We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kula Botanical Garden

Kula Botanical Garden
Ranked #7 of 32 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a really nice garden. Admission is $10 per person. Lots of flowers, some tiki statues, some caged and free roaming birds. Overall very scenic - would have stayed here longer but started to rain but liked what I saw and got some good photos. I would say its worth it to go here after visiting Haleakala and/or on the way to the Tedaschi Winer, maybe even heading out here just to visit the garden. A pleasant, relaxing place with lots of photo ops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MachThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    100
    48
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SO CAL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“FLORAL OASIS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived at location and purchased $10 per person tickets at front desk. Small gift shop with Hawaiian things good for purchase if you want a small memento.

Tour took us about an hour. Fun roaming the up and down paved paths. Many trees, plants, flowers beautifully landscaped over several acres. Many marked by signage advising name and country of origin. New Zealand, China, South Africa etc. as well as some endangered Maui species. Nice areas for photo taking.

Very peaceful and enjoyable just exploring the area and seeing all of the different areas that have been developed for this lovely garden.

Enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice respite from the heat of the beaches, but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We met a friend in Pa'ia for lunch so needed something to do in the upcountry area. After driving around a bit and finding the places we wanted to visit in Makawao closed for vacation, we decided to check out the Kula Botanical Gardens.

First, it is lovely in this area and the temperature is much cooler than down at the beaches, so a nice break from the heat. The Gardens themselves are pretty with lots of different areas and plants, as well as a koi pond, chameleons, birds, and a father/son pair of nenes. We spent a very pleasant hour or so here.

I do think it is a bit overpriced at nearly $50 for our family of four.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Kula botanical gardens said they had over 90 varieties of protea flowers there, and they didn't disappoint. So many different varieties of the rare and amazing flower. Definitely go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Noah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nature and you as one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed walking throughout the entire garden area. The drive itself from Lahaina area was long but view going up mountain was enjoyable for me. The front person was very personable, nice and answered my question about the garden. Walking through the Garden can be easily done in 30 min if you are walking through peeking or can take up to 2 hours if you are fascinated by the plants. I did see many photographers coming in -- camera equipment packed (tripods, multiple lenses) -- if you are into taking pictures of still life this is the place to capture some great photos. The walk is very peaceful. Go early in the morning before people start to get there to maximize the peaceful serenity you will get.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pnothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Kula Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing