We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavender Bliss!”

Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Tasting the Best of Maui Farm Tour
More Info
$171.11*
and up
Haleakala Sunset Tour and Dinner on Maui
More Info
$259.99*
and up
Haleakala Bike and Zipline Adventure on Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Kula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lavender Bliss!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Unless you are avidly opposed to the smell or taste of lavender, you'll love this place. Walking the grounds is really great. they have a plentitude of knick-knacks like neon painted chairs and a Buddha tree in addition to a variety of pretty flowers and plants, including but not at all limited to lavender. No ridiculous crowds when we were there like a lot of Maui attractions either. Don't bother paying even more for the tour, you can just walk around and see what is to be seen for free.

They offer a huge range of lavender products, each one super potent. From lotions to honey to my favorite, lavender lemonade (so good!). The price is about on par with what you'd expect farm fresh flower products to be. I bought a large satchet of fresh lavender for (I think) $14, which is plenty for making my own lemonade, flavoring my seafood, and SMOKING. Yes, you can smoke lavender. It gives a feeling of peace and joy, it's actually quite good. You can also make it into a tea for the same effect.

One thing to note, I would not visit if it was rainy unless you have 4WD. The parking lot is not a lot, it's all a mountain/hill, and its dirt, so you'd totally risk sliding in the mud if the rain got heavy.

Worth the trek if you're going into upcountry, fosho.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aregenerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    315
    142
    42
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a Trap!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

First, the charge you $3 a person, not car, per person. Well, now they've got you so you might as well look around. The map fools you into thinking this is a lavender farm, well, they have lavender but mostly they have open field with weeds. If you wander into the gift shop, lock down your wallet because the prices for everything is high even for Maui. The scone was good but not much lavender in it. The lavender lemonade was lemonade with a "hint" of lavender in it. Lastly, its perched on the side of Haleakala so you get more hiking then you were planning for so just avoid this place and go pet the goats and get some great cheese over at the Surfing Goat Dairy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are looking for something different to do in Maui, I highly recommend this farm. It was a drive from where we were staying in West Maui, but totally worth it. It can be a little chilly due to the elevation, so bring a light sweater/jacket if you are like me and get cold easy. Our family took the guided tour of the farm ($10.00/person) so the entrance fee was waived. The tour was very educational and the guide gave us many different stems of flowers and plants from the farm--different species of lavender and other plants. One of my favorites was the mint chocolate smelling geraniums. The lavender scones from the gift shop are amazing! Would definitely recommend for couples and families with older children. Would not recommend to those with ambulation issues or in wheelchairs as the farm is on the side of the hill and there are some steep walkways and uneven ground

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lavender Delight”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten path, but delightful. One is greeted at the entrance by a gentleman who collects a nominal entrance fee ($3.00 per person - I am not understanding the writer who complained about this) and hands you a sprig of lavender. We ventured to this destination after leaving the winery, so if you are a traveler looking for another sight while en route to or from the winery, this is a short detour. The garden is delightful with tasteful splashes of lavender painted hand railings. There are also quaint benches and seating throughout the garden if one wants to rest or simply enjoy the scenery.There are sensational views. I did not find the gift shop any more pricey than any speciality shop in Maui.

Common sense would dictate that small children would be bored, as well as those who do not have an interest in plants, flowers or lavender. I say include it with your trip to the winery, you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ergamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and interesting place”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wasn't sure exactly what to expect from a lavender farm, but it was interesting and had beautiful views of all around Maui. It is definitely worth the small fee to visit. It is at 4000' so bring a light jacket if you get cold easily.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm also viewed

 

Been to Ali'i Kula Lavender Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing