We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal!”
Review of Kula Lodge

Kula Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Kula Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Haleakala Hwy
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We were here two years ago. Loved it so decided to return but was worried about it based on recent reviews. The food again was very good. Have the steak poki for an appetizer, it was so good. Our server suggested it. We had the pizza and it was excellent plus a fish sandwich which was great also. The kids loved the smoothies. It is expensive but worth it. We went for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jazz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    390
    149
    65
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had breakfast here on the way to the Lavander Farm. Quaint little lodge with expansive views from the restaurant. The service was good, the food was just ok, pricey, but average for Maui. I would not have the loco moco again. Nice place to stop to and from Haleakala crater, the Lavander Farm or the winery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golangnggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
544 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“We got off cheap. ”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the first breakfast places you will find after going
To the top of the crater for sunrise. It gets busy quick because of this. And the prices for breakfast are on the pricey side. My wife had coffee, I had a water, we split the combo breakfast with pancakes and eggs. Our bill was $19.89 w/o tip.

Hint. If it's busy, drop someone off to put your me on the list. overflow parking is a bit of a walk.

Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Unforgettable Pizza”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

No one makes Pizza better than the stone oven Pizzas at the Kula Lodge. They start cooking Pizzas around noon and the
resturant fills up quick.
. We always go at least twice on our trip and take family and friends for this special treat.
Nestled in the high county there is incredible views of the country side. There is also shops on the property to buy great gifts

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith1952403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointed.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stopped here during our last visit and really really enjoyed the pizza despite the exorbitant price. So after a full day of exploring Haleakala and totally famished, we were really looking forward to a pizza and a brew. We sit down and learn that the pizza oven wouldn't be ready of another hour (it was after 3) and the price of the burgers was so high, I just wouldn't do it. And that's after eating in Lahaina, Kaanipali and Wailea. We ordered a tiny expensive appetizer had a cocktail and left. That will likely end that tradition. Interestingly, Maui Revealed, our go-to guide book also dropped their rating but we decided to give it a go anyway. Their review was spot on so we'll keep an eye on their reviews to see if things improve, otherwise we'll pack snacks and dine in Paia on the way back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Kula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing