We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kula Sandalwoods Inn & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kula
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great choice”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

we spent one night in one of the cottage and we loved everything: it was quiet, the view was amazing, the cottage was very clean and comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly (and we were the only guests as they were closing for vacations), we had a very good breakfast, we could have spent more nights here if we didnt have to catch our flight!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, CT
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We didn't stay at the Kula Sandalwoods Inn, but we ate at the cafe on our way back from watching the sunrise at the top of Haleakala. The views from the outdoor dining area were great, the air was crisp, the owner was friendly, and the food was amazing. I'm not really a breakfast person, but just the presentation and the smells made my mouth water. My husband and I would recommend eating at this cafe to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elogan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. Great view. Great brunch at the restaurant.

However, there was no heater in our room. No internet access.

Good overall.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at this Inn frequently over the past five years. This little hillside cottage Inn is my choice when on Maui. It is far from the resort area crowds, yet only 20 minutes to the beach. On this trip, I brought the whole family and we stayed in two of the cottages. The rates were very reasonable at under $135/night. What a perfect vacation. The kids are still talking. Our experience from check-in to check-out was seamless. The staff truly embodies the “aloha spirit”; friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable; and consistent with my previous stays. The cottages are spotless, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The furnishings are high-end resort, but there is nothing snobby about this place. I call it simple, but elegant. The cottages feature art by local artists and fresh cut protea flowers that are grown on the property. A local Hawaiian legend is displayed in the cottage, which we all found to be fascinating and educational. The cottages promote an local island flavor. Step outside the balcony door, and you will have a smashing view of the west Maui mountains, central Maui and several beaches. We had the best unobstructed view of sunset every evening. The location is great for all of the outdoor activities upcountry Maui has to offer : horseback riding, hiking, Haleakala National Park. You won’t be in a rush to see the sunrise, as it is only a short 45 minutes to the summit from here. This Inn is a place to get away from it all. Peaceful, wide-open spaces and fresh crisp air. We’ll be back!


Firefighter M

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank capete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

The hillside location is a gem, but this ancient accomodation will disappoint you. If your needs are VERY basic, and you wear earplugs at night, you might wake up happy. On the other hand, I woke up numerous times, trying to ignore barking dogs. Of all of the places that my husband and I stayed on our vacation to 3 islands, the Kula Sandalwoods was our least liked. Needless to say, I am quite suspicious of the 100% positive review below. I don't see how it is possible that we stayed in the same Inn. Folks, don't say I didn't warn you. Spend your $159 elsewhere.

  • Liked — Closer to National Park
  • Disliked — Interrupted sleep due to barking dogs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
9.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
10.2 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
20.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
6.8 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kula Sandalwoods Inn & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula Sandalwoods Inn & Cafe

Property: Kula Sandalwoods Inn & Cafe
Address: 15427 Haleakala Hwy, (Highway 377), Kula, Maui, HI 96790-8009
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kula
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kula Sandalwoods Inn & Cafe Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing