We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this place, don't even waste your gas money.”
Review of MauiWine

MauiWine
Book In Advance
More Info
$210.00*
and up
Private Hana Adventure
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ulupalakua is home to MauiWine which offers one of the Islands' most enticing products - wines that carry the essence of Hawai'i, the spirit of Maui. MauiWine welcomes you to taste the fruit of the island in wines made from their 23 acre vineyard on the slopes of Haleakala, as well as the tropical wines made from the famed Maui Gold pineapples - all grown right here in Upcountry Maui. Visitors to MauiWine gather in the tasting room located in the King's Cottage, built in 1874 specifically for the celebrated visits of King Kalakaua, last reigning King of Hawai'i. Guests are invited to follow in the footsteps of Ali'i (royalty) and Paniolo (cowboys) on a guided tour of the historical grounds. A journey into Ulupalakua's illustrious past, a tour of the Makee estate, and a glimpse at the creation of Maui wines are all a part of the experience. Welcome to Ulupalakua... where the storied history blends with modern day agriculture, creating the perfect setting for the islands only winery and vineyard. Time Well Spent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Skip this place, don't even waste your gas money.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

VERY very small. They shuffle you through like it's a cattle call. Did not stay for the tour as I was not impressed, and I know all about wine making to begin with. They give you two flight options to taste from. All but one sucked big time. The passion fruit was decent. I would not go as far as to say it was great. But decent. The stewards did not seem to know much, they acted as if they were reading from a pre-scripted note card on each wine.They lacked the education to do their job. They had a small gift shop with some wine accessories. Basically I find it to be a good stop on the way to Hana or the way back for a pee break. If you do happen to enjoy their wine, do not waste the gas and drive all the way out there. Pick it up at an ABC store and save yourself the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltandpepper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    219
    114
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alaska
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'll Skip It Next Trip...”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If your just in search of a winery and don't concern yourself with the wine.... make the trek. Otherwise, save the gas, pick out a nice bottle at the ABC store and enjoy it on the beach - money far better spent.
The grounds are disappointing as vineyards go, wine is questionable at best and the facility is very small and un-appealing.
The wine steward's were knowledgeable but unprofessional. Overall all it just felt like you were being hustled through a tourist trap rather then enjoying a local crafted wine...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom_2_the_4th_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our last stop of the day”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our last stop on our day trip taking "The Road to Hana" tour. Nice stop after all the amazing sights, curves, and bumps. Everyone is given a taste of the pineapple wine to start. You are then given two more taste, sweeter or dryer. I personally am not a wine drinker so I can't tell how nice the wine is. My friend really liked the wines. They did have a handfull of items for sale. Small place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great place for a visit during a drive through the mountains”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The winery offers spectacular views of the local area form atop the mountain. There was the opportunity to taste the wines but not buy to drink onsite which was a shame.As we were cruise ship passengers we couldn't purchase the wine to tkae back and they do ship but only to the US.
Saying that, it was a lovely stop off on our tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank umberstmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great day trip, and wine's not bad either.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The trip up the mountain is a grat side trip. Nowhere near as winding as Hana Road. The views are grat and a nice bit of island history. Seems the history tour is a bit of hit or miss. We got there for the tour. Our tour guide was really nice and knowledgeable, about the ranch/winery and wines.
Really well worth the drive (not that hard). We tasted several of the wines and some better than others but not bad overall go for the views (on a clear day) for a bit of history and add a bit of wine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ht4cae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MauiWine also viewed

 

Been to MauiWine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing