We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lil Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Whittier, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Lil Secret”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Rooms small, but great location and clean rooms a lil on the older side but worth it if you are out and about staying busy and you are not looking to sit in the room all day.( as you shouldn't be in Maui) This is the place for you..... The beach is very nice and there is outside showers to rinse with and the snorkeling is minimal but not far away is great snorkeling. I stayed here for 8 days and had no problems......

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    493
    309
    141
    104
See reviews for
174
762
172
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London,ON
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We spent three nights at the Days Inn after staying at a really nice resort...which probably taints the review a bit. The rooms were quite small and the decor aged, but it looks like they are in the midst of some renovations - so maybe it was just the rooms we were in. The location and price are unbeatable, and if you're going to be doing lots of exploring (like we were) the appearance of the room didn't matter much. Our first room had a monster cockroach, and they graciously moved us up to the closest room to the ocean (103). The beds are really comfortable and the beach is gorgeous albeit busy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose,ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed the hotel, maid-service and staff tremendously.We are middle-age folks and cannot express the services extended to us. The rooms are small but so clean and quaint. We went swimming 3-4 times daily what a wonderful experience. We explored the whole town and everyone was so friendly. We are native californians,but cannot wait to return to the Days Inn Maui OceanFront I treated my wife to Maui for her 50th birthdat gift. We have wonderful pics but i do not know how to post

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pmwlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed at the Days Inn Maui for 4 nights and had a very positive experience. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, A/C worked well and TV was nice too. The main benefit to staying at this hotel is walking out your door and onto the gorgeous beach with fabulous snorkeling, etc. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful as well. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleZubidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

This is a list of 16 NEGATIVES for this DAYS INN Kihei Hotel, 2980 S. Kihei Rd., MAUI,HI
1) The noisy air conditioner was mounted over the bed's head board. Couldn't hear the TV.
2) The parking lot is very narrow, if you drive down the driveway looking for a spot and there is none, you will have to back up all the way because cars are parked on both sides.
3) the restaurant reserves some of the parking stalls. I don't think the restaurant is owned by the hotel.
4) The adjacent gravel surface public parking lot does NOT have any night lights and NO security.
5) The room toilet's light is over the sink and a wall blocks the light; so the shower stall is semi-dark.
6) My toilet paper roller was mounted on the back wall of the toilet; you have to reach behind, which is difficult.
7) The room's closet is actually about 14 inches wide. YES, about 14", and the ironing board, safe, luggage rack and iron are stored in this closet. So really the closet was not usable.
8) If the toilet door is open you cannot use the vanity area, which is outside the door.
9) There is NO security fence around the property.
10) One night a man was seen running out of an "unoccupied" ground floor room. Two staff members later came to secure the room. I saw the adjacent room's occupant telling the two staff members about the incident.
11) The stairway to the second floors are narrow.
12) There is no swimming pool.
13) the public right of way to the beach is next to or on the property.
14) The inside door to the next room does not have a locking latch to prevent access from the next room. There is a key deadbolt, BUT you have NO control of this deadbolt.
15) Adjoining room noise comes right through this door mentioned in #14.
16) Your neighbor's door is facing yours about three (3') in front of yours. Yep, about 3 feet.
I don't blame the hotel staff for this hotel's design.
positives: refrigerator, microwave, key safe for valuables (hopefully no one else has a duplicate key). TV is good, you have to turn off the air conditioner to hear it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alohaandsafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porsche4jay, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
First of all I want to thank everyone who wrote a reveiw of their experience at our hotel. On behalf of the new ownership of the Days Inn Maui Oceanfront I would like to aplogize to all guests who experienced one problem or another. Please know that our main priority is you, our loyal guests. The hotel was just bought by our company in the middle of June, 2012 and we assure all our guests that we will work hard to provide you with the best service, quality and accommodations each and every time you stay at our Days Inn & Suites Maui Oceanfront Inn hotel.

We have plans to update and renovate many areas of property and even though our rooms might be small in size, we promise you that our staff will go over and byond what is needed to make sure your stay is comfortable and satisfactory. We encourage each and every guest to contact management each time they have an issue or complaint to insure those issues and complaints are resolved to your expectations.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serving your accommodation needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kihei hotels

Gresham, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The location is great, but parking is a hassle because of a restaurant sharing the lot - you can park in a lot for the beach access, but security is iffy. The room was really small, but OK since we didn't spend much time there. The beach is close and not very crowded when we were there. We got a quote on-line, but that didn't include the "resort fee" of $15 per day they tagged on at the end. Sort of sneaky - especially since there were no amenities they included.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greshamtennisguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I was rushed and looking for some last minute accommodation close to the beach with free wifi in the room and this ended up being it. I stayed for 4 nights when Hurricane Felicia was around, lucky it fizzled out as I would not liked to have stayed inside all day.
The rooms are small and had no fullsize bathtub. The bed was comfortable though.
Although close to the beach, only a couple of rooms have an actual ocean view.
The beach is only 50 to 100m away and it is a very nice section of beach.
"Saretos on the beach" restaurant shares parking with the oceanfront inn and it is right on the beach but a bit out of my pricerange. For cheaper food options you need to be keen for a walk or have a car to get to the other shops and restaurants up South Kihei road (about a mile I think).
I am not sure you would want to walk home from the restaurants up the road after dark though as the road is not well lit and borders along bush and parkland.
Considering I paid the same to stay oceanfront with a view on Kaua'i, I think I could have done better if I had of booked somewhere else ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigAussie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,136 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,080 reviews
24.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Property: Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing