We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful beaches and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the Maui Oceanfront for ten nights, we are already planning on returning next year. Can't wait to return it will be our fourth time we have stayed at the hotel. People are friendly, service is great. The location of the hotel is perfect to the beaches, restaurants, golfing and shopping.
Can' wait to return to MAUI

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retsmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed here during most of our honeymoon. The room was clean, but tiny (even for two people.) You can hear your neighbors very clearly (conversations, hairdriers, party music, etc.) We didn't spend much time in the room, and the beach at the hotel is just fine. However, if you've always wanted to go to Maui and didn't have the cash for $300+ per night hotels, it's not too bad.

Skip the Italian restaurant next to the hotel - overpriced and too dark (even for those looking for a romantic dinner.) However, DO eat at the hotel next door (to the right when you're looking out at the ocean from the hotel.) Excellent staff - we ate two meals there and enjoyed them both.

Would I stay there again? Only if I had to. But, if it's what gets you to Hawaii, make sure you have plenty of day excursions planned - you won't want to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahughes517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel has an excellent location...right on beach, 2 min from boat launch for diving trips to Molokini, which can be seen easily on the beach. But the rooms are very small, and sound-proof is almost non-existent! If you come here for romance or family fun, stay away from this one

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xzh150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed only one night. This trip was our "pre-honeymoon honeymoon" to visit my in-laws while they were at a private house on Maui for 3 weeks. My father-in-law upgraded us to the oceanfront room as a nice and thoughtful gesture. I cannot stress enough that our room's porch was the outdoor dining area for the restaurant. We came back to the hotel on the first night and 10 people were sitting directly outside our window drinking, laughing, and talking loudly. The table was literally up against our window.

If you are on a budget and don't plan on spending time at your hotel or in your room, then this hotel is fine for you. But if you have a family or are planning on an extended stay (more than a few days), stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jracleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed at the days inn in early March 2010. I would say in terms of amenities, this is probably a 2 star hotel. However, when it comes to cleanliness and reliability, I'd say its a very good hotel (and hence my good ratings).

The room was clean, the hotel is located right next to a decent beach and just down the main kihei strip. The rooms are smallish but not hostel small and certainly big enough if your major activity is going to be to fall asleep before hitting the island the next day (afterall this is Maui). If you're more of a person/couple who lounges in your hotel for a few hours every day... then perhaps this place will be too small/simple for you.

We didn't really watch much TV so i can't comment on prior posts regarding this. The AC and fan worked well (though it wan't too hot to begin with in March). The bathroom was reasonable (someone had complained about lack of toilet paper... there were about 4 extra rolls in our room). Parking was a little tricky, but there was always a space available in their private lot while we were there.

Not sure what else to say... its a basic, clean room. Good for budget travelers who want to spend their $ on Maui activities rather than lodging. They had a great special at the time we booked and there were no added fees... so i'm pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidlid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

It is a great hotel. Perfect price, perfect location and perfect hotel with a beautiful beach. Beds are very comfortable, rooms hace fridge and microwave. The service at the front desk is outstanding. Maui is, by far, more beautiful than Oahu, so if I ever go back to Maui, I wouldn't doubt to choose the Days Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Unless you rent a condo or pay top dollar, you won't find anywhere closer to a beautiful beach in Kihei than the Maui Oceanfront. The Manager Rate was excellent, the room very clean and comfortable. If you can't do stairs, be sure to request a ground floor room. We were on the second floor of the front building with parking in the gravel lot next door. The rooms at the front don't have any traffic noise. The walls are a little thin - we had a person in the adjoining room who was up every morning at 3, we assume to go photograph sunrise somewhere - but otherwise didn't hear anything.........including the tsunami evacuation warning. The beach in front of the hotel is fantastic, clean, and joins with the Kamaole beaches to make a morning walk of several miles. We have friends who ate at the on-site restaurant - Sorrento's - who said it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,084 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
23.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $141 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing