We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling. With two snorkel trips daily to both Molokini and Turtle Town, Whale Watching Tours (late December through April) and romantic Sunset Champagne Sail three days a week, Kai Kanani is sure to make your vacation very memorable. Snorkel equipment, instruction, and select food/drinks are included in all snorkel tours. We have marine naturalists on-board, so you can learn more about all of the fascinating underwater life you see! We even have GoPro4 cameras available for rent on-board so you can capture all of the amazing memories you make. Staying in Wailea? Kai Kanani offers free Mercedes shuttle service from select Wailea Resorts.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our 4th time sailing on the Kai Kanani, most recently on the Molokini Express snorkel tour. The catamaran was smooth sailing and very comfortable, but the staff was the best part! They were lots of fun and very informative. We had plenty of time snorkeling Molokini and Turtle Town. When you take the earlier tour, you almost have Molokini all to yourselves as there are not many other tours there at that hour. We will continue to come back!! Thank you to the crew at Kai Kanani for a wonderful adventure!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ME M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    126
    31
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great snorkel trip”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We did the 6am 'Molokini Express' tour and I would definitely recommend it. The boat is modern, clean and comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast is very good, and the staff are professional, and very friendly and a lot of fun. There is always a couple of the crew in the water, helping the snorkelers spot fish/turtles, and they are very good with reassuring nervous passengers! I'd definitely recommend this company.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had such a wonderful time on the Sunset Champagne Cruise. The combination of the perfect weather, crew, and fellow passengers made for a very enjoyable experience. We will be back to Makena Beach again and will definitely make this a part of our itinerary. Thank you again for a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul N Marietta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunset cruise”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing better than this company's product. Staff , food , boat . All is perfect.
We highly recommend. Very convenient location as well .

Helpful?
Thank crercuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First class all the way”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I did the sunset cruise one night and then her entire family (including her 80 year old mom) went on the deluxe snorkel tour a few days later. The sunset cruise was fabulous, we sailed for much of it, enjoyed live music, and the piña coladas were excellent!

On the snorkel, the staff went out of their way to accompany my girlfriend's mom, leading her around with a boogie board and giving her an amazing experience. As for the rest of us, it was fabulous. The boat was full, but it didn't feel overly crowded. The food was great, the staff was entertaining and the snorkeling was out of this world. Molokini was amazing, and on our way back we were joined by some bottle nosed dolphins! They swam with the boat for about 5 minutes and were amazing to see. We saw a few turtles at the second stop, as well as an octopus and a manta ray.

We were sufficiently blown away and every one of us (10 of us from 18-80) had a blast. If you are already in Kehei, they launch just south of you and the parking is free! First class outfit. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Kanani Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Kai Kanani Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing