We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip - Early Morning Tour”

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling. With two snorkel trips daily to both Molokini and Turtle Town, Whale Watching Tours (late December through April) and romantic Sunset Champagne Sail three days a week, Kai Kanani is sure to make your vacation very memorable. Snorkel equipment, instruction, and select food/drinks are included in all snorkel tours. We have marine naturalists on-board, so you can learn more about all of the fascinating underwater life you see! We even have GoPro4 cameras available for rent on-board so you can capture all of the amazing memories you make. Staying in Wailea? Kai Kanani offers free Mercedes shuttle service from select Wailea Resorts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Trip - Early Morning Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked the early morning (630AM) tour with our hotel and drove to the pickup spot. The guys on board were very helpful and there were lots of refreshments. The trip was good, and we saw lots of fish and turtles. Returning around 9AM this was just the right amount of time for the tour, and we could enjoy the rest of our day. There were approx. 20 people on our trip!

Note: The hotel where you park is valet only, so be sure to bring some cash for a tip (we didn't).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGuy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    122
    31
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We just loved our sunset cocktail cruise! The crew was fantastic - laid-back, friendly and they did everything they could to make our cruise a memorable experience. This cruise leaves from the Makena Beach resort, which is just a few minute drive from the Wailea resorts. The only warning I have is that you board from the beach - you will get a little (to a lot) wet boarding! And depending on the surf that day, it can be a little rough.

The appetizers were nice and the open bar even nicer! We will take this cruise again when we return to Maui!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Sailing Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We sailed on the Kai Kanani snorkler cruise for our honeymoon in October. Didn't see many fish, but the staff were very lovely and kept the Mai Tai pumping. Equipment was great and happy to help out, lots of floating equipment available if needed. Didn't get to swim with any turtles but my partner saw a few. Great trip to do in Maui would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tegangosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Kai Kanani II maui cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Thank you to everybody on the Kai Kanani II, the crew were so cool and friendly, Food was awesome and visibility in the Molokini cater was perfect, Cheers!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Molokini Snorkeling Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We did the 4-hour Molokini/Turtle-town snorkel trip.
First, I've read that most snorkeling trip crew try and sell you merchandise, etc. (which we felt would've detracted from our experience), and there was NONE of that with the Kai Kanani crew.
The crew was fantastic, very knowledgeable and bent over back backwards to make it a fun and relaxing trip for each passenger. Importantly, the captain adapted the itinerary to the circumstances of the day:
- When he heard from another boat's captain that there was a group of 40-50 spinner dolphins 1/2 mile from Molokini, that's where we went, and watching this huge group of dolphins ride the surf of our hulls, jump out of the water and even mating, all right beside our boat, was amazing!
- When the crew noticed that the water in the 'turtle town' snorkeling area was murky (read: unsafe), we saw some turtles from the boat but wisely did not stick around to snorkel there, which left us more time to snorkel in the pristine waters of Molokini.
And of course, the snorkeling at Molokini was beautiful, as expected.
The boat is beautiful and seemingly very new, launching from Makena gives you that much more time at Molokini rather than schlepping back to Ma'alaea like all others, deli food is decent, beers and mai tais always nice, but for us the crew was what makes the Kai Kanani stand out. My wife and I couldn't recommend them more highly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WillT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Kanani Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Kai Kanani Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing