We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort for a couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort for a couple”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent our 25th anniversary at the Hyatt resort. We had a oceanfront room in the main building on the forth floor, what a great view.... The rooms were very nice and clean, with comfortable beds with all the needed amenities. Breakfast at the resort restaurant was excellent, just be sure to go early to avoid the crowds. We tried all the lunch and dinner restaurants on the property and found all to be excellent. The pool was excellent with great pool side service. Be sure to rent a cabana for the day (great!!). Be sure to use the spa, it was well worth it. We are already planning our return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special anniversary. We're thrilled you had such an amazing time. It's great to hear you were able to try and enjoy all of our restaurants on property. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,962
    1,735
    811
    367
    187
See reviews for
1,673
2,919
81
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hyatt regency maui was amazing , the staff were so friendly and they did their utmost to help even with the smallest thing. The little lady in the shop was the best ever, the food served throughout the hotel was excellent.The penguins beside the lobby were a big hit and the parrots who were constantly talking. It was so relaxing and it made you completely forget about the rush of normal life.To put it simply breathtaking...........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed our luxurious grounds. It's always great to hear that our staff made you feel welcome during your visit. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our fourth stay here dating back to our honeymoon in 1981 which is perhaps why it holds a special place in our hearts. We stayed 3 nights as part of an 8 night Maui stay late Nov-early Dec. with the balance at the Four Seasons Wailea which is reviewed seperatly.
To be sure the Hyatt has some imperfections and a first time guest may wonder about the smallish guest rooms, tiny bath rooms, and lack of free umbrellsas on the beach, however the overall vibe is peaceful, beautiful and filled with aloha spirit. The staff is very accomodating and the views are beautiful and the rooms while small can offer great views and have good design and function.
The shops, walkways, foliage, animal and plant life are some highlights. Also, the beach on the south end has umbrellas/chairs for rent at a decent price and the beach is at its widest point for the Hyatt's area but the water is rocky so use reef shoes.
The breakfast buffet could use a bit of a refresher and the pool water could be a little warmer (apparently the water temp. is tied to A/C useage).
But the spirit of the staff, the location and the overall sense of place more than makes up for the smaller negative items mentioned above.
Kudos to Dan Iza for great service at the pool/cabana deck and Alena at the front desk.
Will return.

Room Tip: A view room is worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwyscllct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012. I was part of the large group of 900 that won a trip all expenses paid from our company. You can imagine with 900 people all arriving the same day that these people were kept running all day and well into the evening, and they were smiling the whole time! Upon arrival we were checked in and to our room within minutes of arriving. Our luggage arrived within minutes of us getting to our room. Thank you for that! We were dressed for a typical Canadian wet spring and wanted to get changed into something much more comfortable upon our arrival. I found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. Our mornings always started with a coffee and muffin from the coffee shop in the lobby (very expensive) and most of our meals were eaten while out shopping the areas except the one evening we did enjoy the most relaxing meal I have ever experienced at the Swan Restaurant. My daughter and I had a waterfront table and the swans were hamming it up for us for most of our meal. The food was excellent. We enjoyed everything from shopping in the stores, watching the penguins, chatting with the parrots and relaxing at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're delighted you and your daughter had a fabulous time with us. It's great to hear our staff made you feel right at home. We're pleased you enjoyed the delicious food offered at our Swan restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I loved the resort! resort is huge and has been designed with great attention to the details. One can spend 1-2 hours just roaming around the property. Front desk and valet guys were really helpful and gave a sense of caring attitude. Our room got upgraded to partial ocean view which was great.
few issues:
1) There was no vending machine at our floor, which I find very helpful to save some dollars on water ( especially during the night).
2)Our flight was at night and we checked out around 11. the staff did not suggest any services for keeping our bags or a hospitality room? When we asked we were told to leave our bags at bell desk and told that we can use swimming pool guest/rest room as hospitality room. He did not gave us a key and that guest /rest room closes by 6.00 PM !. The bell desk staff was not very helpful and she literally took us to the places where our begs were and we had to carry out ourselves.

If you are looking to spend some time at hotel/resort , I think this is a good place. My stay was very good other than the fact that they did not have hospitality room and they did not extend any help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Hyatt till the time we left, our stay was fantastic. The greeting from the front desk staff and service throughout our stay was outstanding. Our room was quiet, comfortable with a partial ocean view. Two pools - one specifically for children and the waterfalls were woderful and the grounds beautiful. Added bonus, especially for the children, are the penguins and kio fish in the lobby area. The staff in the Regency Club couldn't do enough for you and extremely personable. Being able to have a lite breakfast, non-acholic beverages throughout the day, appetizers and cocktails in the evening were an added bonus.
My only complaint is our stay wasn't long enough...can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac33028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you had a fantastic stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed our relaxing pools. We're pleased our Regency Club staff made you feel right at home. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and were thoroughly impressed. We got into the hotel quite late (past midnight) and though everything was closed, the front desk had fruit and sandwiches for us which was perfect.

All the staff that we encountered were really friendly and helpful.

The common areas are beautiful and the 24 hour pool is a great amenity to have access to. Especially since there isn't much to do in Maui after dinner.

Do have to admit that the rooms perhaps need some updating but overall, our stay here was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schatzibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to read when our guests have a great stay at our resort. I’m glad that you and your husband found the staff be very friendly and the property to be beautifully appointed. Thank you for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing