We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun in the sun”

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling. With two snorkel trips daily to both Molokini and Turtle Town, Whale Watching Tours (late December through April) and romantic Sunset Champagne Sail three days a week, Kai Kanani is sure to make your vacation very memorable. Snorkel equipment, instruction, and select food/drinks are included in all snorkel tours. We have marine naturalists on-board, so you can learn more about all of the fascinating underwater life you see! We even have GoPro4 cameras available for rent on-board so you can capture all of the amazing memories you make. Staying in Wailea? Kai Kanani offers free Mercedes shuttle service from select Wailea Resorts.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went on the 8am 2 hr boat trip to Molokini crater. Fantastic crew, great snorkeling and then on to "Turtle Town" and swam with 3 different turtles. One of them played around the reef and the sound of it taking in air on the surface looking straight at us was amazing. The boat was not huge and so you don't feel crowded, the crew know their stuff and the equipment and boat were spotless.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KateandPaulPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    122
    31
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sailing with wonderful, fun crew, be careful of getting on board/exciting boat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved boating with this group. We were able to see a few whales, and a beautiful sunset. Crew were wonderful, attentive and fun to be around. Complimentary alcohol made most quite happy. (try the pog/champagne combo, quite delicious). Problem was getting off the boat at the beach. The boat backs close to the beach and you have to wade in the water to get to the boat. Problem was exiting. A huge wave hit both of us on exiting, and my friend and I both got our feet slammed into the ladder. She was picked up by crewman who prevented her from being dunked (thanks to some quick reflexes on his part) Fortunately, doesn't appear to have any broken bones but friend has badly bruised ankle.

Helpful?
2 Thank heatherbrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Molokini Express Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is by far the best snorkel trip I have ever been on (been on quite a few!), the boat crew were excellent. It was a very early start on the 6am express tour but definitely worth it as there was nobody else at the crater while we were there. All of the snorkel equipment was excellent and the staff were so helpful. We also stopped off to swim with sea turtles which was an amazing experience. Would definitely recommend this company.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Snorkel Molokini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I sailed to Molokini with Kai Kanani Charters on their early morning cruise. Boarding the boat from the shore was a really cool experience. Once on-board we had pastries, fruit, juice, and coffee/tea to munch on while we sailed to the crater. We were able to go all over the boat and enjoy the early morning. The captain sailed around Molokini so that we got to see sunrise twice. Once in the water the guides were very helpful, pointing out fish and other animals. My wife enjoyed having the board to float with. The coolest experience was seeing a white tip reef shark, cross that off my bucket list. I would highly recommend the early morning cruise and Kai Kanani is a great group.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely will be repeat customer on our next trip...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went on a whale watching tour...unfortunately, we only saw a couple of whales. (in fact, we saw more whales while standing on the beach a few days later) But we also saw several turtles as well. It was just nice to be out on the boat on such a nice day that it really didn't matter to us. It was a very small group of people, so it made the tour even better. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable.
Next time we are in Maui, we will take the snorkelling trip with this group, as they even have great experience with young children snorkelling (Farrell explained to me how she helps the young ones on the snorkelling trip, and usually has them in the water fairly quickly), and with the care and attention they gave us on the the whale tour, I wouldn't hesitate to book with them again. Avoid the cheaper tours, you only get what you pay for!!
Also, use their transportation service that they provide if you are staying in the Wailea area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2PrincessesandaFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Kanani Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Kai Kanani Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing