We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value!!”
Review of Aston Maui Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Maui Hill
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location and value!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed just one night, but it was a great vacation for us in a beautiful, peaceful setting with a wonderful view of the sunset.

We were in the one-bedroom, two-bathroom #35, which includes a large living room, huge lanai and a full kitchen. Our first impression was: Wow! This is really big.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the unit was very clean. There is a lot of attention to details, to the point where even the dinnerware and cooking utensils were neatly lined up in the drawers. And the grounds are also very well kept. There are many varieties of plants and the trees are trimmed to artful shapes.

But what we really liked was sitting on the lanai, sipping on glasses of cabernet sauvignon, enjoying the blue hues of the Pacific Ocean, listening to the birds calling to each other, and watching the sunset. What a wonderful prelude to dinner and the evening ahead.

We highly recommend the Maui Hill and will surely return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iskating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    190
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
285
162
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My family spent a week at the Maui Hill and it was great. The town of Kihei is great, a very laid back area with a lot of great beaches near by. The Maui Hill is on a hill away from the road so it is very peaceful and the views are fantastic. Dennis Costa, the manager, is great at his job. He was always reachable and we saw him working all the time. (Not at a desk but out and about!) The rest of the staff was great too. We had a light bulb go out and someone was there to replace it in less than 5 minutes. We were in #114, a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo with seven people and tons of room. The views were the best and we had an 180 degree ocean view from the front of the condo and mountain view at the back. Every room had a lanai. The main part of town is within walking distance so if some of your party wants to drive somewhere and others want to stick around, they won't be stranded at the condo. Traveling around the island was easy from this location as well. We were all so happy to be at the Maui Hill. It is not an over the top fancy place but it is very nice, the grounds and buildings are well maintained and it is a great place to relax!! Some times we found it hard to leave the grounds.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skatermom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

After many extended hours of searching for a place to stay with my family of 5 we decided on staying at the Maui Hill. We were not disappointed at all; the check in service was friendly, the grounds were spectacular; vehicles are safe.

We stayed in unit 6 (2 bdrm 2 bath), which was very spacious, has been partially upgraded (new carpets, countertops, etc). The unit was clean and comfortable with clean linens daily.
These condo's are in a quiet area of Kihei, it is at the South end close to Wailea, but nothing is very far. We drove to all the beachs which was no big deal; you could walk but with chairs, mats, toys, etc it was more convenient to drive.
Management was awesome - Dennis Costa definately looks after his customers. He checked when we arrived to make sure everything was to our satisfaction and again at the end of our trip.
Activities desk was also helpful - easy to book activities and with discounts.
The pool was great - the kids loved it, although it was a bit cold and a little tough to get in to start.
Parking is free.
We are definately planning on coming back and we are planning on booking the Maui Hill again.
Anyone planning a trip and are deciding on Maui Hill - one suggestion is to make sure you ask for a newly renovated room - maybe even email or call Maui Hill to ensure your request will be met....we did hear from others that their rooms were dated, etc. As the same goes for other condo's in the area - there are some beautiful suites and then there are some dumps all in the same building.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElectricGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

While in Maui this March, some friends and I checked out the Maui Hill for future reference, since some of us are RCI members. We were shocked and disappointed that the Maui Hill is rated a gold crown resort. The outside apprearance is nothing great since the buildings are designed in an outdated spanish style and are painted an unappealling yellow/beige colour. Also, the windows have thick, ugly framed screens on them. We asked to see a unit that rents through timeshare and we were shown one near the back of the complex. The outdoor hallway leading to the unit was carpeted in a worn, beige, astro turf type of material. The same material was also on the deck of the lanai. When we walked in the unit, all four of us had the same thought, "dark and dingey". It was clean and quite spacious, but very dark and outdated. The same screens I'de noticed on the outside of the buildings were responsible for obscuring a lot of light (and just generally looked ugly). Also, the unit looked out onto trees and was therefore quite shaded. Even if the unit had more natural light, the walls were painted a dull beige and the carpeting was dark and worn. The landscaping was very basic and most of the grounds were covered in course grass with patches of earth showing through here and there. The pool setting I must say was really nice and the staff that we dealt with were very friendly When I got back home, I checked the reviews and was shocked that so many people gave it high ratings, especially since the pictures on the internet portray a much brighter, more modern and more appealing place than in real life. I'm not saying it is unacceptable, but compared to the standard one expects for a gold crown facility and compared to many other resorts and complexes in Kihei, the Maui Hill got a big thumbs down from me and my friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank timeshareperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHLManagement, Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Aloha “timeshareperson”,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Maui Hill Resort. It’s is very unfortunate that the Maui Lea Timeshare Model unit was not available for you to look at during your visit to our property. I’m sure that seeing that unit would have left you with a different impression of our resort. I’m pleased to inform you that all Maui Lea Timeshare units on the property have been scheduled for a complete kitchen and bathroom remodel, to date two units have already been completed and the rest will be done over the next year or so. The Maui Lea Timeshare association is constantly working on upgrade plans and I’m sure the kitchen and bath remodel is just the beginning. In addition the Maui Hill home owners association are also very involved and are always looking for and planning future improvements to the resort. Since receiving our Gold Crown status back in 1994 we have consistently received very favorable feedback from our guests occupying the timeshare units, I’m sorry that you did not feel that the unit you looked at was in satisfactory condition. Please do not hesitate to contact me should your travel plans include Maui again in the future, I would be more than happy to personally give you a tour of our property.

Mahalo,

Dennis Costa, General Manager of the Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Valentine/President's week was very busy on Maui but we were expecting a deluxe view of the ocean and quiet surroundings for our 37th anniversary celebration but didn't find it. We were hidden in the back corner of the top end of the very large complex and found it very noisy at night. The staff and pool were nice and the beach accessible but no impressed with the quality for the price. We wouldn't go there again...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKfrozenchosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHLManagement, Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, March 26, 2009
Aloha,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding Maui Lea at Maui Hill Resort. Your comment allows us for improvement. We’re happy to inform you that we’re in the process of renovating all of our Maui Lea Timeshare units. The upgrades include the kitchen, dinning, vanities and bathroom areas. We apologize we have not met your expectations upon your site inspection. We look forward to your return so you may see our newly renovated units first hand. We would like to regain your trust as a RCI member.

Mahalo,
General Manger & Stall of the Maui Lea at Maui Hill Resort (808)879-6321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed and the Maui Hill for my birthday and a romantic getaway. Plenty of space, clean and comfortable. Although, we were not in a refurbished unit we enjoyed ourselves immensely! I have to say the grounds were well kept and the staff was plesant and accomodating. We met many families who stayed here every year for the last several years and I understand.

We will definitely return! This was our first trip to Maui and I have to say it is a lot more relaxing than Oahu. We also drove to Kannapalli resort area and found it to be too busy and more of a tourist area. Maui Hill was perfect for us because it was not a lot of crowds and quite comfortable!

  • Liked — Size and comfort
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scameron27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We really enjoyed staying at Maui Hill. We rented a two bedroom condo for the four of us. Very spacious. We rented #89. It was very quiet and the staff was super friendly.

They had boogie-boards and beach fold-up chairs for us to use. Very handy. Just bring your beach towels and sunscreen and enjoy. Aloha.

PS Make sure you bring your binoculars for whale watching.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds and the spacious grounds
  • Disliked — Cold pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HummyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
22.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Hill

Property: Aston Maui Hill
Address: 2881 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9614 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great ocean views with warm aloha service. This private oasis, just minutes from the premier resort area of Wailea, offers extra-spacious condos with private lanais, and the amenities and activities of a hotel in a tropical setting. Golf, shops and dining nearby. A perfect alternative to more expensive Wailea super-resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Maui Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Hill Hotel Kihei
Maui Hill
Resortquest Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing