We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large hotel, limited facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Large hotel, limited facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Large hotel, limited poolside space. Breakfast always involved a long queue. Pools with penguins, flamingos, swans etc were over the top. Staff were always very good but often overwhelmed by the number of guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,873
    1,690
    790
    355
    182
See reviews for
1,605
2,847
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked one night at the Hyatt, went to the Marriott next door for a week and then back to the Hyatt for our last night while in Maui. Although the Hyatt is very beautiful and the landscaping is AMAZING... we really didn't invest much of our time in the lobby or standing around looking at the landscaping. It all comes down to balance. They used a LOT of their precious and limited space in beautiful green plants and flowers and crazy cave bars. I went to Maui to relax!! I grabbed my towel and headed for the pool. When I got there, I was unable to find 2 chairs that had any shade. There are a very limited number of umbrellas and those chairs go quickly. (usually taken by people who put their towels and bags down and then spend the rest of the day in the pool. Once I figured out I wasn't able to find shade, I looked for a pool side chair. They put the chairs so close together, you are unable to walk between them!! That means you need to climb onto the chair from the top or bottom, not from the side. Then, I was unable to figure out how to actually get to the pool. Chairs are side by side all the way around the pool. I asked a Hyatt pool attendant how to get into the pool. She said, from the ladder or stairs. I asked how to get to the ladder or stairs... do I climb over PEOPLE or just climb over the chairs with towels on them. There was NO ACCESS to the pool at ALL. She laughed and said, Oh is really crowded around here!!! After passing the guy selling sunglasses for the 4th time he asked me if I needed anything. I told him I'd like to get to the pool. He laughed and said, You should see it when we're busy!!! When we went to the Marriott next door, they have beautiful landscaping but have a TON MORE space!! They have far less landscaped area and FAR MORE land to spread out and enjoy your time outside!! Chairs are found around the pool as well as on the lawn. You don't have people right on top of you PLUS, finding shade and sun is very easy!! So, I guess if you plan to spend your vacation standing on a walkway looking at plants... go to the Hyatt. If you plan to spend your time outside and want sun or shade WHEN you want it... go to the Marriott. Our last night was spent at the Hyatt, we actually went to the Marriott and asked if we could get towels and stay there for the day. They gladly gave us towels and although we were checked into the Hyatt... we spent our last day at the Marriott where we could enjoy ourselves. Oh, the Breakfast at the Hyatt is like $39 and the Breakfast at the Marriott is $13.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmc8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We originally won a three-night Priceline bid on this resort ($125/night + taxes) and extended our stay to a whole week on our summer vacation in Maui.

The hotel pets in the atrium are always charming. The resort, which is centrally located in Kaanapali Beach, is always quick walks to other resorts and restaurants. The ocean view made up somewhat dated room interior.

Room Tip: Front desk typically assigns ground floor rooms facing parking lot rooms for Priceline customers. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallas808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It is always great to read when our guests have a fantastic stay at our resort. I’m glad that you found the exotic birds and animals in the atrium tower to be charming. It sounds like you really enjoyed your ocean view and the location of the resort. I hope that we can welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been one night and on our second day here. So far the hotel is a 5 out of 10, but the staff is a 10 out of 10. Our first room overlooked the parking lot and a "partial view" of the ocean with construction going on. We waited until after 4:00 for a room and now we overlook the top of a building, a very noisy highway and if you strain your neck you can see the ocean. So, the patio is off limits and it is noisy. So much for a quiet vacation. We still have time to see and will report again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Beth G!

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay with us. We're sorry to learn of the issues you had with the room. Once explained, I'm glad our Front Desk Associate, Jennifer, was able to assist you with ensuring the rest of your stay went well. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back with us, on your next visit to the Islands.

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a beautiful place! From the minute you walked in to the 2 story lobby, past the penguins and beautiful landscape you knew it was going to be a great place. The staff couldn't have been nicer, in fact the nicest staff I've encountered. The rooms were spacious and the view from our oceanfront was fantastic. We were there during the tsunami warning and the hotel did a good job of managing the guests. Thankfully not much of anything happened at all, but they had a plan in place. The workout room was very nice as well and the resort had lots to offer everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is dated somewhat, but that is made up with really good hospitality by the staff and a very clean property. We arrived as the tsunami warning was announced. So the hotel really did a good jub of keeping us informed and moved us to a room on the 5th floor. They were firm but fine. Thank goodness no major damage occurred on the islands. Their location is wonderful and within walking distance to other resorts and attractions. Played golf twice and the staff was great and the golf was fun. A day trip to Pearl Harbor was special. My hat is off to the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel beautiful setting friendly staff. Can't say enough best vacation ever.
Would love to go every year. Food was very good on all the Resturants. Felt the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcomed. Big property with plenty to do other than staying invite beach.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Panda1230:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you've enjoyed your getaway. We're delighted when our guests tell us how the employees went out of the way to make you feel welcomed. We hope to have an opportunity to host you once again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
6.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
22.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing