was less than ideal. We do advise on our website of the daily resort fee and parking fee so our guests are aware of these charges. I hope that we can have another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Hyatt.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a fabulous resort with a great staff! Rooms are okay with really nice bedding and the rooms are always very clean. When picking the car up from the valet staff they never failed to ask if I needed directions....nice personal touch. Sunz at Swan Court is a great place to begin the day with breakfast. World class view! The only downside to our stay was the lack of service from the girls taking drink/food orders around the pool. They were very understaffed and one girl was just plain rude. Having said that, the pool complex is wonderful. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If possible, spend a little more to get a Full ocean view. The partial ocean view overlooks a parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

I really appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience with us. I’m glad that you had an excellent stay and that you found the staff to be great. I will be sure to share your comments regarding the service in the pool area with our management team. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was there this past January and stayed for 5 days. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The attention to detail throughtout the hotel as fabulous. The employees who work there couldn't be more helpful and i was very pleased. The pool area was magnificant and never had to wait to long for a cocktail waitress to come by and take my order (drank a lot of Mai Tais) . The room was ok nothing special however I opted for a oceanfront room and view of the ocean was spectacular. I highly recommend it. Even saw a couple of whates. All in all it was truely wonderful.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the view from the ocean front room it outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackfrost23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. It's amazing to hear you had a fantastic time and that our staff made you feel right at home. We're pleased you enjoyed our beautiful oceanfront views. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $316 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing