We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Vista 3415”
Review of Maui Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Vista Resort
Ranked #25 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
North Battleford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maui Vista 3415”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Maui Vista 3415 - this was the worst part of our whole stay in Maui. This condo is old and outdated but I could handle that if it had been clean! Where to start?? Living Room - dirty old carpet, needed to be vacuumed when we arrived. Couch was stained and full of dirt and dust in the cracks and underneath. Kitchen - Very few necessities, needs more pots, pans, bowls etc. Ants crawling all over the kitchen counters. Washer/Dryer- was full of wet stinky towels when we arrived. We had to go out and purchase towels on our first day. Main Bathroom - Dust filled vents and vanity. 1 roll of toilet paper. Upstairs Bathroom - Shower with only hot water. Cold tap doesn't turn on. Screen Door to the Lanai - torn and doesn't slide well. Cosmetically - this place needs some updating. Carpet, paint, get rid of the ugly plastic flowers, get rid of the VCR. Lots of the other condos are stocked with beach chairs, snorkel gear, coolers etc - none of these items are supplied here.

This is not the case with all condos at the Maui vista. We had friends staying as well, so we were able to check out 4 other units in the complex and they obviously have owners that care.
Talking with some of the regulars at the Maui Vista - the owner of this building is never around and obviously doesn't care and just in it for the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heebs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    94
    46
    28
    29
See reviews for
84
95
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Maui Vista 3106. Old and outdated but we are okay with that as long as it's clean. This condo is dirty, dirty, dirty. We were truly disappointed. You open the door and enter to a stench of an unknown odor that fills the air. The carpet is in dire need of a really good steam cleaning (even better if removed). Where the "tile" trim meets the floor tiles there is a 1/4" inch border of dirt/dust. A two toned bathtub which is not the norm since the color was once white but the bottom in particular is now so discolored it is a grunge yellowish brown. A good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint would do wonders for this condo.

Not to only name the negatives we would also like to share some of the positives. On the upside the service received when booking and on arrival were fantastic. The grounds are well maintained. Smaller quaint area with 3 buildings, 3 smaller pools, and 2 BBQ's per building complex. We had a small tub drain issue which was looked after immediately. The wifi and washer and dryer in the condo were added bonuses. Being on the ground floor in building 3, it was a quiet convenient location for the pool and parking lot (when lugging beach chairs, luggage, and groceries). The lanai's are larger in the ground floor units. Condo was fully equipped for the beach including chairs, coolers, umbrella, etc.. Fantastic! The central island location is convenient for venturing in many directions on day trips. There is not much of the island we did not travel too. The Maui Vista is also within walking distance to an assortment of beaches, parks, shopping, and restaurants. A clean condo and our trip as a whole would have been rated a 5.

These condo's are individually owned so they are all different in cleanliness and furnishings. Do your homework and try to stay away from condo's with carpet. Carpet and humidity are not a good combination. If you are big walkers like we are you will most likely really enjoy this location.

We also booked our car rental through Discount Hawaii who hooked us up with Avis. Fantastic service at pickup and drop off and at a great price.

Karen and Dave

Room Tip: Individually owned so the prices range, furnishings, and cleanliness will vary. Pay close attention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreams4u1961Manitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kihei hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to Maui Vista with my wife and daughter January 4th until January 13th. We arrived late at the airport and yet we were greeted by the owner of the suite despite our late arrival. He quickly showed us around and how to access all of the amenities.

It is a beautiful place to stay as there are multiple barbecue grills, a small swimming pool, and lots of friendly guests all around the building. The room was very clean and the owner provides all the essentials plus goes above and beyond by including coupons and recommendations for restaurants and places for rentals for surfing and boogie boarding. The owner was fairly accommodating as well as he said that we can call him if we had any enquiries at anytime and he will look into them for us if he doesn't know the answer to that either.

Everything you could imagine was provided in the suite from a washer and dryer to a dishwasher to snorkeling gear to picnic equipment to lush towels. We were mere steps from Charlie young beach and it is beautiful there. As well in kKihei, it never rained 1 day while we were there. However when we traveled outside of our area it would rain as in torrential downpour.

Everyone speaks of how expensive it is in Hawaii but if you've been to Vancouver British Columbia you would see the prices are pretty much par for groceries. In Kihei it is a blend of residential and tourists living or staying there. So you get a nice blend of local shops and shops for tourists.

There is a great fish taco truck 2 blocks away from Maui Vista too and don't mistake this for the fish tacos restaurant because the truck that sells the chicken tacos shrimp tacos and the fish tacos are unbelievable. The price couldn't be better I paid 6 dollars for 3 tacos and I was full the rest of the evening. You can rent snorkel gear or you can buy a set for 7 dollars at the local grocery store one block down the road which is open 24-7.

Also in the suite there is wifi available, flat screen TV provided a somewhat comfortable bed and a nice sized fold out couch. As well there is air conditioning provided.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepeopleschamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had condo 1220, it was well equipped with all the things necessary for beach visits, snorkelling and shopping. The kitchen was well stocked with all the cutlery, food preparation items that one could want. The bed was supposed to be a queen but was probably more like a full judging by the gaps between it and the bed frame. Over all it was clean and comfortable but the carpeting under the bed could use a good vacuum. There was WIFI internet and a nice large TV with a DVD player and a selection of movies. It is located off the street so is quiet. A big plus is it is only 5 minutes to the beach which is one of the nicest in the area. It is also within walking distance to a vast array of shopping and eateries. There are also a number of sports fields and other sport venues located nearby. From a location point of view Maui Vista is very hard to beat. A big plus is also the concierge service which is provided free of charge. We took advantage of it and were absolutely delighted with the services provided as well as the information provided. This is not the Ritz, it is a nice place with all the basics. There was a pool with each unit, but we honestly didn't use the one for ours. Keep in mind you are in Maui and not spending a lot of time in your condo. When you are there it is comfortable and had everything we needed for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor or higher just for the privacy. There is a fast elevator and it is totally ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldcanukwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Roomy 2 bedroom condo in building 3, top floor. Newly renovated, had a few problems but were taken care of by the owners. Kitchen was well stocked and lots of beach toys, towels, cooler and chairs. Across the road from Charlie Young Beach, great for walking or just relaxing. Found the tennis courts to be a bit noisy as our bedroom was right about the tennis court. I think the grounds could be so beautiful if they got rid of at least one tennis court (just my personal opinion). The pool area well maintained and clean, just a little small for swimming lengths.
BBQ area always clean.
Free Wi-Fi and long distance calling to Canada and the US,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crusinldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Across from Charlie Young beach, which is fantastic for kids, the condo unit 1212 was fine. The condo was advertised as partial ocean view, located on the second floor, there is about 5inches of ocean view. Ocean view is for higher floors in building 1. The grounds were well kept and there is a pool and hot tub. Plenty of parking. If you are looking for a no-frills reasonable place to stay close to a beach, it works. Would recommend for singles, couples, and families.

Room Tip: Ask for unit specific details, to ensure your expectations are met. Each one is designed the same, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Booking through our travel agent, we got lucky and got a great place.
The condo was on the third floor, away from the road but facing the expanded horizon and gorgeous sunset views.
The room itself offered a fully equipped kitchen, wifi Internet and flat screen tv.
The one bedroom was at the back and with foliage nearby, the birds provided a free and pleasant wake up service every morning. A stress free way to wake up.
Parking was included with the place and easy to find.
The longest part of getting to the beach is having to traverse the length of the property. Super convenient.
Shopping is also nearby, with a 24hr Longs nearby, the prices there are much better than the Safeway on the way in from the airport.
Our second time here, and I would definitely recommend the Maui Vista.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank master072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.7 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#29 of 62 in Kihei
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
937 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
2.5 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Vista Resort

Property: Maui Vista Resort
Address: 2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8627
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Vista is for all visitors. Located right across the street from several crystal clear beaches with warm water and sand. We offer one and two bedroom condos with individual lanai's overlooking garden or partial ocean views. Each room including a full kitchen. We have amenities such as pools, tennis courts and BBQ areas. Come relax and enjoy Maui Vista Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Vista Hotel Kihei
Maui Vista Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing