We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun for adults and kids”
Review of Surfing Goat Dairy

Surfing Goat Dairy
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Tasting the Best of Maui Farm Tour
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Dairy Farm is located on the beautiful slopes of Maui's Haleakala Crater in lower Kula and has been producing award winning “Maui Gourmet Goat Cheeses” for over 6 years. Come and take a tour of one of the Islands top Ag-Tourism venues and learn more about our goats and cheeses and what we have to offer.We hope you enjoy your visit to Surfing Goat Dairy. …and as they say in Hawaii... “Da' Feta Mo' Betta!”“Winner of 16 National Awards”“Best Goat Cheese spread in North America 2004, 2005 & 2006”
Salinas, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun for adults and kids”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly Staff, outstanding tour. Get to feed the goats, and then sample the cheeses. The gift shop is fun and you need to try the truffles.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    345
    153
    61
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always a fun trip”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We always like to make a trip "upcountry" and surfing goat cheese is a must. We have been doing this for quite a few years, and unfortunately (for us, not them) it has become pretty popular and is harder to relax and enjoy. The tours are fun if you haven't done that, especially with children and the many varieties of goat cheese are fun to try. don't expect too much - this is a rustic, quiant place which i love as a change to the west side of Maui. We usually go to the Lavender farm and then come here and then walk around the cowboy town (Makaweo??). We usually order several cheeses and then order a platter of luncheon meats and enjoy lunch and some time here. This time they had two huge bus groups that came just after us and it wasn't quite the quaint place I love. Also, they need to add restrooms if they are going to cater to large groups. Having said that, I highly recommend a visit and you can also order online (which I have done, but it gets expensive). do try their truffles - they are divine. i always get some to enjoy during our stay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparkysimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had the tour of the dairy and found it very informative - there is a fee for that. Feeding the goats was really fun - they can get pretty aggressive!!! The cheese samples were great and the gelato was so delicious. The dogs and cats were all so very friendly. Definitely will need to repeat and make it for the goat milking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SanukWaikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cheese”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We set aside a day to go around upcountry. Having done it now if I had to do it again I probably would have skipped the upcountry. We were on our honeymoon and from the description of Fromers and Froders guidebooks they highly recommended going. There isnt much there and while I'm sure the tour was informative we didnt think it was worth the cost. Everyone was very nice and like I said the cheese was good but quite expensive for the 3 tablespoons you get.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stopped here on our way down the mountain from Kula. It was fun to see and feed the goats, but the price of the tour is high for what it consists of and the cheeses are very expensive.
Probably more fun for the kids but not for just an adult group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Goat Dairy also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Surfing Goat Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing