We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the regency club- not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid the regency club- not worth it!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Taking our kids 5 & 6 on their first trip to Maui we were excited to stay at the hyatt after the great reviews both on this site and from friends and family. We decided to book a regency club room as we though it would be helpful as our boys require constant feeding. Our first problem arose when we found out that although we paid for a regency club room we were actually two floors below the actual regency club. So it was a bit of a trek form our room. No big deal we figured- not much time spent in the room any way. Then when when we got to the club we were extremely disappointed. Breakfast was ok- bagels, toast and general very lite continental affair. Lunch was cookies and peanuts. Dinner was one hot hordearve. One night it was shrip, the other a lettuce wrap. Alcohol was not included. So for the extra 150+ per night we received a light snack. Save your money- the regency club is a complete rip off.

The pools were nice, kids enjoyed the water slide. Beaches are very small and extremely rocky if you enter the water. We cut up our feet pretty bad. Food was average. Rooms small, lenai tiny, but we had an excellent full ocean view.

Also, if you have small children they have loud music playing until 10pm- which with the time change was 1:00am for our kids- so they were kept up and not happy.

Overall- the hyatt was an acceptable stay, but we had a much better experience at the kea lani.

Room Tip: Avoid the regency club at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HockeydadCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,918
    1,718
    800
    362
    184
See reviews for
1,646
2,880
79
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas-Fort Worth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely, accommodating, from every step of the way. Gorgeous, distinctive grounds and pet residents - including flamingos, swans and penguins. Who knew??? Japengo restaurant was extraordinary. Poolside grill was okay. Inside "expensive" brunch location - okay, but not really worth the extra time and having to dress for it. Our last night on property we planned on dining at Japengo for a 3rd time, only to find it was closed that evening for a private event. The poolside grill wasn't exactly the "last night ambience" we were looking for, so we went inside to the more formal restaurant where brunch was served, only to find it so understaffed in the bar area while we waited for a table, that we opted to leave the property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel overall is fairly nice and the staff is fairly accommodating. But, don't plan on getting a chair at the pool unless you arrive at 6:30am to save your spot. It's insane!
When we first arrived we were in a room on the first floor- which smelled like a basement, and felt like one too. After speaking with the front desk- we were switched to a new room. Much better, and had a view. also- the hotel has almost no parking, which forces you into valet, even if you have paid the $25/day resort fee which should include parking. You then have to tip. Some updates would be nice- it's a little old fashioned in style. Everything is overpriced in Maui- expect to pay for a $20 cheeseburger.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in the Hyatt for the last 3 nights of a 3 week trip in August and had a fantastic time. The hotel itself whilst not ultra modern is great, big wide open spaces, great views of the ocean and an awesome pool with its own grotto! We had an ocean view room overlooking the gardens with the flamingos which was nicely decorated and overall the service at the hotel was top notch. We did not really want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWLondonHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear NWLondonHoneymooners:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback in regards to your Island Hopping experience, and ending your vacation with us at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel. We're delighted to hear how welcoming & friendly our employees were. It sounds as though you enjoyed the view from you room with the view of the ocean along with the flamingos in the garden. We hope to welcome you back for many anniversary celebrations that are to come along in the future!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I am typically not impressed with hotels, but I must say that this is one of the most impressive hotels I have been to.

First off, the hotel is huge, which is typically a negative for me, but in this case it made the experience even better. The pool spans almost the entire property and has various sections to it (slides, basketball, cave, etc).

I was blown away by the ambience of the hotel, from the flamingos that walked right in front of me to cross the walkway, to the black swans 3 ft away. Then there were the penguins waddling around and the parrots that kept whistling at and talking to me.

The gym is the best I have seen at a hotel. The Sauna is wonderful also. Free parking is a plus and if the lots fill up, they give you free valet.

The beach is not very impressive, but in Hawaii all beaches are public, so we just went up the beach to black rock and swam with the sea turtles (free).

We really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. The food and extra amenities are really expensive, but we didn't really stay at the hotel for meals or services.

I highly recommended (and if you bid properly, you can get this hotel on Priceline).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShottaNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear ShottaNIC:

Thank you for sharing these details in regards to your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the expansiveness of our property. It sounds as though you enjoyed the Stay Fit @ Hyatt fitness center along with the sauna. We often hear enthusiastic feedback in regards to the wildlife around our property. Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Hyatt Regency chain provided outstanding accommodations, service and amenities at their resort on Maui. After 8 hours of flying from the mainland and lengthy ground transportation we were greeted warmly by hotel staff and efficiently checked in to our room by Victoria Ericsson. She is gracious and helpful as well as knowledgeable and proficient on the job. Our room was clean and comfortable and Victoria was able to grant us access to the complimentary dining suite on the 22nd floor of the tower -- it was stocked with snacks, coffee, water and fruit -- even continental breakfast items each morning. A lovely and convenient option since we had multiple activities planned during our stay and a hectic schedule to maintain.
Having a Hertz Rental Car satellite location at the hotel was fabulous and eliminated the necessity of renting and driving to and from the airport. I would highly recommend a rental in Maui -- it's the only way to get around cost effectively and provides an opportunity to visit locations away from the tourist areas. There is just so much to see and appreciate about this gorgeous island.
The Moana Spa located on the hotel property is beautifully maintained and staffed. We were extremely impressed with the skilled technicians and thoroughly enjoyed our massages and all of the spa amenities and extras. I would highly recommend it after a full day of zip lining or horseback riding in the west Maui mountains! It was a totally relaxing yet energizing experience.
We really didn't have the time to experience any fine dining at the Hyatt but the restaurants we did frequent offered good service and affordable prices. The food was not “out of this world” but the specialty desserts served at Umalu definitely were!! So delicious and beautifully presented – my compliments to the chef!
The Hyatt is in a very good location -- closest to Lahaina and central to many of the local activities offered on the island. The beach was not ideal for swimming directly in front of the hotel property since the reef is very near the shoreline but a short walk puts you in a good location and there is a lifeguard on duty for the little ones. I would recommend bringing water shoes for the best experience in the water.
Overall the Hyatt Regency Maui is an excellent choice for a memorable vacation. We will definitely return for another visit! Thank you Hyatt!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad location in terms of view -- both ocean and garden views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6ker966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear 6ker966:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We appreciate you going into such detail about your time spent with us! It's amazing to see how much you were able to accomplish in such a short period of time. We hope to welcome you back again! Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

After a pretty exhaustive search of Kaanapali, we chose the Hyatt over the Westin & Sheraton. It was a great choice as we felt the customer service was great and the room (Ocean View) had a great view. The service was so great that we left something in the room safe and a day later they were able to get it back for us. Kudos to the Hyatt. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

The pool was crowded but they enforced the 1 hour rule which was nice. The beach could be better but we rented a cabana ($50/day) to look out on the water which was money well spent (I think I was there from 9:30 - 4:00).

Room Tip: We used costco
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matttravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our resort. I am glad you found the service to be top notch. We pride ourselves on are service and want to ensure our guests that they will have a memorable experience while staying with us. We offer fantastic ocean views throughout the resort. I am thrilled you found your ocean view room to be amazing. We appreciate all your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing