We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"just okay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"just okay"”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I rated this hotel, "just okay" for a variety of reasons. First off, the lobby area and the personnel working at the hotel are very nice. We reserved a partial ocean view room and it was anything but that. Basically, beyond, the palm trees, around the corner, through, the gardens, if you look real closely, you might catch a glimpse of an inch of water...that was our view. The Luau was over-priced, but it was very nice. The pool was nice, but pretty small. The other thing, we did not like is that the beach that belongs to this hotel is very small. We had a very hard time finding a place to sit. We packed our belongings everyday and drove to emptier beaches. The beach was very crowed in this area. There are a lot of hotels along this stretch and not enough beach. We travelled in July 2009. Maybe, the hotel has improved since.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,013
    1,754
    820
    370
    189
See reviews for
1,707
2,953
83
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great staff, food, amenities, location... the list goes on. We loved the hammocks looking over the beach and the couples massage while listening to the sound of the waves. The pool was large and exciting for people of all ages. The swim up bar, 150 foot water slide, waterfalls, basketball hoop and seperate area for kids made it a perfect place for the family to relax all day. The concierge, Jessica, was fantastic and on point. She set up our entire weekend and was able to make small changes on the fly. The front desk was friendly and accomidating.

There were some issues with room appliance when we first arrived, but after going to the beach for a couple hours, we came back to everything working perfectly. In my opinion it is not the fact that there may be some The housekeeping manager Arley was a genuine and caring person. Jeremy, in your food and beverage areas, was more than accomidating. My family and I had a great stay there and we can't wait to go back to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted you had an amazing stay at our hotel. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to Jessica, Jeremy, and Arley. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here November 4-5, 2012. We got to Maui a little earlier than expected and the staff was great about letting us checkin a few hours early. The room was a great size and the lanai over looked the pool and had a partial ocean view. We came with our boys ages 8 and 4 and they could not get enough of the pool, they loved it so much they didn't want to go to any beaches. As parents it was nice to sit under the shade with and let them have a great time. The big waterside was s blast, and the smaller one was fun for the little one.

The grounds are beautiful with rope bridges and tropical plants everywhere. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, they were always so nice and accommodating with all of our needs. We look forward to coming back here again. A perfect place to stay for a family or as couple.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We're thrilled you and your family had a wonderful time in Maui. Our pools and waterslide are always a big hit with kids and we're glad to hear yours enjoyed them as well. We're pleased our staff made you feel right at home during your visit. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent our 25th anniversary at the Hyatt resort. We had a oceanfront room in the main building on the forth floor, what a great view.... The rooms were very nice and clean, with comfortable beds with all the needed amenities. Breakfast at the resort restaurant was excellent, just be sure to go early to avoid the crowds. We tried all the lunch and dinner restaurants on the property and found all to be excellent. The pool was excellent with great pool side service. Be sure to rent a cabana for the day (great!!). Be sure to use the spa, it was well worth it. We are already planning our return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special anniversary. We're thrilled you had such an amazing time. It's great to hear you were able to try and enjoy all of our restaurants on property. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hyatt regency maui was amazing , the staff were so friendly and they did their utmost to help even with the smallest thing. The little lady in the shop was the best ever, the food served throughout the hotel was excellent.The penguins beside the lobby were a big hit and the parrots who were constantly talking. It was so relaxing and it made you completely forget about the rush of normal life.To put it simply breathtaking...........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed our luxurious grounds. It's always great to hear that our staff made you feel welcome during your visit. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our fourth stay here dating back to our honeymoon in 1981 which is perhaps why it holds a special place in our hearts. We stayed 3 nights as part of an 8 night Maui stay late Nov-early Dec. with the balance at the Four Seasons Wailea which is reviewed seperatly.
To be sure the Hyatt has some imperfections and a first time guest may wonder about the smallish guest rooms, tiny bath rooms, and lack of free umbrellsas on the beach, however the overall vibe is peaceful, beautiful and filled with aloha spirit. The staff is very accomodating and the views are beautiful and the rooms while small can offer great views and have good design and function.
The shops, walkways, foliage, animal and plant life are some highlights. Also, the beach on the south end has umbrellas/chairs for rent at a decent price and the beach is at its widest point for the Hyatt's area but the water is rocky so use reef shoes.
The breakfast buffet could use a bit of a refresher and the pool water could be a little warmer (apparently the water temp. is tied to A/C useage).
But the spirit of the staff, the location and the overall sense of place more than makes up for the smaller negative items mentioned above.
Kudos to Dan Iza for great service at the pool/cabana deck and Alena at the front desk.
Will return.

Room Tip: A view room is worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwyscllct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012. I was part of the large group of 900 that won a trip all expenses paid from our company. You can imagine with 900 people all arriving the same day that these people were kept running all day and well into the evening, and they were smiling the whole time! Upon arrival we were checked in and to our room within minutes of arriving. Our luggage arrived within minutes of us getting to our room. Thank you for that! We were dressed for a typical Canadian wet spring and wanted to get changed into something much more comfortable upon our arrival. I found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. Our mornings always started with a coffee and muffin from the coffee shop in the lobby (very expensive) and most of our meals were eaten while out shopping the areas except the one evening we did enjoy the most relaxing meal I have ever experienced at the Swan Restaurant. My daughter and I had a waterfront table and the swans were hamming it up for us for most of our meal. The food was excellent. We enjoyed everything from shopping in the stores, watching the penguins, chatting with the parrots and relaxing at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're delighted you and your daughter had a fabulous time with us. It's great to hear our staff made you feel right at home. We're pleased you enjoyed the delicious food offered at our Swan restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing