We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but needs rennovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The pros:
1) The location. Close to the beach which is nice, though for snorkling you'll have to drive either to Ahihi -La'Perouse area or to Kanaapali beach (The black rock). There are many restaurants and small shops in a mile where you can have a bite.
2) Free parking, free wi-fi.
3) Friendly stuff
The cons:
1) The room is ugly. Very dark (we lived on the ground floor and didn't see light at all). And the smell is terrible - when you leave some wet clothes in a plastic bag and open it in a day - that's the kind of smell we had in our room. It didn't go out - no matter how long we aired it. Just when you enter the room it strikes you. After a few minutes you get used to it and don't notice it.
2) The prices at the adjoining restaurants are ridiculous. Though they give you discount for them, it's not worthy. If you are on a budget drive a mile and have meal at a good mexican restaurant for a decent price. If you are NOT on a budget you just don't stay at Days Inn Oceanfront.
3) The wi-fi is not very reliable. One day of three it didn't work at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Jenifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room next door (thru the connecting door) i heard a man snoring very load all night long. Then in the morning, we heard the upstairs tenants walking on the floor all early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Only complaint would be a little false advertising – Paid extra for “ocean front room.” Got room 101. The window is next to patio used by restaurant so after about 4pm I would close shades – didn’t want to watch people eat or vice-versa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

You know you're in a dirty flea bag hotel when:

-Roaches start coming out of a hole near the sink in the bathroom and when you call the front desk about it, they are nonplussed and bring up a can of raid.

-When you ask staff to have housekeeping clean up the now dead roaches, they tell you housekeeping is gone for the day. This means you now have to shower and brush your teeth near the dead roaches

-you have to go to the local drugstore to buy a can of comet to clean the bathroom that housekeeping never did in the first place

-no apology is offered at any time

We are not snobs and have stayed at our share of spartan no-frills hotels. This place takes the cake. Before booking, I read the reviews that said the hotel is fine as long as you plan on being out all day and only use the hotel for sleeping at night. We complied and stayed out til 11pm. We just didn't know that night-time is when the roaches come out...

Don't do it folks! There is a reason they seem to always have rooms available. Don't do it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank callt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
13 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,104 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
567 reviews
23.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
19 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $144 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing