We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$325
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$315
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $360/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$346
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $354/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$312
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$236
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$2,845
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (7,217)
Filter reviews
7,217 results
Traveler rating
3,486
2,055
976
457
243
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,486
2,055
976
457
243
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan courtatrium towerour honeymoonbreakfast buffetswim up barexotic birdsself parkingresort feewalk in closetpool areawhalers villagelahaina towerkaanapali beachpartial ocean viewocean frontkids poolmaui resort
Filter
Updating list...
5,625 - 5,630 of 7,217 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights at the end of our honeymoon around California. The whole resort is just fabulous and the service was fantastic. We received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, lei greeting when we checked in and a photo album as we were honeymooners.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with a balcony looking out over the mountains (and also the Drums of the Pacific lu'au). The bed was large and comfy, and there was a nice seating area.

The pool area is large and very nice. You can get clean towels whenver you like, and there is an outdoor bar/restaurant called Umalu right beside the pool for cocktails/lunch etc - they're happy for you to sit in there in your bikini if you like!! Food here was tasty (we ate here quite a lot) and service was great. The mai-tais were amazing!
The beach is literally right in front of the hotel, and there are lots of water sports available along Ka'anapali beach (surfing ,jet skiing, parasailing etc). It was a little stony right in front of the hotel but stroll up a little further where the beaches are less stony. There are strong currents in the sea but the water was like stepping into a warm bath while we were there. You can also hire cabanas from the hotel that area right beside the beach - a nice treat for a day.

The other restaurants in the hotel (Japengo and Son'z) were amazing! Fabulous fresh seafood...we ate very well!! Breakfast buffet in Swan Court was the best I've ever been at - plentiful with a massive selection, and a chef freshly cooking omelettes/eggs to order. This looked after a lagoon/pool area with a waterfall and swans - so beautiful and a great way to start the day!

A little further up Ka'anapali beach, we found the Whalers Village where there is a bus that runs hourly to Lahaina for only a dollar, and also a good variety of shops. Most of these sell beachwear or souvenirs but there was also a Louis Vuitton shop and a Coach shop if you like your designer labels.

The Drums of the Pacific lu'au at the resort was really good - a bit cheesy though...probably because it was very "Americanised"...however it was excellent entertainment and the food was very tasty. A good way to sample some traditional Hawaiian fare.

Lahaina town itself is a bus ride (or taxi ride later in the evening) away, and is lovely - lots of shops and restaurants. The people in Maui are absolutely lovely, so friendly and welcoming. If you're there on a Wednesday night, make sure you go to Betty's Beach Cafe for lobster night (a whole lobster for $14) and a birdseye (free!!) view onto the lu'au next door!! The sunsets from Lahaina were spectacular.

We absolutely adored Maui and we were delighted with the Hyatt. I would highly recommend it for couples, honeymooners or anyone else looking for a relaxing holiday away in paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

I am honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at our resort. It sounds as if you and your husband had a fabulous stay with us. I am thrilled that you found the service to be fantastic. Our staff takes great pride in their work and wants to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our restaurants. Whether it is a snack at Umalu or a wonderful dinner at Japengo you won’t be disappointed with the quality of food and service. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. Congratulations on your nuptials. We hope to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Aloha! And welcome to my favorite resort in Maui!

We relaxed here last year at Thanksgiving and are returning again this Thanksgiving and we can hardly wait. What can I say that hasn’t already been said before? There comes a certain level of service and expectation when staying at any Hyatt resort and Hyatt Maui does not disappoint. From the moment we checked-in to our departure we were made to feel like Royalty. From our awesome large Deluxe Ocean View room (I had to laugh at those travelers that said the room wasn’t modern. Hyatt Maui underwent a multi million $ renovation last year with all new Hawaiian themed furnishings) to the most beautiful landscaped grounds in Maui, I understand why many guests return when traveling to the Islands. The wildlife on the manicured grounds are a daily delight to enjoy. From the swans, flamingos and penguins, they always brought a smile to our face. The staff, everyone from top to bottom always had a smile and a friendly “aloha’ when passed. Cocktails and pupus by the pool at happy hour were always delicious. The pool is great. Beach is small but you walk 2-3 min towards Whalers Village and you have a big beach. A Breakfast Buffet to die for. If you go away hungry, it is your own fault. Expensive? Yes, it can be, but when staying at a luxury resort, EXPECT it or stay at Motel 6. They go hand in hand. We all want value and Hyatt Maui delivers.

I am a true believer that your vacation is what you make of it and if one thing like paying for parking or internet, listening to the wonderful musical sounds of the nightly luau, that your room was not cleaned first thing in the morning or you have to walk a bit to get around at a large resort and it is going to ruin your vacation, then stay home. Do some internet homework before you book and know before you go. These are some of the reasons we, as seasoned travelers, know what to expect when traveling on a budget or in luxury. Even the unexpected are part of the adventure!

My only complaint was that we weren’t able to stay longer!

Aloha!

Room Tip: Pay for the Deluxe Ocean View or better. Play BIG or don't go!
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorthysFriendTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Hyatt Regency in Maui was a great price for its amenities - great pools and beach access and location. The rooms are a bit outdated but clean. The staff is incredibly helpful and the food at the restaurants were pretty good but not gourmet standards. For the price we got it for, through a Qantas special, it was a steal of a deal. I did see it advertised online for much more than we paid and am not sure I would pay the prices online for it. You would be able to find more modern furnishings and better food at other places close by for the same price.

Room Tip: ocean view is worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankinMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

At arrival we had free valet parking that night, super friendly staff and cookies with fruit punch when you walk in. Quick check-in too. (Seems silly, but these little things are nice after a day of exhausting traveling.) The pool is awesome and the layout is great for kids and adults. Activities for the kids were an excellent touch also. No funny business on the bill at check-out. There was alot of scaffolding setup on the front of the building. No work was being done when we were there (08-30-9/5/11), so it didn't bother us, but they are either staring some pretty major work, or finishing up work (call first to see!). A+++++

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We’re excited to hear that you had an excellent stay at our property. From the moment guests arrive we want them to feel like they are at home. Having a friendly and welcoming staff greet you upon arrival can make all the difference. I am pleased you found our pool and activities to be quite enjoyable. We offer several different amenities and activities for our guests to enjoy. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here 8/28-9/4. We were given a room in the main tower. There was a partial ocean view if you sat on the far side of the balcony. As other reviewers pointed out, the bed is extremely low to the floor. The pillows were hard. We had the a.c. on all the time, but at night it never seemed cool in there. It didn't help that there was a sheet-comforter-sheet layout to the bed. The room was always cleaned extremely late in the day. I noticed a previous guests lip gloss under the bed. Also, there was can of a previous guests beverage under the tv. These things were there for the entire 6 nights we were there. The bathroom looked like it had been partially remodeled. They seemed to have stopped with the bathroom door and bath tub.

The pool was nice, but is probably a little too deep for most people. Half of the pool is 8 or 9 feet deep. It didn't bother me, since we had brought our own tubes, but there was hardly ever anyone in that part of the pool. You need a towel card to get towels for the pool and have to turn them in to get new towel cards after you use them. It was a pain. We stayed at Hyatts in Waikiki and Kauai and neither of them had this annoyance.

The room was quiet; we couldn't hear our neighbors. Lots of people put towels on the pool chairs and I never saw them. Maybe they only enforce the 1 hour removal rule during the high season.

There were some nice shops in the hotel: Maui Hands, Macys, a sundry.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Whaler's Village and a few restaurants. We at at Umalu once. It was ok. The prices were pretty steep at for the food; there was no kids menu here. They have a happy hour at Umalu and Japengo. There were plenty of other restaurants outside of the hotel that were cheaper. Front Street in Lahaina has a ton of restaurants and shopping, which is a short drive away.

We called the guest request number to ask about a later checkout after having been told by the front desk to call in the morning. The woman on the phone immediately said no; she never asked what room we were in or anything. We later walking down to the front desk and a very nice front desk man said it depended what room we were in; we were in a room that allowed for the late checkout (1pm), which was very helpful.

The real low point of the stay was the parking/valet situation. Upon our arrival we stated that we wanted to check in quickly and then we would park our car ourselves. We clearly stated we did not want our luggage removed from the car. One valet guy said no problem and he'd just move our car over to the side. After we checked in, I noticed our bags were on a cart with a bellhop standing by. I was very annoyed by this, but I was annoyed even further after we returned from getting our bags dropped off by the bellhop to find that our car was nowhere in sight. It was not parked on the side as we were told. And that valet person was nowhere in sight. It took another 15 minutes for the other valet person to find out where our car was and bring it back. There is also a luau at the hotel every night. It is very difficult to find a parking spot at night because of this. We continuously drove from one parking lot to another and did not find a spot. Then, we were back in the valet situation again. You also don't need any kind of parking pass to park in the hotel lots so anyone could park here at anytime. They really need to focus on making parking easier for their guests.

I'd definitely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews