We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palms at Wailea
Nearby Hotels
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$575
$529
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$544
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$594
$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$1,812
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$259
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
175
137
42
30
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
137
42
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster bedroomair conditioningthe kitchenlarge patiogarden viewliving areabeach chairsnice stayspacious condowasher dryerdaily housekeepingshort drivetwo twin bedsper dayfour seasonswe've stayedground level
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 396 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We rented from 7/18 - 7/30/08. This was our 3rd stay at Palms Wailea and on each occasion we booked through Coldwell Banker Island Properties. Note: tripadvisor.com lists this property as "Outrigger Palms at Wailea" --you don't have to book through the Outrigger site--they manage some units, but not all. You can also book directly with an owner through vrbo.com which our friends have done. I think the difference is daily maid service so if that's important to you, book through outrigger and pay a little more. We like the units at Palms Wailea for the fantastic sunset views, well-kept grounds, it's proximity to great beaches in Wailea & Makena and easy access to South Kihei Road shops, beach parks and the Pi'ilani Hwy. We also like having the full kitchen and a washer/dryer in the unit. We've never had a problem with our units and we will stay here again. (We own timeshare at Westin Villas North in West Maui, but when in South Maui, we rent here at Palms Wailea.)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

This is a beautiful facility. The front desk staff was more than helpful & upgraded us to a great unit, after having a horrible experience the previous week at another resort. The unit had a partial ocean view & was huge. The grounds are very pretty & well maintained. The only complaint we had was that our unit had no window coverings in the Living Room & the windows covered almost one entire wall to offer the best view (but that was really only a problem at night or in the heat of the day). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a vacation on Maui- we spent seven nights at The Palms Wailes. Our room was upgraded from "garden view" to "ocean view" (unit 2204). Sitting on the lanai in the morning was a glorious experience, with birdsong, and a nice view of the coast. There was nothing visible between us and the ocean but trees, shrubs, and a few rooftops. We could watch whales from there too.

The Palms is not a beach front property, but we could walk to a good beach in under ten minutes. Many of the other wonderful beaches on Maui are within a short drive. Restaurants and shops are not within easy walking distance, but then, that contributes to the peacefull setting.

The grounds and pool are great. We found the front desk staff very helpful. The units cannot be described as elegant, but ours was clean, and quite functional (stocked kitchen, washer, dryer, ironing supplies, etc. available). Beach umbrelas, chairs (servicable but shabby), and boogie boards were in the closet.

I note other reviews with complaints about air conditioning: despite efforts by management to make ours work, it kept freezing. This was not a problem for us in late February/eary March. We found the second floor rooms comfortable at night with windows and lanai doors open.

I would stay at Palms again, and have already recommended it to freinds.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

This is a great location....a short walk to a very nice beach, the Shops at Wailea, etc. As a couple without kids, however, the lanai was not really useable since it looked out to the pool which was filled with families with noisy kids, often until 10pm when it closed (and we were not there during any school breaks). The property should consider adult-only use of the pool in the later evenings (8pm+) so that it would be less noisy and more enjoyable to have dinner on the lanai. The units here are very big, and the inclusion of kitchen facilities and in-suite laundry is probably why a lot of families are attracted to this property since money can be saved by eating in. Our unit (which we rented directly from the owner) was really in need of updating; the appliances were old (and noisy!), the rugs and furniture were soiled, and the bedspread was not clean. The bed was recently replaced so at least that was comfortable. The island-style furniture and "art-work" were not very aesthetically pleasing. If you are a couple in search of some peace and quite to enjoy the breeze on your lanai, and the stars at night, I would look eleswhere.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank rjmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

This was our second time staying at the Palms.

The good: Check-in is easy, staff is very friendly. The pool is centrally located with a nice hot tub. Towels are provided at the front desk. The grounds are very nicely maintained. The units are large with a nice layout and very nice lanais. The location is very convenient to both Wailea and to Kihei. It is a good jumping off spot for South Maui.

While the units are very functional, the conditions of the the individual units vary more than at other condos in the area. In our last stay, the unit was perfect. The current unit, 1301 was dated. The carpet was worn in places, the kitchen appliances looked like they were the original. OK, but if you are paying Wailea prices you expect more modern appliances. Also, maintenance can be a little slow. The light in the dining room burned out (only one bulb out of two were in the dining room fixture) and several of the can lights in the kitchen were burned out but were not fixed prior to our departure (8 days). If it were not for these two issues I would not hesitate to rate this condo a 5, but as a result my overall impression is a 4.

A few things to be aware of. Not all owners have to provide bar-b-q grills. If your unit does not have one then you can rent one from Outrigger at $10 per day. The master bedroom has air conditioning but the common area and second bedroom costs an additional $20 per day. Not a problem during the winter but something to be aware of in the summer as Wailea can get pretty warm, especially if the trades are not blowing. One final item, high speed internet is offered at the check-in area not in the rooms so you need to walk up to the pool area if you want to check emails. Outrigger probably should set a higher level of standards for owners before they put their units into the rental pool given the prices and competitive properties in the area.

Back to the good. The grounds are very attractive and make for a nice area to walk through. The units are generally quiet and they have quiet hours from 10pm to 8 am. The Safeway is Kihei is very convenient as is the farmers market in North Kihei. Maalaea is convenient if you want to go whale watching. Lahaina is about a 45 minute drive, Upcountry is also about 45 minutes, Kahului is about 30 minutes. Big Beach is less than 10 minutes away. The shops at Wailea are 5 minutes away. This is a very convenient location with units that are larger than many others in Wailea.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank South_Pacific_Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews