We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Haleakala National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Maui: Haleakala Sunrise Tour
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We visited Haleakala when we were on our honeymoon. Bring a sweatshirt as it does get cold later in the day. We did a 4 hour hike which the park ranger suggested to us, it was cold once we started and then as we got more into the crater we got hot, you definitely need water. The hike going down was not bad but coming back up was difficult due to the elevation it took us longer to go back up then it did to go down. The views are breathtaking and the pass will also get you into the 7 waterfalls park as well. We stayed and watched the sunset and it was amazing to be above the cloud cover and watch it. The sun seem to set there much earlier than it does on the lower elevation

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    202
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

After doing some research, we opted for sunset over the sunrise debacle. We encountered little traffic and got a prime spot in the summit parking lot. The sunrise view is probably better with less cloud cover, but watching the clouds form and move around (and just under) the summit is equally fascinating. The sunny mist we encountered at the visitor center on the way up is something I'll remember wistfully through another hot Texas summer. At the top, it's like another planet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thidmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like another planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We did a 14 mile hike from the summit to the Halewalu (sp?) trailhead. It was a doozy, but so, so beautiful. I highly encourage anyone who is physically able to hike into the crater (bring LOTS of water and snacks) to see the most amazing views and landscape changes.

There is no potable water at the summit so make sure you drink up because of the elevation changes.

We also visited the Oheo Gulch a little past Hana (don't just turn around at the "end" of the road to Hana). Gorgeous! If you go to both sites (the summit and the gulch) within three days you only have to pay once, so save your receipt.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The sun also sets....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We planned on going for sunrise, but that was just too danged early to get up on vacation. So we went for sunset instead (it's still a 360 degree view). Had a great afternoon on top, then watched the sun go down, and no crowds. At the crater overlook, I saw my shadow on the clouds inside a full circle rainbow, the attached pic tries to show it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a beautiful drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This park has some of the most beautiful scenery in Maui. It's easily worth the drive, although it might not be for the queasy due to all the winding roads. There are plenty of place to stop and take pictures, and there are some small towns that are worth a visit. Allow for a whole day travel or plan to stay overnight.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBOtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala National Park also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing