We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheese is to die for!”
Review of Surfing Goat Dairy

Surfing Goat Dairy
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Tasting the Best of Maui Farm Tour
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Dairy Farm is located on the beautiful slopes of Maui's Haleakala Crater in lower Kula and has been producing award winning “Maui Gourmet Goat Cheeses” for over 6 years. Come and take a tour of one of the Islands top Ag-Tourism venues and learn more about our goats and cheeses and what we have to offer.We hope you enjoy your visit to Surfing Goat Dairy. …and as they say in Hawaii... “Da' Feta Mo' Betta!”“Winner of 16 National Awards”“Best Goat Cheese spread in North America 2004, 2005 & 2006”
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The cheese is to die for!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This being our third trip to Maui, we are always looking for something new and different to do. We heard about the Surfing Goat Dairy from a friend and decided to check it out. Being goat cheese lovers, my daughter and I had an incredible time touring the farm, petting/feeding/milking the goats, and my favorite, sampling the different cheeses (mmmmm - and so many to choose from!) The goat cheese chocolate truffles are also first rate, as is the soap made from goats milk. The staff is so friendly and knowledgable, which made the visit that much nicer. We also ordered the caprese (tomatoes, basil and goat cheese with balsamic vinegar) and wanted to try the new little pizzas, but we were just too full by then (definitely save your appetite before you come). We left with a little bit of everything, and really appreciated that we could take the cheese back to the mainland in the frozen containers so we will have some for later. Definitely a great way to spend the afternoon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    345
    153
    61
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Chocolates!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got in too late for the tour, but were able to hang with the goats a little and taste the delicious goat cheeses. Since we couldn't take the cheese on the airline (they consider it liquid), we bought some of their chocolates for ourselves and gifts. The flavors are great and everyone thought it was the perfect gift.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our kids, 7 & 9, had a great time feeding and milking the goats. I felt the tour was a bit unorganized, but ultimately, we were there to see, pet, milk the goats. Cheese, chocolate, and gelato were fantastic...and I'm not usually a goat cheese fan! Our boys thought it was worth 45 min drive from Ka'anapalli to get there. We did pay extra for the afternoon tour in order to be able to feed and milk the goats. I might have been a little disappointed if we hadn't gotten to do that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Baby goats! Whats not to love”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I went for the goats and she went for the cheese. Well worth the visit. Cheese is amazing so she tells me!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“����������wonderful”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really wonderful visit, great guides! Having said that the cheese was to die for but for 2oz at $8, we were left wanting more. The cheese is well worth the money but 3oz would have been more appropriate. This is a definete stop if you are a foodie.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinggoatdairy, Front Office Manager at Surfing Goat Dairy, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Dairy.

Just a small note of correction, the cheese is in 3.4oz portions for $8, not 2oz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Goat Dairy also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Surfing Goat Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing