We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$315
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$335
$305
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $354/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$311
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$310
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$422
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$2,845
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (7,212)
Filter reviews
7,212 results
Traveler rating
3,486
2,053
975
457
241
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,486
2,053
975
457
241
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan courtatrium towerour honeymoonbreakfast buffetswim up barexotic birdsself parkingresort feewalk in closetpool areawhalers villagelahaina towerkaanapali beachpartial ocean viewocean frontkids poolmaui resort
Filter
Updating list...
5,502 - 5,507 of 7,212 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2011

After spending 5 nights at the Fairmont in Wailea and a night in Hana, Lahaina area is my least favorite. We spent two nights at the Hyatt for our honeymoon. The construction of the original front desk area made it very inconvenient to check in. The front desk lady was nice offering us room upgrade to ocean view and 150 bucks for our dinner since our room wasn't ready by 4pm. We were a bit disappointed with the ocean view because the construction was right below our room and it's facing the pool area (lots of loud people, too). The construction wasn't such a big deal, but our room was also right around The Japengo restaurant so we can hear live music for a good part of the night. If you want peace and quiet, Hyatt isn't the place for you.

Trying to get to our room from the parking lot was quite inconvenient. The layout of the hotel did make us do a lot of walking, especially when you have luggage to check in and out.

Although, the food at Japengo was delicious, the breakfast buffet was just okay. The line can be long if you wake up late.

Overall, we probably won't be back at the Hyatt. For honeymooners who are looking to get away from the crowd and kids, go stay in Wailea or Hana for relaxing and quiet time.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maniac0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

We appreciate you sharing the details of your stay with us. We're sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. Our front desk has been moved to the Lahaina tower for the duration of our lobby renovation so that check in is not affected by it. Our hotel does offer a number of perks for honeymooners. We have a special welcome package for honeymooners, couple spa treatments, as well as hammocks in quiet areas around the resort. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our first visit to Maui - we stayed with friends at Aston Kaanapali Suites, subsequent visits we've stayed at the Sheraton Black Rock and Westin. While the Westin is the only hotel I would *not* revisit, the Hyatt would be my go to hotel for every future visit where we stay in Kaanapali.
First, our room was very clean (recently renovated) and large. The staff were very gracious and helpful. The pool was open 24 hours, but we only used it twice since that is not why we come to Hawaii (the water slide in the pool - open 10 to 5 everyday is alot of fun - kids loved it).
We love the garden with its many birds - swans, flamingos, ducks, etc... and the penguins and koi in the lobby. While the main lobby is being renovated - it did not affect us - it is not as nice as it was in the past, but I'm sure it will be again once the renovation is complete.
On previous visits to Maui we've had breakfast at Swan Court in the Hyatt --- this time we had breakfast there almost every day. The breakfast buffet is quite good with everything you could want (even fresh fish!) and pleasant sitting area with a view of swans and ducks in the water.
The beach in front of the hotel is not the best for swimming, but we don't go to Maui to camp out at a beach in front of our hotel anyway (if that's your objective - the Sheraton Black rock is a better choice). The Hyatt is excellently located - closest to Lahaina in Kaanapali and a nice stroll along the beach north to Whalers Village and a number of restaurants.
We all loved the Hyatt and would go there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room on the ninth floor so we could open the lanai (balcony) door at night and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. It also gave us a nice view of the mountains and the almost daily rainbows.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBlack56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear wanderlustPuppy:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're glad to hear our employees were very accommodating for your visit. The renovated room you were assigned sounds great! It sounds as though you were able to have a good time, and were able to explore a lot of the area, while partaking in many different activities. We hope to welcome you back, on a return visit to the Islands. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Staying here now! Read slot if negative reviews and considered switching, so happy we stayed! Yes there is construction! It's in our tower but unless you want to sit in a lobby all day while in Maui who cares! There are some small inconveniences with parking, but to have free parking at all is nice! Gym is great! The beach ( you have to venture to section by fitness center and spa to see this) is by far the best and most private on strip! The grounds are also beautiful !! We are in a deluxe ocean front room that is great! I recommend this hotel with construction, when it's complete it will be even more beautiful!!! Also/ our experience with staff has been nothing but great from the moment we arrived!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Mahalo! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We're delighted you gave our hotel a try and loved it! We're glad you enjoyed our magnificent grounds and the beautiful ocean views our hotel offers. Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent 4 days there, serene, quite, beautiful, stone throw distance from downtown, highly recommend, to make your special trip to the paradise islands even more special. The conceriege was very helpful will booking the local events like ziplining (highly recommend), road to hana (highly recommend), parasailing, and a few others i do not recollect. The hotel is right off of the beach, the pool was awesome, warm and comfy, overseeing the ocean, the bar was close for people to help themselves and hang out at the beach.

Room Tip: cannot beat ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaheshKale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We're delighted you had a wonderful time in Maui. It's great to hear that our concierge was able to assist you with activities to help make your vacation even more exciting. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I just returned from a week long stay at Hyatt Regency. I was a bit skeptical as some reviews mentioned construction. The main entrance was temporarily relocated to the rear of the hotel which looked perfectly beautiful when you walked in.

My room overlooked the beautiful gardens with an ocean view. I did not hear any construction at all while dining at the property restaurants or even in my room. I sat by the pool to relax and had lunch and cocktails by the pool and did not hear a thing. The renovations look like they are going to be fabulous!

I did have the buffet package included in my stay and always found a great selection and no lines at all. The hotel was very full during my stay as well.

I walked along the beautiful path during the morning and evenings and enjoyed looking at all of the properties. I was always glad to arrive back at the Hyatt as it is truly the most impressive resort.

There is a beach area off to the side of the property with chairs and towels at your disposal. I also had a message at the spa and wished I had booked the 90 min instead of the 50 min. I cannot remember the gal that did my treatment. They also had a Relaxation Area once your treatment was over which offered comfy lounge chairs with windows overlooking the ocean. It was so quiet and you could sit there and listen to the waves crashing. If you have the money in your budget then this is well worth it.

We dined in their new restaurant Japengo. It was amazing. We ended up getting several dishes to share and even went back another night.

This property was well worth the price and have no complaints at all. I will be booking another trip so I can see the renovations.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators. Top floor if you like quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

It is fantastic to hear that you had such an amazing experience at our resort. I am pleased you found our resort to be truly impressive. We take great pride in our property and want to make sure our guest feel like they are in paradise from the moment they arrive. I am delighted you were able to experience our wonderful spa Moana. Our ocean front spa offers fabulous service and is guaranteed to make you leave feeling refreshed. We appreciate you providing such terrific feedback. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews