We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving description, Adequate units, Bad customer service.”
Review of Aston Maui Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Maui Hill
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Our stay at Maui Hill ended up being somewhat disapointing, not only because of the overall state of the property and units, but because of the deceiving description and bad staff attitude. The problems started at check-in when it turned out that many ocean view units here don't have a decent ocean view. In fact many garden view units have the same view of the ocean as some of the ocean view units. At other properties these would be considered partial ocean views at best. We finally had to come to an agreement to pay the garden view instead of the ocean view rate.

What really bothered us, and the reason why we will not stay here again, was the attitude of most of the front desk staff, which we found very unpleasant because of their argumentative behaviour and sarcasm. We were told we shouldn't be complaining because we got a good rate (we booked direct though Maui Hill itself by the way). This was a surprise because the other ResortQuest-managed properties we stayed at (3 others during this stay) were all very helpful. Unfortunately, they just take customers for granted here. We were given wrong information several times (they would rather lie than say they don't know) and it just seems there's no communication between the different staff members.

The units (we saw 4 of them) were all looking rather dull, outdated and dark and had old appliances. On the positive side they were quite spacious and clean and HSIA was complimentary. Units have an air conditionner in each room but the one in the main bedroom is located just over the bed and was very noisy. We found it troublesome to sleep with it turned on. Finally the location isn't really desirable as the beaches are not at walking distance. Driving into town was very slow due to the horrendous traffic.

Luckily we split out stay on Maui in two, and stayed at the very nice ResortQuest Mahana at Kaanapali just before coming here. We had a nice relaxing time there and dedicated most of our time on the Kihei side of the island to doing the excursions and tours (such as the road to Maui, Haleakala, etc.). We read the Lahaina side was more busy but it turned out the beaches there felt less crowded and traffic was smoother. Lahaina has a real town center as opposed to the suburban feel of the Kihei area. If you are looking for a memorable Maui vacation, I would advise against staying here.

Property: 3/5 - Service: 1/5 - Cleanliness: 4/5 - Location: 2/5
Room: 3/5 - Amenities: 3/5 - Views: 2/5

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 651 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2007

This is absolutely the best kept secret in Maui. The setting was beautiful and quiet, all hotel personnel was helpful, and the condo was absolutely beautiful (clean, neat, and well appointed)
I would recommend this vacation spot to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vagabonPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Initial thoughts: Took me some time to decide what Condo style unit to pick for this Maui Trip. I decided to go with Maui Hill because of central location. It was perfect. Kihei seems to be the center point of maui along with the city near the airport. But you will find that Kihei gives you more of that beach city feeling. I was iffy about the ocean view because the rooms are not on the beach, but more on a hill facing the beach. You do get an ocean view, but just not as close as other complexes will have.

The Room: Since this is a condo unit, each one is individually owned. Each unit will have a different touch. But all the condo’s have the same layout. I reserved a one bedroom/one bath condo unit, but to my surprise when I walked inside the condo, I found out that I had two bedrooms and two bath condo!!!!! I thought they made a mistake in my booking but they didn’t. One bedroom was a master bedroom that was really spacious. The other room was a regular sized room with its own balcony. The master bedroom was connected to the main balcony which made it convenient to walk out in the balcony without going to the living room. The beds could have been a little more comfortable but after a whole day of just playing around at the beach or going shopping, you’ll fall asleep right away on the bed. Bathroom comes with a walk-in shower, which is my preference. The other bathroom comes with a tub.


The Grounds: The area of the hotel was well kept. The unit I had was right across from the main pool area.

The Service: Room service was provided everyday. They would come in early in the morning around 8 or so to change your towels or clean. If you don’t want service just put a sign on your door not to bother you. Check in was simple and fast. Check out was the same as well.

The Area: Maui Hill is located in Kihei, next to Wailea. Lahaina is about 30-35mins away. Airport is about 20mins away.

The Price: I booked a 6night/7day, flight/ oceanview condo / SUV (ALAMO) for $2400 for two people. Not bad considering this is peak time in Hawaii. I booked through Expedia.

The Conclusion: Overall, my stay at Maui Hill was an enjoyable one. Very roomy condo’s. Quiet grounds. Good Location. If I were going with a group (4 or more) I would recommend staying at Maui Hill. FREE PARKING too!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank TravelJunkie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

There were 7 of us staying 3 nights in a one bedroom & 2 bedroom units. They were accross from each other, so we were glad about that. When we walked into our unit, our mouths dropped open.....it was beautiful! Then we learmed that the upstaires was locked off to us, so we had ony the 2 bedroom....& very large lanai, so we were Ok with that. Us 6 women could do with that. We did have everything we needed....except the ocenview we booked. I don't think we could have even seen the ocean with binoculars!
Then the unit became scary when our un-wanted guest invited himself in....a very large cockroach!!! He tried to invite himeself to dinner that night....& I think he even came with his own luggage!!

We liked the pool area, we used the outdoor grills for dinner, we used the free breakfast & MaiTai Thursday. (Tho I have tasted better MaiTai's). Both were to get you to book activities thru them.

I thought Maui in general was a whole lot busier than 2yrs. ago when we spent a whole week there. It really could have been due tto Spring Break tho. I dreaded going out on the roads after noon everyday!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Wow! Our condo was GREAT. The kitchen was fully furnished with updated appliances. Full of dishware, glassware, cookware and utensils. The furnishings had a tropical theme. The living room had a new LCD TV and beautiful lanai. Each bedroom had a king-sized bed with a television set and each had it's own lanai. Two bathrooms for a family of five was perfect. And a washer and dryer! We had maid service so our condo was nice and fresh at the end of the day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Property wasn't on the beach but was within walking distance. We had excursions planned each day so it wasn't an issue. Quiet facility. Nice pool and whirlpool. Free towels for the beach days were a huge bonus. I would highly recommend ResortQuest Maui Hill.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LIndaT.Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

Our family of five stayed at Resort Quest Maui Hill from Jan. 31st -Feb. 9th. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, 2nd floor unit. Compared to the pictures on-line, ours was not the updated unit, but still very nice. The time-share unit below us had the updated furniture & TV’s. The garden view lanai had a big tree in the way but that just gave us more privacy. The lanai in the front had the view of Wailea & a bit of the ocean. The staff is very friendly, always had smiles. My boys felt very comfortable asking
for use of the golf clubs & tennis rackets for the putting range & courts. As for housekeeping the ladies were very nice, made our beds daily, left fresh towels and disposed of our garbage. The bathrooms were not cleaned often or the room vacuumed but we are pretty neat people. The kitchen came in handy since restaurant prices are high & we have picky eaters. There is a Safeway & Foodland nearby for groceries to stock up on. If you
do go close by to eat “Alexander’s” had great workers, great
deep fried fish & tender chicken teriyaki with rice. The Kihei market is nice but found many of the same items a tad cheaper in many of the strip malls along S. Kihei Rd. The pool is a nice area and the adjoining bathrooms were kept very clean. Mai Tai Thursday is a must if you enjoy cocktails, plus live music! The complimentary breakfast is basically get to know Maui. The lady seems to work with time-shares and arranges bookings for
activities. At times we found it cheaper to go directly to the source (like Boss Frog’s for snorkeling). Buyer beware…we also did that with a fishing charter from a pamphlet at the office. “Big Game Fishing Aboard UNREEL” was a complete misrepresentation. My husband asked the owner, "Killer" how many boats he ran, and was told that this was his only one. It was not at all the boat pictured. Also on the flier he said he supplies hot coffee, sodas, ice, and live bait. There was limited coffee, no soda, no live bait, and one cooler with old ice and some left-over beer from the previous days charter. "Killer" had no deck hand, we lost one engine approx. 2 hrs. into our voyage, with no mechanical attempt to get it re-started, the "head" quit working so we could only go #1in it. The only catch was my oldest son, and it appeared the captain ripped the hook out of the fishes mouth right beside the boat, instead of using a gaff. "Killer" seemed to be more involved chatting on his cell phone than trying to catch fish. Was a rather expensive "boat ride". Aside from that experience, we loved Maui & hope to visit again . Maui Hills would be a great choice to stay at.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KJ-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Maui Hill. We were 6 in a 2 bedroom, which was slightly crowded, but the condo and rooms were spacious, which made it very good. It is close enough to the beach to walk, but its easier to drive. We really enjoyed watching the sunset from our lanai. Not all rooms are ocean view however. The grounds and pool are excellent. The service is very good. There are TVs in all rooms and the broadband internet was a hit with the kids. The kitchen is small, but functional. The fridge has an icemaker, which helps a lot. They even had a some beach chairs and water toys (which looked like they were left over from previous visitors). No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 61 in Kihei
966 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 61 in Kihei
630 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Hill

Address: 2881 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9614 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $262 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great ocean views with warm aloha service. This private oasis, just minutes from the premier resort area of Wailea, offers extra-spacious condos with private lanais, and the amenities and activities of a hotel in a tropical setting. Golf, shops and dining nearby. A perfect alternative to more expensive Wailea super-resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Maui Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Hill Hotel Kihei
Maui Hill
Resortquest Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing