We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb vacation package”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palms at Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palms at Wailea
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Superb vacation package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2005

We just spent 10 days at the Outrigger Palms and Wailea and consider our stay there the best Hawaii vacation package that we've purchased in 5 trips to the islands.

Our unit was a 1 bedroom garden view unit that needed some minor maintenance (a leaky ice machine and a screen door that was "off-track") but all in all we were very happy with the unit. The weather was hot during our stay and the limited air conditioning (master bedroom only) made things at times inconvenient, but once we learned to open the the unit up to intercept the afternoon trade winds everything was fine. The bottom line: the lack of living room air conditioning would be an issue if you wanted to sit around the apartment watching Maude all afternoon, but it shouldn't be a big deal if your days are spent outdoors and the condo is for sleeping or late evening enjoyment.

The beaches in the Wailea area put other Maui and Hawaii beaches (Ka'anapali included) to shame for beauty and recreational opportunities-and the Outrigger is a most affordable gateway to what we consider Maui's best kept secrets. The folks at the Outrigger (from grounds maintenance through the front desk) were courteous and helpful--you cannot go wrong investing your vacation dollars here.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    129
    36
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
102
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2005

We had a nice two bedroom ground floor unit. The unit felt very spacious with a large sunken living area. (The photos on the Outrigger website give an accurate impression of our unit.) As others have noted, the 2nd bedroom is separated from the living area by sliding screens, fine for kids but not very private. Big sliding glass doors leading out to a large patio and very well cared gounds. Our unit felt acceptably clean.

Only the master bedroom had an air conditioner. There were ceiling fans in the living room and each of the bedrooms plus a couple more portable fans. However, the unit still got pretty hot in the afternoon even in April. A little breeze with all the windows and sliding glass doors open helped a lot. But at night we felt uncomfortable leaving the big glass doors open after retiring as we were on the ground floor. Leaving the glass doors open all night would have helped sleeping alot. (We would consider an upper floor for this reason if we visit again.)

We ate in a lot as food and restaurants are relatively expensive in Maui. The well equiped kitchen with microwave, full sized fridge, oven and cook top was very useful. Cloth washer and dryer in the unit were very convenient. We didn't need to pack as much cloth and there were always lots of wet cloth after going to the pool or beach.

As each unit is privately owned, we asked at check in which units were available, if we could inspect and pick and also his personal choice. The manager said sure and offered his opinion. We went with his suggestion.

Not beach front and no view at all from our gound floor unit. But we felt it was a good value at about $220 per night over spring vacation week for the two bedroom, garden view unit.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2005

My family has stayed at The Palms twice upon recommendations from friends, and loved it both times. Our condo was very nice and clean (I am extremely picky). The ability to cook at the condo saved tons of money. Wailea beach was fantastic and just a short walk through a beautiful neighborhood. The beach was never crowded (usually only 5 other people on the whole strech of beach during the week). The area is in my opinion the nicest on West Maui, and you really can't get a better deal. I would definitely recommend if you're looking for a wonderful vacation at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cotraveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2005

I just returned from a trip to Maui during Winter Break in February. We stayed at the Palms at Wailea for 8 days/7 nights in a two bedroom downstairs unit.

We found the unit to be clean and relatively quiet. We noticed lots of kids and adults upstairs from us, but their noise never affected us. Our unit had fairly new carpeting, so we didn't have the "black feet" problem. The units are very spacious and the A/C in the master worked well at night to keep us sleeping.

Because it was February, we didn't have any problems with it being hot in the unit and only one night did my son complain about being hot, but this was because we ran the washer/dryer and the dishwasher that night. Other than that, the temperature inside the unit was perfectly fine. However, I can see how the lack of A/C could be a problem in the summer.
Some people don't need it, I'm one who does.

The only minor complaint we had in the 2 bedroom unit was that the 2nd bedroom was separated from the main living area and kitchen with a set of sliding screen doors. Thus, once the kids went to sleep, we had to be very quiet so as not to disturb them and often we had to go into the master to watch tv at night.

The pool and grounds were nice, I noticed lots of people walking in the morning and my kids spent countless hours at the pool and hot tub.

Also, most units have a road/parking in the front and back, but people were considerate and drove slowly through the property so road noise was never an issue.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Scott I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2005

We just got back from a week at the Palms and loved it. We had asked for a one bedroom garden view unit and the one they gave us in fact had a limited view of the ocean so we were very pleased. There were just 2 of us and we were there for rest and relaxation so we liked the quiet location of our condo near the entrance to the property. The maid service was great and th unit was kept clean. Ours had a private owner and was very nicely furnished with everything we needed. We would certainly stay there again...and having read the reports of others I would probably request the same suite.
Going in February was great for whale watching...in fact you could see them spouting in the ocean from the terrace above the pool. We saw them everyday from the lovely shore path that winds through the resorts along the Wailea beaches and we would highly recommend the Pacific Whale Foundation boat trips.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank DorothyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2004

Palms at Wailea: Very nice condo complex - grounds are well maintained, however lots of inconsistencies with the suites, but we understand that it's up to the owner as to the upkeep and furnishings, etc. Because we had 2 suites we were able to compare.

The bottom suite was in need of much repair (dirty and old worn carpet (kept my slippers on all the time), stained sofa cushions (we did not take the chance and laid towels on the sofas to sit on), rusty fridge (on the outside), kitchen light fixture broken, dirty kitchen windows, sliding doors and bedroom closet mirror; low drainage in bath tub, dirty floor in 1/2 bath and no air conditioner in the living room, just a fan. Airconditioner only in the bedroom (this I was prepared for after reading users' opinions here). And, our view of the ocean (we requested ocean front) was of trees that have grown up - was once ocean view when the area was new. We received a $25US discount per day for this suite after talking to the General Manager.

The top suite was newly upgraded and a sense of the owner was felt with the decorations and upkeep (around Sept.04, upgraded ones seemed to have screen doors on the entry way and air conditioners in the living room also) also, newer appliances and entertainment equipment. Carpet was newer but still very stained - I guess this cannot be helped unless it were tiled or some sort of hard flooring. More of an ocean view here, if on the balcony and looking right. Hot water meter did not work for the last 2 days - probably needs replacing next!

Otherwise the maids were good - put our dishes in the washer and turned it on, scrubbed one of my pots that had some burnt stuff on it too. The grounds keepers were always hard at it; the garden sprinkers are on at about 9 a.m and the courtyard sprinklers about 8 p.m which were set to sprinkle across the stairs to the bottom suite! We could have moved to a smaller double bed room over looking the pool and other suites, with a little better view of the ocean but we stayed in our original king size bed and quieter one located suite. Our 2 suites were right above/below eachother.

The 10 min. walk to the beach is not bad at all and it's a nice quiet and shady walk downhill to the beach access - uphill on the return.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2004

I have visited The Palms several times beginning in 1998 and continuing almost every year since. On every visit, I was in a different condo in a different section of the complex. My preference is for a unit close to the pool, which is always prisitine clean and uncrowded. Each of the units were spacious and comfortable with lovely views, lots of unexpected amenities, and a friendly, helpful staff. In my opinion, Wailea is the nicest area of Maui, and The Palms is the best value on the island. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. My only reservation about leaving a glowing review is that I don't want any competition for rooms when I return!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jts3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
23.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Property: Palms at Wailea
Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing