We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing drive out in the country!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MauiWine

MauiWine
Book In Advance
More Info
$330.00*
and up
Private Hana Adventure
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ulupalakua is home to MauiWine which offers one of the Islands' most enticing products - wines that carry the essence of Hawai'i, the spirit of Maui. MauiWine welcomes you to taste the fruit of the island in wines made from their 23 acre vineyard on the slopes of Haleakala, as well as the tropical wines made from the famed Maui Gold pineapples - all grown right here in Upcountry Maui. Visitors to MauiWine gather in the tasting room located in the King's Cottage, built in 1874 specifically for the celebrated visits of King Kalakaua, last reigning King of Hawai'i. Guests are invited to follow in the footsteps of Ali'i (royalty) and Paniolo (cowboys) on a guided tour of the historical grounds. A journey into Ulupalakua's illustrious past, a tour of the Makee estate, and a glimpse at the creation of Maui wines are all a part of the experience. Welcome to Ulupalakua... where the storied history blends with modern day agriculture, creating the perfect setting for the islands only winery and vineyard. Time Well Spent
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing drive out in the country!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The winery is in the upcountry and you must know where you are going to get there. It was interesting, and there were a few tastings. The wine is really good, and we brought a bottle of sparkling wine home for the New Year. The trees out front are beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    211
    112
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good wine and Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Way upcountry is the Tedeschi Winery. The view on the journey is beautiful as are the old trees of this ranch. The tasting room and gift shop is housed in a nice old restored building. The tasting room was a bit small, but the people working the counter were very knowledgable and personable. The 3 or 4 wines available to taste were unique. I am not much of a wine person, but had heard good things and would recommend stopping in if you are in the area.
The small gift shop area had lots of made in Hawaii items, both food, fudge and of course wine, and other items such as pictures, hand painted wine glasses and tea towels.
Restrooms are located in another building and the grounds are very pretty to wander around and stretch your legs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelizgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“At least they have restrooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wine tasting pretty limited and not particularly good. Regimented in and out unless you want to buy something. And I didn't see anything I'd want to buy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ok for an Island,don't expect Napa!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Great stop after going the backway from Hana.Dont expect a top notch winery on an Island....this is not Napa.The wine tasting is free and small, and the dessert wine is FANTASTIC ....if you live here & don't want to ship...buy bottle of the dessert wine...

Helpful?
Thank Chris1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine and Wine Tour is Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I drove to the Winery from Kihea. We didn't know what to expect so we packed some sandwiches in the morning and drove off to the winery. No need for sandwich's there is a great place for food across the street. The winery tour was outstanding, learned a lot about the history of MAui agriculture and cattle raching plus wine making. Relly enjoy the tour guide, she was great. The wine was very good we bought 2 bottles to drink while on vacation and had them ship some home for us latter. Then we drove down the road a bit to the 7 pools.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Traveler_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MauiWine also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to MauiWine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing