We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Speachless” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    471
    283
    130
    93
See reviews for
157
713
157
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here January 16-20th, 2013.

The location of this hotel is good, I’ll give’em that. Unfortunately, I normally don’t write reviews on hotels but in this case I’ve made an exception.

The rooms are very small; but do come with a fridge, microwave, coffee & tea equipment, a hair dryer and safe. Yes, there was a Tempurpedic mattress in our room which was the only saving grace because we were cramped and it kind of had a weird smell!! The bathroom was small, with a shower (that didn’t drain for 15 min every time somebody showered), small sink and toilet only. To top it off you could hear the room above us walk, move furniture all night long, flush the toilet and shower… need I say more!

We had no cleaning service the last two days of our stay. In fact, I had to go to the front counter after we got back to the hotel from seeing the sites in order to get clean towels and coffee for in the morning.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Find some other hotel unless price is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmiller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the Kihei Oceanfront Days Inn and loved every moment! We booked late, and due to very limited availability (looking on everything inc Airbnb/VRBO) it was a toss up between the Days Inn and the Ritz Carlton on Maui – we settled with the Days Inn based on price and have absolutely no regrets!

It’s location was by far it’s best point – steps away from the beach and a very nice one at that (nicer than the Four Seasons beachfront)! It’s also very close to all of the restaurants and shops Keihi has to offer and is right next to Sorrento’s which is one of the highest rated fine dining restaurants on the island – a great spot for breakfast too!

The room was perfect as a base for our stay. On the smaller side but fine for the two of us. It came equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee & tea equipment, a hair dryer and safe. They also use Tempurpedic mattresses in all rooms which we found to be very comfortable. The daily cleaning service could not be faulted. The bathroom again was on the small side, with a shower only, but it all functioned perfectly – there was a slightly odd smell in the bathroom but we got used to it – everything was clean.

We had a hire car and parked directly outside every day – there were no problems finding spaces although it was nearly full most nights. The spaces are somewhat tight, but since we were using a hire car we didn’t particularly care! Thankfully we had internet access through our mobile phones however there was no wifi reception in our rooms – I believe they have service in their lobby.

All in all a very good stay and we’d definitely consider staying here in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packeted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are currently at the Days Inn Oceanfront. We booked 5 nights rom 01/17 - 01/22. We are in room 111. We paid between $150 - $160 for each night through Hotels.com. This place is popular due to its location and was sold out a week after we booked it. Good idea to book early.

What I liked

1. It is directly on the beach. 20 feet from our room and we were beachfront on the beach chairs overlooking the beach and another 30 feet and you are on it.

2. We were doing the hotel portion of this trip on a budget and it was perfect for what we are looking for. This is a budget hotel though, not a resort. They do provide beach towels as a resort service but that is about it. If you want the resort feel this is not the place for you.

3. Next door to 5 Palms and Sarentos that I have also reviewed. That is a definite plus. The food is excellent at both and you do get a discount.

4. There is a bus stop right in front if you don't want to rent a car. We went to Lahaina using it and four it to be an excellent deal.

5. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful.

Didn't like


1. The rooms are smaller in size but worked for us as we only slept there. They are showing there age and need to. Be remodeled.

2. There was a loud sound continuously through the nights from the air conditioner or something that made it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Check in before three for better room choice and ask for a room near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here over the New Year... I walked into the room and literally walked out to switch rooms as mine was dirty, smelled horrible, bathroom was mouldy and dirty. It was not pleasant. Room walls were paper thin, cleaning staff arrives early in the parking lot and makes a LOT of noise. last night of my stay my room was not even serviced. I had to take shampoo and soap from the service carts as I never recieved any. Shower and bathroom in general was disgusting. Could not see out of windows they were so dirty. Checking out I was asked how my stay was, I said very unsatisfactory... front desk reply was, "thats too bad, ok youre all checked out!!" I made several complaints and when the manager saw me he would walk away and completely avoid me.

I would avoid this dupm like the plague. Great location, poor service, quality, rooms, bathrooms, extremely noisy etc. I could go on and on.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kihei hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and our room was small, dark and musty. The room was just large enough to walk around the queen sized bed. There was a permanent mildew smell that would not leave. The AC was so noisy we could not sleep with it on and it is not the sort of place you want to sleep with the window open.

Located on a great public beach with very friendly staff. Just way too run down for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyeShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fransico
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The locations is awesome but the rooms are not. Too small, wifi not working in rooms and A/C leaking on our bed. We checked in really late because our flight was delayed and were greeted by such a sweet hawaiian girl. After the crazy day we had we were grateful for the nice young lady who checked us in and I believe her name was Reyna. During our stay we were having problems and this young lady answered our all questions and help us the best way she could. The beach is amazing, great for snorkeling and the front desk offers beach towels to guest which is really great. Overall i would rate our stay a 6 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgeit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
13.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
19.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Property: Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing