We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View and okay food too”
Review of Kula Lodge

Kula Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Kula Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Haleakala Hwy
Midlothian, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome View and okay food too”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The views here are absolutely fantastic....food is expensive and the menu limited....service was good.....we had the ribs and the italian suasage/pasta...ribs did not have much taste and the pasta was terrific.........view is worth a stop to eat here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    390
    149
    65
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and incredible view”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a must stop on your way up or down from Haleakala. The food is awesome, I recommend one of the artisan brick oven pizzas. I had the grilled chicken and goat cheese, it is certainly big enough for two, I ended taking 3/4 home. The Maui onion soup is also very good. I was hoping to try their pineapple upside down cake, but it was sold out :( ...
The service is outstanding! Our server was super helpful and pleasant.
The view, is in one word, incredible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pizza Oven is Outstanding”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were shocked the first time when we walked in to see the amazing view of Maui from this restaurant. After we sat down, we noticed the smoke coming out of the wonderful pizza oven behind the restaurant. Never ones to pass up a oven baked pizza, that is what we ordered. Fantastic! And one is enough to feed two, so very reasonable priced. We went back again this year and it was just as good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had been up to Haleakala and were looking for a burger on the way down. The first place we stopped at was just closing, so we wandered on down a ways and stopped at the Kula Lodge when we saw and smelled smoke venting from the grill. We hadn't expected a real dinner menu, and were very happy with the day's special of ahi. It was only $28--less than may of the regular menu items. It was a bit spicy, but good, served with artichoke risotto and baby bok choy. We had considered a pizza before we heard the special, and I'm sure they're great, but the ahi was very, very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzwil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location for an early morning trip to the crater”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful location. The accommodation itself is quite basic, though clean, and the restaurant is nice with a lovely view at sunset. It is the perfect place to stay if you want to get to the top for sunrise or stay up the top late to watch the stars. The staff are very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Froggiegirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Kula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing