We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Walk”

Kula Botanical Garden
Ranked #7 of 33 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
MN
Level Contributor
262 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Nice Walk”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was a pleasant walk and we enjoyed the flowers and trees. It was a little expensive for what they offered, but we did enjoyed it. We liked the painted trees and chameleon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    107
    50
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

'This place is nothing and definitely not worth $10 per person. The upkeep was awful. Many of the plants were plants you can see just about anywhere. There were very few flowers. The lady at the counter was rude. It was nothing short of a waste of time and money...nothing like the other botanical gardens we have visited. It took us about 15 minutes to go through this so called attraction because there was nothing of interest to see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mabe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ehhhh”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My mom really wanted to check out the botanical garden as we had been to a few on the the big island. We had to pay $10 per person and none of us were very impressed. I guess I expected more native plants. The pathways were a little steep for some. Save you money and keep going to the winery down the road.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbiekllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
381 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Warmed our damp & cold spirits”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Sooo glad we decided to go there even on a cold & rainy day!
The service was unexpectedly wonderful:
My husband & I were both freezing & didn't wear sweaters nor had an umbrella. Didnt expect such weather in Maui & didn't know how much colder it is up the mountains than by the beaches, sigh. Guess what? They offered us men & women's sweaters or hoodies to borrow (they clean these & lend to guests) as well as a nice big umbrella. So voila, our problems solved....
As to the gardens: gorgeous flowers, trees, koi pond, nene geese, even a chameleon. The orchid room was a supposed stunner, but we found it to be average with not many varieties but still pretty. The proteas are wonderful as are birds of paradise & many others that I don't know the names of.

Worth the trip!
Enjoy

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Cool Garden”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Took my mother as she's a total plant person and she loved every minute of it. Plan on walking up and down hills on windy paths (not sure how well it would work if a guest was in a wheel chair). Liked the diversity of plant species. Wish there was more specific information about the plants. Be aware it's at 3,000 feet elevation so it can be chilly up there!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Botanical Garden also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Kula Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing