We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Reviewed July 5, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kyra W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's not a resort, it's a former Best Western. Once you have that mindset, the MOI is the best thing going in South Maui.

This was our second stay at the MOI and we found things improved. Apparently there are new owners for the complex since a bankruptcy in 2012. The new owners seem very diligent about keeping things clean. Keep in mind the buildings and furnishings are dated, as are many properties in Kihei.

The rooms are tiny but clean. There's just enough space for 2 people to sleep, shower and rest up for another day of adventure. The TV's are not updated but we did not come to Maui to watch TV, did we? Tempurpedic beds in every room are a win for a good night's sleep. Contrary to the resort's website and other reviews, there is now free wifi in all buildings.

Room 227 on the second floor was just fine. The second floor puts you away from the walkways. The second floor units have a walkway/balcony that is shared by only two rooms, so hardly anyone ever walks by. That room is also on the northern part of the building, away from Sarentos and the main parking lot. It even had a peek view of the ocean. I counted 98 steps to the edge of the water on Keawakapu Beach, which is a great beach.

Initially we had booked the "Oceanfront Suite", which is just a combination of rooms 201 and 202. Our goal was to have the beachfront view and balcony. We were well aware of the patio below being used by Sarento's - not a problem. What we did not expect was the lack of furnishings in the front room. There were two small tables with two dining chairs and one rattan chair. Once we moved the dining chairs and a table to the balcony, there was just the rattan chair and table in the front room - making it a very unfriendly place to hang out. We we asked the manager, she told us the couch had been broken and not yet replaced. We decided the suite was not worth the extra $500 over a week and moved to the regular room.

We only parked once in the main lot to avoid its tight spaces. The public dirt lot for the beach on the north side of the building always has plenty of space. There are two convenient paved paths to access the motel.

There's a lot of convenient stuff around MOI:

• Keawakapu Beach is one of the better beaches in South Maui

• We have never been to Sarento's. There's just something about the vibe there that doesn't fit. People do seem to like it.

• The Five Palms at Mana Kai is a 60 second walk from MOI. Great location with fabulous views. There are few places in South Maui closer to the water. Standard dinner rates are not within our budget. We frequented the 3-7pm happy hours with some 1/2 price lupus. It was easy to build a dinner for 2 with 2 drinks for about $40. Meals (not happy hour) are 20% off for MOI guests. That made breakfast prices reasonable, but not cheap. It was also very good.

• The Surf Shack at the Mana Kai had reasonable rental rates for boogie boards, SUPS and such. It was super convenient for us. One thing we did that worked nicely....boogie board rental was $7 for a day. If you rented around noon one day, you could use the board all afternoon and evening the first day and then again the next morning until noon. It was more like 2 days for $7.

• Zacks Deli and market at the Mana Kai has deli items and snacks and beverages that are quite reasonably priced for beachfront. Get a slice of cake (big enough for 2) and and enjoy beachfront dessert for much cheaper than any resort.

Unless somebody fancifies things too much and increases the rates a lot, we will definitely come back to the MOI.

Room Tip: Second floor, north side rooms for more quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gone2Alpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We at Days Inn would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review after your most recent stay. We are pleased to know that our hotel facility met your expectations and that you had a great overall stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the concerns you had with furniture in our suite and will make sure we have that taken care of in a timely manner. We are looking forward to your future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

WITHOUT HESITATE: THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL TO STAY IN MAUI.... We visited this hotel during our honeymoon last May 2013. We stayed at the room #104 and literally we were at 20 seconds walking distance from the beach (20 SECONDS!!!!) It's like 40 steps from the beach... The hotel has 2 fancy/expensive restaurants in a walk distance. The Italian restaurant at the hotel has been the greater experience in our entire trip. Back to the hotel, the internet (wifi) was fast at the room and faster at the lobby. Note: the room is very small, but we did not expense any time at the room; therefore, it was not an issue.

We promise that we will go to Maui and visit this hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for the five star rating, we great appreciate that. We are delighted to hear you chose us for your honeymoon getaway and that our hotel fit you needs and expectations just right. We look forward to your future visits with us at Days Inn Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Located near the beach so it's very convenient to walk over. A restaurant was located next to the hotel. Breakfast wasn't included but it's a quick drive away from the other eateries.Parking lots in front/near the adjacent restaurant are usually packed and tight. There's another car park behind the hotel that offers additional parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay, we are pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that the walk was just right going to the beach. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kannan R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,148 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,127 reviews
24.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
232 reviews
22.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $131 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing