We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 2207 Maui Vista Resort”
Review of Maui Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maui Vista Resort
Ranked #21 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I booked this condo and we also had family staying on the third floor in two separate condos. The positives are that the condo is one easy block to the Charlie Young beach which is amazing. It is close to Foodland and the ABC for easy shopping and walking distance to Fred's and Moose Macgillicuddy's (both of which are good restaurants). The air conditioning worked well in the living room and there are ceiling fans in the living room and bedroom so temperature wise we were good. The air conditioner was not too loud which other units say they had problems with. The dishwasher was relatively new and it worked really well and no problems with the washer or dryer. We had all the utensils to cook including pots and pans plus lots of dishes and cutlery, coffee maker plus some great beach chairs, tennis rackets and beach towels. This particular condo was clean although very outdated. The plug-ins are old and the vacuum cord kept falling out of the plug. The sinks and tub are tired and stained as is the furniture. The tv is an old style small tv but since we were out this wasn't really an issue. My grandsons stayed overnight on several occasions and the pull-out couch has a very thin mattress and was not comfortable - the pillows kept sliding into the couch. I was disappointed overall with the price we paid in comparison to other units and would choose to stay somewhere else on my next trip to Maui.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Jan's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Maui Condo, Vacation Rental Management company at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Maui Vista. I apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. This property does not have air conditioning in all of the units, but there is usually at least a breeze here on Maui. You did not state your unit or who you booked with and it is a shame that you had such a negative experience in the unit you stayed in. Our website features all of our units with photos and descriptions so guests know exactly what they are getting. It is better to know what your accommodations are going to be like before you arrive. I will investigate further about the pool being crammed and parts of the property being off limits because I have not had those complaints before. I hope you took advantage of Charlie Young beach just across the street and the shopping and restaurants nearby. If you need assistance with planning your next trip to Maui our agents will be more than happy to help you.
Mahalo,
Marina
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 312 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Read previous reviews and our first stay at this location. I don't think I would recommend it and not very family or tourist welcoming. First of all the condo we where in had no breeze and it was hella hot. Needed AC but didn't and it was run down. The whole place reminded me of my college years and dorm life. They don't let you use certain areas and everyone crammed into the pool next to the road and some residents are friendly and some are not. I would not recommend this place even if the condo we got was crappy no Aloha feeling here. Will never come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heckya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed at the Maui Vista for the past 4 years in three different units. The Maui Vista is a great location in Kihei, walking distance to a grocery store, many restaurants and one of the best beaches in the area.

We have always rented from a professional rental agency in the past, this year we rented directly from the owner of unit 2322, VRBO and HomeAway 62192. After arriving we noticed that the kitchen sink drained slowly, found an almost empty gallon container of drain cleaner in bathroom, put some in the kitchen drain, it didn't help. We called the on island representative to report the drain because the Maui Vista has a lot of plumbing problems and wanted to alert them before it could cause a flood as the dishwasher had backed up into the kitchen sink. We got a call back 10 hours later blaming us for the plumbing problem by one of the rudest people we have ever spoken to. They kept our security deposit to pay for their lack of proper drain maintenance. There were also live cockroaches in the kitchen something we have not witnessed in other units of the Maui Vista, again lack of maintenance. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the linens were old and worn.

There are many other units to rent at the Maui Vista through a professional rental agency. Give this one a pass, no Aloha Spirit here you don't need this on your vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank met12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Unit 3-117 - perfect. Just as shown in pics- will definitely come back. Few minute walk to Charlie young beach, 10 min walking distance to a surf and paddle board rentals, restaurants and local bars. Perfect location to get to anywhere on Maui.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela151015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spend 11 wonderful nights at Maui Vista #1201. Walk down 1 flight of stairs and you are at the swimming pool and across the street is the beach. A great location. Looking forward to sending more time there. A very clean unit with everything furnished, even beach chairs, umbrellas, noodles, snorkel mask and fins. There is even an outdoor BBQ area with gas grills for your use. The California king size bed was so comfortable with the gentle ocean breezes and aroma of flowers coming in through the windows. No need for A/C.

Room Tip: Try for building #1 as it's closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaOrlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This recently renovated condo on the beach/street side of the complex has a lot of good points. It is comfortable and well equipped. The owner lives nearby and is available for any question or problem you may have.
As for the complex itself, the tennis courts are excellent as is the proximity to the beach accross the street. There are 3 pools on site and 6 courts. There is also a vending machine room with a used book exchange which is a great asset.
The only thing weird about the complex is the over-zealous rules of what you cannot do. Smoking is permitted only in small areas in the middle of the parking lots. Parking can sometimes be difficult in the evenings. Residents and short-term guests often clash as the residents seem to detest the fact that some units (the majority) are let on short-term leases.
Plumbing can also pose some problems with slow drains, washing machine overflows etc. Overall, it is a great complex though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank American-in-Paris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice condo in a great location walking distance to beaches shopping and restaurants. Condo is clean and has a nice bathroom and shower. Has 2 beach chairs and a cooler to use plus several beach towels. There is a small ac in living room that is loud and not in a good location however there is an oscillating floor fan you can move around that helps to cool things in the evenings. No ceiling fan in the living room. For the price this is a great place to stay and was able to get late check out for $25. Would definitely recommend this unit to a friend. This was booked through Maui condo and car and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texasstar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#12 of 60 in Kihei
972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Vista Resort

Address: 2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8627
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $208 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Vista is for all visitors. Located right across the street from several crystal clear beaches with warm water and sand. We offer one and two bedroom condos with individual lanai's overlooking garden or partial ocean views. Each room including a full kitchen. We have amenities such as pools, tennis courts and BBQ areas. Come relax and enjoy Maui Vista Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Vista Hotel Kihei
Maui Vista Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing