We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved Maui”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt in Maui from Nov 6-11 after staying at the Hyatt in Waikiki and Kauai. Arrived late in the afternoon and check in was fine. Had a beautiful room overlooking pool and beach. After staying at two Hyatt with refrig that were not "mini bars" was happy to see a stocked mini bar. (It was a long day!!) The hotel is beautiful with incredible wildlife right in the lobby (much like the Grand Hyatt in Kauai, my favorite were the penquins!!) Beautiful grounds. Was a little disappointed with the entrance.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel , as we were touring most of our time to other areas at dinner time. The buffet was great (included in our room rate) if you can get it. I was dissapointed that two of our days here we could not eat because of a very long line to get seated and would have missed our tours had we stayed. We ended up having to pay for breakfast elsewhere even though we "paid" for breakfast with our room. I don't know how they handle the crowds during peak seasons.

The Umali rest. by the pool was very good also for lunch.
Our room was very nice. Loved it here and will def go back...but here are things I would like to see improved.

The parking fee is ridiculous and there is not enough parking for everyone who has a rental car.Spent many nights driving around to find a spot. Not something I want to do on vacation.

The "resort" fee is a joke, the cost of the room, food and drinks are enough already!

I was a little disappointed that the slide was being repaired. (I'm 50 and travelled without kids, but hey..wanted to try it...although I understand repairs)

The pool area is beautiful but very crowded with chairs. Although I never had problem actually getting a chair, I was literally on top of the guy next to me.

The beach is beautiful , but if you're a beach nut like me, it's not really a beach to swim in or lay out on. It's very short and rocky. THERE ARE NO CHAIRS AVAILABLE ON BEACH , EXCEPT FOR A SMALL AREA AND YOU HAVE TO RENT THEM FOR ADDITIONAL CHARGE.Didn't think that was appropriate.

The drinks are expensive, but STRONG!

The gym when you find it, is GREAT and the Spa was TERRIFIC, had a massage for my 50th birthday, one of the best I've ever had!

Glenn at the pool bar was the best bartendar.

Wish they had less shops and some kind of "disco" or some late night entertainment. This was really lacking! I'm a little old but not dead!

Overall, would def go back to Maui and probably the Hyatt it was beautiful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,053
    1,779
    837
    379
    190
See reviews for
1,747
2,986
86
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have just returned from Hyatt Regency and had a really lovely time .
It has a beautiful setting overlooking the Pacific and amongst a few other big hotels
Our room was in the Lahaina Tower and was a nice size however the bathroom was a big let down being extremely pokey and in need of a serious refurb
We didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants so can't comment on quality etc but the beachside restaurants within Whalers Village (15 mins walk along beach path) were fantastic and very reasonably priced
We would recommend Hyatt but money does need spending as stated
If you get a taxi transfer from airport expect to pay about $100 each way

Room Tip: A high room with ocean view which is what we asked for but we got a low floor however the view was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snobsnotslobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

In August, my husband and I were blessed to spend 2wks n Maui and Kauai on our honeymoon. It was amazing and even more beautiful than we ever expected. Before I begin my "official" review, I would like to give a shout out to Kay Ryan or Maui Kay. She was our travel planner made (hotel arrangements, scheduled activities, as well as dining) and was ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL! I highly recommend speaking with her for any upcoming trips to the islands. She goes above and beyond and I promise, promise u will not b disappointed! Thank-u Kay!!!
Okay, our trip began n Maui at The Hyatt Regency Resort and Spa. We arrived in late evening and the check-in process went smooth w/out any disruptions. We received a bottle of champagne along w/ a small picture album for the bride and groom; ) Our room met all expectations! We were welcomed w/ a nice basket filled w/ goodies from Kay welcoming us to Maui. The cleaning staff did great our entire stay. We never exp problems w/ noise level; however, the ice machine was down during our stay which was very minor. The bed was heavenly! We had dinner @ Japengo which I recommend for excellent sushi. The next morning we had bfast @ The Swan Cafe. It was crowded but worth the wait. The buffet offered a wide variety along w/ light and fit options. The
open view was beautiful and wait staff exceptional! We spent most of the morning viewing the premises. The lobby was fun-filled w/ parrots, penguins and vivid, colorful landscaping. The pool was large and crowded. I rec if u prefer an area get up early or u may b disappointed. My husband rented a private bungalow or hale for the day w/ oceanview : ) It's an addtl expense but a highlight of our trip! The property was what I would expect from any 4 star resort beautiful, lush landscaping native to Hawaii and located on the end of Kaanapali beach. If u prefer swimming at the beach this prob isn't the place; however, a short walk to the most amazing area of Kaanapali beach if u don't mind the walk. The sunset...breathtaking!!! In conclusion, the Hyatt met all our expectation and more. My husband and I fell n love w/ Maui and the Hyatt and hope to visit again
soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful vacation and that our staff made you feel right at home. The bungalows are a favorite among our guests and we're glad you enjoyed them as well. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance. We hope to hear from you soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are currently staying at the Hyatt. The grounds are very nice and the hotel is impressive however we stayed here in September 2010 and had a much better time. This time it seems you are charged for every little thing such as a 25 resort fee, 16 to self park and charging almost full price for a a kids buffet meal ( I am paying 13 each for my kids to eat toast and muffins). The slide is closed for repair and this is the only reason we stayed here instead of one of the other local properties. The staff does not seem too concerned that one the Hyatts top pool attractions is broken nor have they even offered to try to make up for the inconvenience. We were offered a roll away by the bellman that never arrived. We also bought a cheap knife at the store to cut up some fruit which the housekeeping staff removed from our room. When I called to inform housekeeping that they mistakenly took our property they said they would either find it or replace it.....guess what it was never replaced...overall I am very disappointed with the service and wished we spent our hard earned money at the Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear cassigio:

Thank you for taking the time to share of your recent stay experience at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're sorry to hear of your stay not meeting the expectations of your past visits. One of the main features we take pride in, is our employees offering great customer service. We would be more than happy to speak to you directly about your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back, to show you what a true family getaway experience can be.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this time around for our family reunion in Maui because it is a Hyatt, and usually offers the best in accommodations and service. Unfortunately, this visit did not meet our expectations. We were traveling with children, so this pool complex was a big hit with the kids but it has to be one of the most crowded pools I have ever been at. The pool staff does a very good job keeping non guests from using the facilities, as you must have a "Hyatt" beach towel on your chair, and a bracelet to use the waterside, but even if you are a guest, it is very hard to find an open chair as many are "saved" very early in the morning with books, lotions and bottles of water. Our partial ocean view room was average at best and could really use a facelift. We had stayed at this same property years ago and it seems to be stuck in a time warp. The staff is very friendly, but little details didn't meet Hyatt standards, such as empty paper coffee cups left in public areas for hours and dirty room service trays left in the hallways almost all day. It is a beautiful property though, and has a great location right on the main strip of Kaanapali beach, close to shopping and many good restaurants in the area which offer early bird specials for diners. If you don't mind all the people and waiting in line for just about everything, this hotel will suit you fine. But, if you want a bit more quiet and romance, head up to Kapalua and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinCountyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Maui in July. It was a wonderful holiday. The hotel was fabulous with very friendly and efficient staff. Japengo restuarant is a must, the most amazing sushi is served here. The pool area was great and staff members were constantly waiting on us (without it being intrusive) either taking orders for drinks and snacks or cooling us down with a spritz and cleaning sunglasses. It was great. We visited the spa a number of times and the area is so wonderfully relaxing, again the staff here are very friendly and the treatments were great. We had a spacious room and the standard of daily housekeeping was very good. Overall this was just what we needed after a busy year, total relaxation in a fabulous location. Pure paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Breda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation. It's great to hear you enjoyed our spa and Japengo restaurant. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff. We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing vacation.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Large hotel, limited poolside space. Breakfast always involved a long queue. Pools with penguins, flamingos, swans etc were over the top. Staff were always very good but often overwhelmed by the number of guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing