We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Coffee and Endless Knowledge”

Haleakala Sunrise Concession Cart
Ranked #3 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Kula
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Stop by Crater Coffee & ENJOY your Haleakala Sunrise experience. Open at 3am for your Haleakala Sunrise needs. Serving quick & convenient coffee and food to-go. On the right, in the Kula Lodge parking lot. Look for our Concession Cart with the bright OPEN sign. Crater Coffee Cart is the ONLY stop on the way to the top!
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot Coffee and Endless Knowledge”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My family and I decided to hit the summit for the tail end of the meteor shower and the sun rise. On our way up we spotted Mike and the Crater Coffee crew (his dog). For me it was like finding water in the desert. Hot coffee, muffins, and even hot tea for my wife at 4 o'clock in the morning. What was most impressive for us was the endless knowledge Mike has about Maui. I have done several all day tours and did not learn half of what we did sitting in the dark on the side of the road at Crater Coffee. Even though Mike was just doing what he does, we felt that between the coffee, muffins, and history lesson he deserved a little extra so we padded his tip jar and headed on up to the cold crater with our warm beverages.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank griff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Start to a Sunrise in Maui”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stopped at Crater Coffee a few weeks and met Mike. The coffee was delicious and necessary for the early and cold morning sunrise on the top of Haleakala. Mike was very friendly and gave us good advice and directions in addition to the customer service and great coffee. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big ups!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Crater Coffee and Michael are the epitome of the aloha spirit! Michael was fast, friendly and informative. We didn't have any cash (just plastic) but Michael proceeded to pour us complimentary coffee and tea. That's ALOHA! Excellent service! Excellent beverages!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phuc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Makes that early morning drive bearable”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

remember to bring cash and Stop to grab a quick cup of coffee and a snack to break up the sunrise trip up to the crater, Mike is super friendly and helpful with all local advice for your trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greekleathercouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
“A must do on the way up to Sunrise on Haleakala”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Crater coffee is a must-do on the way up up to watch the sunrise, they are a coffee shop/stand/truck at the base of the volcano. There's no food/coffee anywhere else open on the way (that we could see at 4am) and you NEED a nice warm drink up there since you'll be standing around outside in the cold for 30min as the sun comes up. Good idea to stock up on baked goods too, since you get hungry and it's good value.

We had a nice chat with both tourists and locals when we stopped there, it's got a great friendly vibe. I also love how they have a lot of extras like agave syrup, cinnamon, etc. for the coffee :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyandAdamsaidthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Sunrise Concession Cart also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Sunrise Concession Cart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing