We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and good food”
Review of Kula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kula Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kula
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has a fantastic location, and the view is well worth it to spend some time here. Eric (our waiter) was very friendly and very helpful. Food was really good and the prices are acceptable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank letusenjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    38
    18
    24
See reviews for
48
109
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stopped here as we were traversing the volcano - and the views are breathtaking. Every table has a fantastic view, and the food was quite good. It sits at around 3,000 feet so they had a fire going as we walked inside -- a nice change from the beach scene. The gardens surrounding the property are beautiful and we saw some plants we've never seen before. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTRIPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

So my room was clean, but old. I stayed here for easy access to the crater, which I got.

No air- the room was unapproachable during the day, like sitting in an oven. It cooled off really well at night and was almost chilly in the morning, but don't expect to be in your room before sundown.

No view - I'm 3500 feet above sea level and all I can see is a parking lot and trees?! Come on!

Pricey food, and they are a monopoly - They've got the only restaurant for 25 minutes out. Expect to lose weight, either in your tummy or your back pocket.

I wish I would have booked at a B&b in Haiku or Makawao. More food, better scene, still close to the crater (about 20 min from Kula lodge.)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I think most of these reviews are in the wrong place. They're for the restaurant, not the hotel. Anyway, if you want a place to stay the night before driving up to the sunrise this is the place. It's less than a mile from the park entrance. The little chalets are more woodsy than island/beachy. If you have kids they would probably like the loft, but wouldn't like that there's no television. There's nothing wrong with the rooms and the price is pretty reasonable for Maui. One big drawback is the early morning noise. All those folks coming back down the mountain after sunrise stop here for breakfast.I just wanted to go back to bed. Lots of slamming car doors. But I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast in the lodge. The food was very good especially the eggs Benedict and pancakes. It has a lovely atmosphere and a beautiful garden. Can't comment on the view as it was drizzling but should be good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank warwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Maybe for up-country Maui this is ok, but compared to overall Maui restaurants, Kula Lodge is really if you're passing by or golfing in the area maybe. Their food is very average, except pizzas are pretty good. View is great. Service was ok, it was dead and waitress could have been more attentive. Pricing is fair. Overall menu is very limited. For my personal tastes Kula Lodge is a hole-in-the-wall decent run place but not what you think of for Maui food and hospitality by any means. Probably won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Erik4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Second stay at Haleakala. Lovely food and good location for an early start to see the Haleakala sunrise. The room smelled a little musty. Nice store / gift shop on the premises.
The dinner was delicious, servers attentive. Nice to be able to return for breakfast after the crater trip.
We had unit 2 and a small unit by the store which was also lovely. Unit one has the nicest view.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 40ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
20.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
11.9 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,061 reviews
10.3 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
7.9 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula Lodge

Property: Kula Lodge
Address: 15200 Haleakala Hwy, Kula, Maui, HI 96790-8007
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kula Hotel Kula
Kula Lodge Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing