We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park!”

Haleakala National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Maui: Haleakala Sunrise Tour
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After driving upto Hana, we went onto the Haleakala National park and were awed by the scenic natural splendor and beauty. Make sure to save your $10 entry ticket as you can use the same ticket within a 3 day window to re-enter the park at the base or even the top. Spend time to enjoy the natural beauty!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,135
    206
    33
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Four of us hired a car and drove up to Haleakala. The road is windy but quite wide and well marked. Be careful though as there are cyclists and skate boarders to be weary of. We did not see any cows on the road, but were warned about them. Entrance into the park was $10.00 for the car.

Dressed nice and warmly, we arrived mid morning but the weather was fickle. One minute cloud, the next it was quite clear though we did not see Haleakala at its best. However, it was still easy to see the beauty and grandeur of this place. For early risers, I imagine that sunrise on a clear morning would be wonderful, but I did not want to rise so early :P

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobcatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The silent giant”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Many people don't realize that the Haleakala people see is literally only the tip of the iceberg. The east side of Haleakala continues down 18,000 feet below sea level. The crater on top of Haleakala is where astronauts trained for landing on the moon. You can ride horses across the crater. Clear sunrises are spectacular but cold; bring warm clothing. On clear days you can see the big island of Hawaii. The silversword plant grows only on the top of Haleakala. The switchback road can test your patience and your car's brakes, but the trip is worth it. The seven pools on the east side of Haleakala National Park are also interesting if you decide to go to Hana and beyond. Also, visit the towns "up country" on the west slope of Haleakala.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knyght1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Parking straight ahead: 10,023'”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Haleakala is surreal, it takes you back in time. I opted to drive up in the early afternoon to hike and take pictures, but the ride-down-on-bike trips that are offered looked like a lot of fun too. There are two visitor's centers on the drive up to the summit, one at 7000' and the other at 9,740'. The view from 9.740' is a photographer's dream and panorama shots and movies will amaze you in the weeks and months after your trip.

You meet people from all over the world and yet feel like you're on another planet. There's an observation deck and an observatory up at the summit at 10,023' and from there you look down at the parking lot, the landscape and then the clouds. I've driven up to the Alpine Visitor's Center in Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado at 11,796' and it's a similar awe-inspiring sensation.

I went in May and didn't need the extra clothes I brought, but water you'll need and a snack or something is a good idea too. I'd love to go back and see a sunset or a sunrise.

When you think the world has gone crazy, Haleakala is one of those places that reminds you it's also a beautiful world.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanukisan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Cold but worth it. Plan on a nap later that day and go as early as you can bear. Wear all the clothes you have and bring blankets. The stars before the sun comes up are worth it alone. We might go back and do sunset as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala National Park also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing